We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“picture perfect b&b in a picturesque village”
Review of De Thuiskamer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Thuiskamer
Ranked #1 of 4 Grouw B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This b&b is in a 400 year old house. That in itself is cool, but everything has been totally renovated in a warm and casual way. We felt at home here from the moment we drove into the beautiful village of Grouw. . We stayed here 3 nights and I think we enjoyed this part of our trip more than the 7 days in Amsterdam. Fraukje, the innkeeper, was so nice and so helpful that we felt like family (especially when her cute 3yr old son came along). She tailored breakfast times to our schedule and was very helpful giving good directions and sightseeing tips. The village itself is on the water with several marinas, a church from the 13th century (!), and a village square (1 block from inn) with restaurants where everyone sits outdoors in the summer. If you're looking to unwind and discover the beautiful Frisian countryside we highly recommend De Thuiskamer. Great for couples. Families would be fine if kids are old enough to sleep in their own room. I understand that there are a few festivals during the summer when it gets loud into the night but it was pretty peaceful and quiet when we were there. being from the US and on our first visit to the NL, we couldn't have asked for a better introduction to the country.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutch_doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for De Thuiskamer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 13 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at bed & breakfast 'de thuiskamer' which means something like living room/place to come home in Dutch. And it was.
The place consists of 2 bedrooms upstairs and a large living/dining downstairs with kitchen and terrace. The owner has decorated and renovated the house immaculaty with beautiful upholstery, decorative items, books and magazines, plants etc.
The bedroom is located on the attic and has a modern bathroom and space for an extra bed.

The owner can help you with everything you need/would want to know in the neighbourhood as well as she has some really good restaurant advice.
She assisted in arranging a boat for us, walked with us carrying the picnic basket to the rental place, she arranged for bicycles. When they did not have a child seat she managed to find me a bike which had one (on loan from her neighbour) This is 6 star service.

She makes you feel at home and serves the best breakfast with local Frisian delicacies, fruit, cheese, coffee and tea on a table in the living room which is set lovely for the occasion.

You could rent out the entire B&B if you prefer some privacy, however no one shared the living room at night with us allthough the b&b was fully booked each night. In the morning we ran into the other guests whilst they were leaving the breakfats table and we were arriving. However there is a big plant in the middle of the table to ensure some privacy.
All pictures on the websit eof the B&B are really what it looks like.

This was such a good choice for our 3 days. Staying here only one night is just not enough, also because the area boosts lots of activities.

O yes, the B&B is in the heart of Grou, an old village, on walking distance of the water, watersports, restaurants etc.

Go there, go there, go there!

Room Tip: The red room has more light as it has more windows but it is also located on the side of the buildin...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: geen lift ,kamers op 1 st verdieping ,restaurants en boot verhuur op korte afstand
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Siebe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elgie-g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMvAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Thuiskamer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Thuiskamer

Address: Hoofdstraat 31, 9001 AP Grouw, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Grouw
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Grouw
Price Range: $92 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Thuiskamer 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your De Thuiskamer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing