We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Mint Rendezvous Beach Resort(Dona Paula)(Great Value!)
$39
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prainha Resort(Dona Paula)
$115
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ginger Hotel Goa Dona Paula(Dona Paula)(Great Value!)
$47
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cidade de Goa(Dona Paula)
$136
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
O'Pescador(Dona Paula)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Syscotel(Dona Paula)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View(Dona Paula)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveler rating
279
258
95
26
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
258
95
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsea pearlrestaurant captainswimming pooltravel deskvainguinim beachshuttle servicepanjim marketindoor gamescidade de goatable tennishotel staffclean beachcourteous staffsuite roomf bhotel is situated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 677 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is situated in a good quite environment, only 2 minutes walk to the beach. All the hotel staff are so welcoming and they make you feel at home. The service is very good. keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shekhar D, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hello Julie,

Greetings!!!

We greatly value your short but kind review uploaded on Tripadvisor. The Team looks forward to your next visit to delight you further.

Kind regards,

Shekhar Divadkar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I started our Thomson tour at this hotel- an overnight stay. We arrived from our overnight flight at about 10.30 am but rooms were not ready till 2pm. Some on our group were accommodated earlier but we waited till 1.30. We were shown changing room but our cases were packed and our departure next day for leg to Delhi left at 5 am with alarm 1 her earlier- on top of 5 1/2 hr time change.
Hotel had no money as it was Diwallhi. This was in spite of airline telling us to get cash on location not at airport.
Room pleasant but no lift to room on 2nd floor. Pool adequate. Small nearby private beach flanked by other properties with their own Diwalli parties and offensive security staff in the uniform of a well known UK security firm.
It was not the hotel's fault that a noisy night was guaranteed but an attempt to get anything more than a snack at 6.30 pm was avoidable. In not making such provision hotel lost significant custom.
I just did not feel staff understood needs of those like us.
For those staying longer this seems to be a 3 star hotel and may well be adequate for those seeking such accommodation which is used by Russian tour operators.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank theflyingdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shekhar D, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings!!!

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and assure you that we value the business of every guest staying with us. We have noted your concerns expressed in the review uploaded on Tripadvisor.

Our advertised check in time is 2 pm & check out time is 12 noon. If the room is required to be made available on arrival then it needs to be booked so a day in advance. You will surely understand that we are not able to force occupying guest out of their booked rooms prior to the advertised check out time. Where rooms are available we have offered to the guests on their arrival without applying any additional charge & you yourself have been a witness to this. Unfortunately we did not have any vacant rooms available to offer as it was a festive period with almost a full house on hand. We certainly understand that you have started the day rather early & so also that you once again have an early morning check out but despite this it would have been best if the room required at check in on arrival were to have been booked from the previous day. It would have only added to your comfortable stay.

The In Room Dining Menu has a All Day Long section comprising sandwiches, burgers, pizzas, fried chicken, fish n chips, veg & non veg Indian mini meals. Meals however have their fixed service hours as is the standard practice across hotels. We will certainly make sure that this information is briefed to down line service associates so as to service the Guest requirement through the day. We sincerely regret any inconvenience caused due to the arrogant attitude of the security staff of the adjoining property.

We look forward to you offering us an opportunity of a longer stay so as to enable us to exhibit the warmth of our hospitality for a memorable stay with us at Sandalwood in Goa.

Kind regards,

Shekhar Divadkar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is really a good one with perfect food served with punjabi taste. The staff is very good and friendly. Overall 5 star.

Location and beach was a bit of disappointment for us, but is kind good who needs peace, you wont find any crowd, Location can get sandalwood one star less but otherwise everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shekhar D, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hello Rahul,

Greetings!!!

Your short & kind review is precise & the Team sincerely thanks you for making time to upload it on Tripadvisor. It is indeed going to be a big help in pointing other prospective guests who are planning a Goan Holiday in the near future.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Shekhar Divadkar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The location was lovely, very quiet and close to their owned private beach. Very neat all around the Resort, and staff were extremely courteous and eager to help and guide. Breakfast was sumptuous and tasty. (Though wish Maple Syrup instead of Honey was available with Pan Cakes). Had only one Dinner and no lunch at all during our stay. The service was prompt and food was quite tasty.

Overall it was a pleasant trip, and worth repeating in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKHarkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shekhar D, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Ashok,

Greetings!!!

Many thanks for your short & kind review uploaded on Tripadvisor. We at Sandalwood are indeed grateful & look forward to your next visit to delight you further.

Kind regards,

Shekhar Divadkar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel is above average, Rooms are clean. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. Kids enjoyed swimming pool and beach walk. Food is delicious with adequate vegetarian options. Front desk staff can be more professional. Would recommend this for others.

Room Tip: No elevators, stay on ground or first floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rneelavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shekhar D, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings!!!

Many thanks for uploading your short but precise review on Tripadvisor. Your concern has been noted & will be worked on. We do look forward to your next visit to delight you further.

Kind regards,

Shekhar Divadkar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews