We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donna Paola wonder”
Review of O'Pescador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
O'Pescador
Ranked #4 of 16 Dona Paula B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Donna Paola wonder”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Refered by Thomas Cook, This was a great discovery at Donna Paola, Goa. The hotel apart from offering a great view from its own cove, also has an almost private beach. The view is breathtaking and its great to hear the sound of waves lapping the shore and the rocks during sunset or sunrise. dont miss either from here.

The hotel has a great pool and great ambience as it is quite spaced out. Pefect for a getaway.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ddrscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    54
    18
    6
    12
See reviews for
27
82
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Just back yesterday after a fantastic 2 weeks at O'Pescador with Thomas Cook from Manchester. Ok - Dona Paula IS quiet - but so what? We knew this before we went and after a day out and about there's nothing better than coming back to the hotel and getting into the pool (very clean and well maintained) to cool off. The staff were very friendly,attentive and spoke good English I realise that some reviewers found some of the staff rude - but truely they weren't - we spoke to them and joked with them from the moment we arrived and found them all to be very nice.
The area around the hotel is quiet compared with resorts like Calangute but there are 7 or more restaurants/bars within easy walking distance and we found that more than adequate but if you want to travel to Panjim to eat just get in a taxi outside the hotel and they'll take you - wait while you eat and bring you back for under £10!!
Would I stay there again? Absolutly YES!!

Room Tip: Room 17 has the most fantastic sunny balcony and views over the little beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

went the first week in jan loverly hotel like a prison camp nothink t do food disgusting staff very miserable always watching t v no music at all rip u off with ur bills add a surchargtingte say they have no beer at 10 30pm when the back fridge is full of it out side the hotel is 3 or 4 restaurants if that is what u call them which are disgustin with lots of dogs waiting around 4 the scraps pitch black and no where t go what a place donna paula resort is only 4 people who go 2 bed at 8 o clock

Room Tip: room 20 had a loverly view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We arrived in the early hours of the morning and were greeted with a smile and a welcome cold drink. Our room was spacious, VERY clean with a view of the sea. We ate in the hotel restaurant frequently. The meals were always freshly made and of high quality. As mentioned by previous visitors, the breakfast was juice, fruit, toast & jam, tea or coffee. If you wanted anything more you paid extra. Over the 2 weeks we had mushroom omelettes (fab) muesli, paratha & dahl (fab), boiled eggs, etc. It was so cheap though. The staff were delightful. Always helpful and cheery. The hotel had towels for use on the sunbeds or beach. Our room had aircon, fan, fridge, tv, kettle, but I don't know if all the rooms have these. You can hire a safety deposit box. You pay a deposit at the beginning; there is a small daily charge and the difference is refunded to you at the end. They also have scales you can borrow to check if your luggage is overweight or not!

The 1st day we walked 200 yds to the mobile atm (there is another atm a few yeards further up too), had a quick look around and decided there wasn;t much to do, but everyday we discovered something new about Dona Paula. There were several eating places, a few little shops, some market stalls selling t shirts, jewellery, sunhats, sunglasses etc. and when we left after 2 weeks I'm sure there were still some places to find.

We went on the boat trip with Joseph. It leaves from the beach right by the hotel wall. We had a great time, saw dolphins, fished (and caught) and went to a beach where he bbq'd a fantastic meal. The beer was help yourself too!.

We went on a couple of Thomas Cook trips - Castaway and Land that time forgot. I thought both were good value for money and well worth doing. We also used the services of Agnello and his local taxis. We were driven around by Peter who will drive you to wherever you want, wait for you and bring you back. He took us to see Old Goa, Mangeshi Temple and a Spice plantation - again a fantastic day out.

We ate in Sea Pebbles a few times and enjoyed the meal every time. It's right by the sea. We also ate in the hotel next door (Prainha), but didn't enjoy that as much. Richie's Taste of Paradise is also near and fantastic value for money. Once again, everything is freshly cooked to order.

If you're looking for a wild, lively holiday, then this is not the place for you. If you want a good, small hotel that's right by the beach, good food and access to north and south Goa this is the place. I can only agree with the reviewer who said that after a hectic day out it was really good to return to O'Pescador Hotel for some peace & quiet.

We went for a massage in a place called Joshna's - on the other side of the road about 200 yards away. Don't Go There!. It was awful. I don't think they had any experience and we've still got the bruises after the massage! It was expensive and not very clean and towels were non-existent.

I would certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank cass2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Been to India many times over last 12 years and this is a hidden gem. Right on the beach and as you enter the grounds through reception it is just like you own bit of paradice. So quiet and relaxed, yet a quick bus ride and you can easily get to the busy resort areas for just a few pence. 3/4 restaurants on the door step, so you can stay local if you want to.
We will definately go back here for a quiet , relaxed holiday.
The rooms are spacious and very clean, frequent bedding changes and clean towels every day.
We had a fridge and air con,but they do cheaper rooms without these if you prefer.
Breakfast was basic. coffe/tea fruit juice a bowl of fresh fruit, toast and jam included but you could order more for a small charge if required.
The hotel provide towels for round the pool, which was crystal clear.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jarbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Overall the accommodation, position and outlook from you balcony was good. The rooms were cleaned and the floors disinfected every day. We were in a good sized room with tea making facilities and always hot water for the showers although we did not have a fridge but some rooms did, we did ask for one but were told none were available. The only thing that let the hotel down was the restaurant and bar staff who were miserable and very unhelpful and often got the bills wrong. The staff were very reluctant to provide a service by the pool and the bar was often shut before 11pm. It is not an ideal location if you have any walking difficulties as the hotel is at the bottom of very steep hill.The bus terminal is at the top of a steep hill. There were no money changing facilities in or around the hotel. We booked to stay three weeks but only stayed for 13 nights. The atmosphere in the hotel did not make for a happy holiday experience and the area overall was too quite. As there is only 4 restruant's/bars in the area and one of them shut at 9.30

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MargB159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed with my parents at this place for 3D2N. Very close to the beach. Gr8 view of the sea from the balcony. Cool breeze blowing continuously and so relaxing. Swimming pool is well maintained. Food is good. Close to bus depot. Boat rides are close by.

Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biasid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dona Paula
0.8 mi away
Cidade de Goa
Cidade de Goa
#1 of 10 in Dona Paula
1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prainha Resort
Prainha Resort
#3 of 10 in Dona Paula
164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 10 in Dona Paula
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bay15, Cabanas By The Bay
Bay15, Cabanas By The Bay
#4 of 10 in Dona Paula
106 reviews
4.9 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
252 reviews
4.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Pescador

Property: O'Pescador
Address: | Near Dona Paula Jetty, Dona Paula 403004, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Dona Paula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dona Paula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Pescador 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 room O Pescador is spread out over a large waterfront property with stunning water views from all sides and offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel with the facilities of a resort. It is tucked away on a delightfully secluded beach cove and yet within walking distance to many top attractions in the area which makes it a great place for an amazing family holiday, a business trip or a romantic getaway. O Pescador has been catering to a variety of Travellers from around the globe since 1979 who come here to enjoy the warm hospitality in serene and beautiful surroundings. The resort is situated in Dona Paula, on the outskirts of the quaint capital city of Panjim and is easily accessible from the Dabolim airport and conveniently located between the bustling North and the secluded South. Guest have easy access to all the beautiful experiences that the Goa has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your O'Pescador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel o Pescador
o Pescador Hotel
O'Pescador Goa/Dona Paula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing