We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cidade de Goa
Nearby Hotels
The Hawaii Comforts(Dona Paula)(Great Value!)
$47
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
O'Pescador(Dona Paula)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Amarilla- Serviced Suites(Dona Paula)(Great Value!)
$33
$32
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat(Dona Paula)(Great Value!)
$39
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The International Centre Goa(Dona Paula)(Great Value!)
$41
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prainha Resort(Dona Paula)
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$74
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Abode, Goa(Dona Paula)(Great Value!)
$35
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,556)
Filter reviews
1,556 results
Traveler rating
634
576
210
66
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
576
210
66
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachcafe azulwater sportsswimming poolsea viewsuperior roomclean beachbeach sidebeautiful propertystar propertybeach resortin houseindian foodtravel deskpanjim cityspecial mentionroom service is
Filter
Updating list...
992 - 997 of 1,556 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a group of 12 friends, 6 twin rooms, first impressions of the hotel was not good as they wanted us to sleep in Double beds , i stressed to them that 12 guys need seprate beds we had booked 6 twin rooms. however after length discussion they managed to find us 6 rooms with twin beds. Once we got the rooms we noticed that all 6 rooms were of a different standard and certains parts of the hotel is much nicer than the others. basically three rooms looked like 3 star standard and 3 rooms were like 4-5 star. i would have made a point with them but since it was on New Years eve we wanted to get on with the enjoyment side of things.

When we booked this hotel you have to buy the New Yesr eve party as a package and we were under the impression that the drinks would be included in this price of nearly 100 pounds. But to our surprise when we got the tickets they said We had to pay for our own drinks (even soft drinks). The party was very well organised and they could have and should have included the local beer and drinks. we had a great time because of our group was fun , but looking back at this break i would opt more for the hotel in the south goa Namely Leela and Oberoi as i have stayed there and the experience is much better than what we recived at the Cidade.

The most important thing to note here is the rooms are very different and i would advise people to check 2/3 rooms before they decide which one they want as they differ alot.

staff were very helpful , pool was good, bar was good especially the happy hour between 7-8

sepcial mention to MANAS the waiter who made pur New Years Eve a memorable one.

Room Tip: choose rooms on the new part of the hotel rather than the old ones. Ask for rooms near the pool area or spa area.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANJAY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We, at Cidade, welcome and appreciate all guest feedback.

From your review, I understand that you were not satisfied with our check in/ checkout procedure. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused. I have made a note of the same and shall ensure that delays like this are avoided in the future.

I do hope you will visit us in the near future and give us a chance to welcome you back at Cidade.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a great hotel.

It is located near Panaji (c 20 mins away) on a beach. It is very private and secluded and feels very exclusive!

The rooms (on the right hand side as you enter the hotel) immediately overlook the sea, and you sleep listening to gentle waves.

The staff are lovely. However the sales manager was rude and overbearing and in effect accused me of trying to defraud the hotel because my copy of the advertisement for staying there (including free wifi in room) printed out 3 months before was not the same as his copy (printed out at that time). However the manager, Nileni, was great.

Drivers can be organised from there. Our driver was Gilbert, and he was great.

The pool etc is beautiful.

The food is fabulous. Cafe Azure and in-room dining were great. Much of the food was western and Indian food was described as 'ethnic'. There is a good veg and non-veg selection. We asked for Goan food and that was made especially for us but wasn't on the menu.

There are in room dvds which were good.

There is a casino here which is on the left hand side as you enter the building. It is discrete and didn't affect out stay.

I really liked this place, and look forward to retuning there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alinta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Ms. Alinta B.,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa!

Thank you for taking time to write a detailed review of your stay with us. Guest feedback is a very important part of our culture, as it allows us to enhance our service continuously.

Kindly accept apologies from me and my team for the incident you mentioned. This happened due to miscommunication between us and the booking partner. I deeply regret the same.

Moving on, I am happy you enjoyed you stay and are planning to return to Cidade. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your room, the food spread and other services. I assure you personally that, we, at Cidade, will always do our best, and your next stay will be much more satisfying.

We will look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards

Neeta Sen
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a great property with comfortable rooms. Long drive from airport but pick up and drop off is seamless. I really liked the vibrant paints on the exteriors of the resort. They have a private beach to a lagoon (not open ocean). We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice. We also went for the all inclusive meals. The Alfama restaurant is a 'must do' with great ambience and decor.
The gripe I had with the place (hence the 4 stars) was that the front desk staff seemed clueless about basic information-- 'what time is Cafe Azul open'? 'Is there a car and driver available for rent?'
Another gripe: not a fault of the resort at all- Goa really does not have anything besides nice beaches and some lovely churches. It is quite amazing why someone has not capitalized on creating a well organized tour of old Portugese quarters etc. There are some amateurish attempts at that but nothing formalised.

Room Tip: Ask for suite if more than 2 people.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nymi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for your review. It is the feedback from our guests which helps us to constantly improve ourselves.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Our architecture is inspired by colonial Goan-Portuguese architecture and we try to maintain the heritage charm in all our rooms and public areas. We also try to introduce variety in our food spreads so that there is something for everyone.

Thank you for pointing out an area for improvement for us- I am sure you will see a difference for the better on your next visit.

I do hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back to Cidade and delight you as always.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Cidade de Goa for a week prior to Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The staff were very friendly and attentitive - particularly Elizabeth. Where else would staff highlight that happy hour end was about to end and we should get our drinks in soon!

We spent most of our time pool side which was conveniently located next to a flight of stairs leading to a fairly secluded beach.

There are 4 restauarants all serving up delicious food - particularly nice is the outside barbecue/grill serving up generous plates of seafood, meat and veg platters.

The hotel is well located to explore the region although we spent only half a day on a guided tour organised by the hotel staff.

The only word of caution is that unlike our room which had been very recently modernised most of the our group were put up in rooms with dated decor. That said, I was informed the owners are refurbishing and modernising all the rooms which should be completed by the end of the year.

Room Tip: Ask for one of their modern rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DhavalG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Mr. Dhawal,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences with us and other travellers and for writing a detailed review about our many services and facilities. I am happy to read that you had a wonderful time at our beach resort.

We, at Cidade, believe in the Goan spirit of culture and hospitality, and I am very glad to read that you found our customer service par excellence. Constructive feedback from our guests is what motivates me and my team to perform our very best at all times.

We also have an outdoor pool which is open throughout the year and which is next to the beach. Vainguinnim beach, where we are located, is renowned for its peace and quiet, and is ideal for guests looking for a peaceful retreat or getaway.

We also try to provide a variety of food spread at our restaurants, so that there is something for everyone. Our barbeque restaurant is also the Times food award winner for best grills/BBQ in North Goa for 2012. We also provide live entertainment in our lobby bar, Taverna. I am sure you will enjoy the same on your next visit.

I am proud to inform you that we are a 30 year old property. We do undertake periodic renovation and refurbishment of our rooms so that we are on par with modern luxury and hygiene standards while retaining our Portuguese heritage charm. As you were rightly informed, we shall be refurbishing some of our rooms this year.

We at Cidade, assure you of our best at all times, and look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Inspite of being one of the older resorts in Goa, Cidade Goa is very well maintained place to stay with really well equipped facilities:

Pros:
Excellent Swimming pool and directly accessible to a private beach.
Great choices for food
Superb staff, very courteous and helpful
Great view from most rooms (provided you get one of the beach side ones)
Great facilities for kids and sports/adventure loving folks.

Cons:
Not very accessible of you want to try public transport or places to roam around in immediate vicinity of the resort for food/shopping etc
Beach is a bit murky and not one of those with crystal clear water and white sands.

But overall, the experience inside the resort gives a wonderful taste of GOA just like their tagline 'Goa in a resort'!

Room Tip: Specifically ask for Beach facing rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VidhyaAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Ms. Vidhya ,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travellers- your review will surely help others planning their trips to Goa.

I am proud to inform you that we are a 30 year old property built in the Mediterranean- Portuguese style, and we maintain our rooms to resemble the same vintage architecture, but with modern comforts and luxuries. Our core strength lies in our culture of Goan hospitality and the food spread, and I am glad you enjoyed the same.

We are indeed located on the Vainguinim beach, which is known for its peace and quiet. Though it is a public beach, we clean and maintain it regularly.

Regarding the transport, we do provide a travel desk for use by our guests, where taxis can be arranged.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back to Cidade de Goa and delight you as always.

Warm regards

Neeta Sen
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews