We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay”
Review of Cidade de Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cidade de Goa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dona Paula
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Again we were not disappointed with our stay at Cidade de Goa, everyone is so kind, courteous and helpful. We feel we are returning year after year to visit old friends. My only criticism is we wish the pool bar would remain open later, we have spent many happy evenings there, also the seating in the piano bar is very uncomfortable, and, for ladies very undignified when attempting to get out of the chairs, so please Cidade consider these points I think guests would appreciate the changes.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ingerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Ingerson,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

First of all, let me thank you for your continued patronage over the years. We are very happy to read that you had another ‘fabulous stay’’ at Cidade de Goa this year.

We have noted your feedback regarding the operation timings for our pool bar, Bar Latino, and regarding the sitting arrangements for our lobby bar, Taverna. We will certainly look into the same.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    522
    194
    57
    63
See reviews for
478
355
31
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here with family in 2 interconnected Sea facing rooms. Excellent rooms , excellent view. just go down the stairs and there is a decent beach. There is a decent walk trial made inside the resort. fun to be with family here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabby_Bhola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear kartavyabhola,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to share your review with us. We are delighted to read that it was fun to be at Cidade de Goa with your family.

Thank you again for your review. We do hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from Goa, this hotel was really good, excellent restaurants, friendly helpful staff, very clean and pleasant, lovely position, pretty gardens. . Four restaurants serving different types of food, our favourite, the Laranja served a choice of delicious Goan /Indian food. Super views from the sea facing rooms. Happily recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms to the west are away from the wedding area (the weddings are interesting, but can be boisterou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manormillcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Manormillcottage,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are delighted to read that you were very happy with your recent stay with us, especially with regards to the dining options and cuisines offered, the hospitality and efficiency of the staff, the location of the hotel and the proximity to the beach and the view from the guest rooms.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a good value resort with open excess to the beach unlike other hotels in Goa. The rooms have been refurbished and the food is excellent with a wide choice of cuisine and very attentive staff. The entire premise is clean and secure. Hired car service is cheap as the hotel is close to the city centre. The only negative was the reception staff who contradicted themselves. e.g. two said the Wi-Fi service to the rooms was complementary but I was charged at checking out but the charge was withdrawn after protest.

Room Tip: Select rooms ending in 06 to 08 as the are in close proximity to the beach and away from the party n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Nathan F,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the beachside location and easy access to the Vainguinim beach, the transport services offered and the food spread offered.

We sincerely regret the incident regarding the wifi charges. We have intensified our internal training for the concerned staff regarding billing procedures.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

After reading some of these reviews I was a bit worried about what id booked. But don't panic, it is actually all very good! There are several restaurants to choose with a large variety of goan, indian, Italian and western menus. We ate in Café Azul mostly. There is also a more upmarket restaurant and an outdoor barbeque restaurant. You can also pay upfront for the allinclusive buffet restaurant but we didn't use this. The private beach is lovely but in need of more litter picking or at least a bin to encourage people to bin their rubbish. We got a sunbed everyday, no pobs, also free beach towels every day. Pool is nice enough. Don't buy drinks at the pool bar, very expensive, £1.50 for a plastic cup of cola!! Our room was nice, up a lot of steps tho. Excellent buffet breakfast in Cafe Azul. There are a few souvenir and jewellery shops in the hotel, a bit pricey tho. There is also a bakery which is good and very cheap. There is a taxi service outside the hotel, we paid £17 to hire a taxi to Anjuna market for 5 hours, this market is on a Wednesday only and I cant recommend it enough, it was amazing. If you walk onto the main road there are also taxis which you may get for a bit cheaper. Only downside was there were a few weddings while we were there which was interesting to watch initially but after the third one you got pissed off with the noise, and they take up all the restaurants and you feel like as a holiday maker you are in the way!! All in all, a very good hotel and I would stay again. Special mention to Kevin and the Café Azul staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Laura S,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

I would like to start by thanking you for your review. We are delighted to read that your stay was ‘all very good’.

We are happy to read your appreciation towards the variety of cuisines and dining options offered the pool side, and the staff at Café Azul. I have personally conveyed your appreciation to them.

We have noted your feedback about the weddings, and we shall attempt to segregate our wedding guests from our holiday maker guests so that any inconveniences to either are minimized.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

they got their own beach,they got a very spaciuos lobby on mezannine floor,wonderful ambience,
their casino is one of the best in goa.the service is wonderful.their rooms are so spaciuos,we 3 friends were very very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiatec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Asiatec,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you found our beach resort to be ‘the best in Goa.’

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Neeta Sen.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Have stayed and would strongly recommend this property.
High points of this Hotel is the location, proximity to the beach, the swimming pool and the restaurants.
The restaurant next to the pool serves great sea food and the staff is very hospitable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor leading to the Garden are a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satyajit1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Satyajit 1972,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you taking time to write this review. We are very happy to read that you would strongly recommend Cidade de Goa in the future, especially with regards to the proximity to the beach, the location and the dining options.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cidade de, especially with regards to the proximity to the beach, the location and the dining options.

Warm regards,
Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dona Paula
2.1 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
2.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
5.3 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
16.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cidade de Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cidade de Goa

Property: Cidade de Goa
Address: Vainguinim Beach, Dona Paula 403004, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Dona Paula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dona Paula
#1 Spa Hotel in Dona Paula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cidade de Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready to experience one of Goa's best kept secrets? Just 10 minutes from the capital city of Panjim, Cidade de Goa is spread across 40 acres and nestled along the tranquil Vainguinim beach, close to Dona Paula. Within it you'll discover a world of welcoming hospitality. The impeccably furnished rooms are equipped with every possible amenity and great sea views. Our Master Chefs will delight you with multiple cuisines in Cidade's array of restaurants. The fun shines brighter here with a range of water sports, beach games, indoor activities and kids' facilities. Clube Saúde has its own state of the art gymnasium and offers an array of Swedish body massages and holistic ayurvedic treatments. Come, experience the best that Goa has to offer at Cidade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cidade de Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidade De Goa Beach Hotel Vainguinim
Cidade De Goa Beach Resort
Cidade Goa Beach Resort
Hotel Cidade De Goa Beach
Cidade De Goa Dona Paula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing