We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run and superb views”
Review of Hotel O'Pescador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel O'Pescador
Ranked #5 of 16 Dona Paula B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Well run and superb views”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I'd really been looking forward to staying in this hotel amd was somewhat dissapointed by the reality. The position of the hotel and views from every room were excellent and the hotel was professionally run and very clean. However I felt it was a little expensive. 4000Rs for a non aircon room with peeling paint, rock hard broken bed and very basic bathroom was just too much and this was a discounted price. Breakfast was just OK but dinner was poor. I did not think much of the waiting staff some of them just seemed to be in the wrong job. However there were a couple of decent restaurants nearby - Sea pebbles is next door and has pretty good food but their fish and seafood are expensive, we preferred Menino's by the jetty, they had good fish at a good price and friendly service.

Maybe the problem is that standards in Goa are running way behind the prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jot54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    53
    18
    6
    11
See reviews for
26
80
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

It is important to know why someone would prefer to stay in this area of the city of Panjim. It is close to the pier so you can walk to take a boat, but the street outside is busy, busy with cars honking the horn, bikes honking the horn, and lots of people. There are a few run down stores for drinks and street vendors selling t-shirts and knick-knacks. All this business activity is geared to the local Indian tourists. A local "ayurvedic" massage nearby offers cheap massages but expect finding roaches (I did!). Overall, the area would need a massive clean-up starting with the body of water around the hotel, especially close to the pier (plastic bottles, food, bags, etc.). Not a pretty sight. I would definitely not call the area (Dona Paula) relaxing. The hotel has few amenities. It has access to a nice little bay. This is pretty. See pictures? I chose it because of the view for a short weekend. Yes, the view is nice, but nobody mentioned that you cannot really get into the water and if you do, you will find a few big boulders, and lots of floating objects (again plastic bottles, food, bags, etc.). Low tide takes the water away. Yes, the pool at the hotel gives a nice break. The food is very basic and limited. For example, avoid the "beef steak" even if you have spent a long time in India and you wanted to eat any beef. This dish is very disappointing. The menu should stick to fresh fish. The service is very basic, but so is the place. The hotel was just OK for a short weekend. Apparently, this hotel survives thanks to charter groups from the U.K. For independent travellers, just getting a reservation will prove to be difficult (the fax does not work, for instance) since this is a small property. Note that transportation anywhere will cost you about $18-$20 one way (the ride to the airport alone is about $18 without air conditioning in the car!). If you really want a beach, think about other places on the beach further north of Panjim such as Candolim beach. If you want to see some historical sights, ask to go to Velha Goa (Old Goa), which is worth visiting.

Room Tip: Check if the air conditioner works first before taking the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolphinOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed at O pescador last year hence had booked the same hotel for my stay in GOA.

Well i was so wrong...

A group of drunkeds checked in the hotel and messed up everything vomiting,Pissing near the pool area.

Not sure why the management still allowed them stay for overnight.

Here started the problems...

The group started banging my room door at 3.00am at night and not a soul to hear the noise.

I called the reception 5-10 times but in vain.Shouted for security 4-5 times when he arrived he informed me that not to mess as the group was totally drunk.

I checked out the same night at 3.30am.

Not did i receive any courtesy call or mail for apologizing for messing up my holiday.

I suggest you stay at your own risk and take care of your loved ones.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameet1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is a wonderful peaceful retreat, perfect for relaxation. I have stayed here twice and have booked to return again in January. It is situated in beautiful gardens, with a lovely clean pool and has access to a small quiet beach. The rooms are clean and basic with wonderful views. I have found the staff friendly and helpful and I look forward to seeing them all again. Breakfast is basic but adequate, although I have not eaten at the hotel myself I have been informed it is quite good. The hotel is quiet, so if you are looking for somewhere with plenty of nightlife then the O'Pescador is not for you, if however, you want a relaxing, peaceful retreat then I highly recommend you stay here. There are some excellent restaurants close by, (Pebbles) a local taxi service, boat trips and Dona Paula is within reasonable distance to more livelier places. .......Can't wait for January!

Room Tip: Try not to get one over the restaurant, apart from that all the rooms have their own uniqueness
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshiremissd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannur, Kerala, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Had a great stay with my family.Beautiful view of Arabian Sea.Very neat and clean rooms..helpful staff, They served good food.. really peaceful ambiance. They also have a small private beach. The well maintained swimming pool is just perfect.. they will take you for scuba diving..
Will come back again for sure!!!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms, which are sea facing is the perfect ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanakaBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha,Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very nice hotel and was impressed by its setting.....very peaceful and the pool was lovely clean and blue. Rooms very nice and spacious and overlooking the sea was a treat. Would definately go back, and i like the fact that it has its own private beach. The food was OK, but i think they could do more to make it look more appealing....they should remove the plastic chairs and make it look more attractive. Anyway, a lovely resort and great staff, would go back for sure..

Room Tip: Try this place for afew nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just back from this lovely place where I went for my first honeymoon.Ideal location for those who would love the quiet and tranquility of nature.Has great rooms with awesome views of the sea,a small swimming pool,nice food and drinks to offer,with a very friendly and caring staff.It's in Dona Paula which is a little far from all the typical 'must visit ' spots of Goa.

I would surely recommend this to everybody.

Room Tip: If available go for rooms 16-19.You will remember the view for a long time after you have left Goa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirti r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dona Paula
0.8 mi away
Cidade de Goa
Cidade de Goa
#1 of 10 in Dona Paula
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prainha Resort
Prainha Resort
#3 of 10 in Dona Paula
163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 10 in Dona Paula
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Marquis Beach Resort
Marquis Beach Resort
#14 of 65 in Candolim
457 reviews
4.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel O'Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel O'Pescador

Property: Hotel O'Pescador
Address: Near Dona Paula Jetty | India, Dona Paula 403004, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Dona Paula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dona Paula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel O'Pescador 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel O'Pescador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel O'Pescador Goa/Dona Paula
o Pescador Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing