We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An okay stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Landgoed Hotel Avegoor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fletcher Landgoed Hotel Avegoor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellecom
Noord-Brabant
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An okay stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I don’t think four stars is a correct reflection of the state of maintenance and luxury.

The Good
I stayed four nights in one of the comfort rooms (two beds). Staff are well trained and professional. Really nice swimming pool. Good conference room, nice breakfast and lunch. Diner was good as well (definitely four stars worthy). I liked the soft bed and pillows.

The not-so-good.
There was no hairdryer, the tv remote did not work, the bathroom sink was filling up with water, no fresh towels and or luxury products. My main complaint is the noise… and I didn’t even have noisy neighbors. The walls are just so thin… you can hear everything. The shower, the toilet, the tv, the rain etc etc. And seeing that the rooms are like stacked cubicles (neighbors everywhere: next to you, downstairs, above) it’s almost impossible to sleep well. Additionally my room was located on the front of the hotel: close to the railroad. While you don’t hear the train during the days; the speed limit is off during the night hours and a lot of sound is produced.

Oh and yes: no WiFi in your room.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the front side of the hotel (above the entrance)! You can hear the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Passerby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    76
    59
    25
    16
See reviews for
20
127
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonthofen, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

When you see this hotel from the road, you have to say wow! The main Landgoed Avegoor house is very impressive. The extensions with the bedrooms are less impresive but nevertheless well designed and very well decorated. The bathroom was excellent in design and function. The large double bed had only one mattress that of course leads to the well known trampoline effect when one sleeper moves in the night. Added to that there is only one bed cover which leads to the well known tug of war effect when one sleeper turns over in the night. Result: very unrestfull sleep. When in the morning I happened to notice an empty fish can (mackeral) under a chair on the balcony, I began to have doubts about the staff training. Against these few points one has to admit: excellent breakfast with top service and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2409JohnEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Positives: colorful room (although I have to say we accidentally got the best 'art' room after seeing pictures of the other rooms); relatively large room; friendly staff; good breakfast; good location for people who like to walk, run, bike etc.

Negatives: room could have been cleaner; room was very simple and outdated; we couldn't turn the heating to a lower temperature which made the room too warm; in general too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_CG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

As a child I went to this area to visit my grandparents. It is a reat environment to walk and cycle. The hotel garden is beautiful and relaxing. Indoor swimming pool is long enough to do your lapses. The old building is nice and well decorated. I liked the art. However they have a volume strategy with a large hotel building attached to it. The building is vintage and noisy. That was penny wise pound foulish. Restaurant services are also catered for larger groups. Very efficient but for a romantic weekend, I have a question mark. I have to say that the creme brulee with chocolat ice was a pleasant surprise. Staff is rather young and looking into the dinningroom over the heads of people with out noticing requests, feels like being in control but is very frustrating for the guests.

Would I visit again: for a budget weekend in an nice environment sure, looking more intimate and high end no.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This is such a great interesting hotel with lots of modern art in the rooms and around the grounds. However it was totally overshadowed by the fact that the reception was incredibly rude!! This was one of the stops on my bike tour and I spent the whole day biking in the rain and was drenched and ill. The staff receptionist couldnt tell me where I could get any medicene, and was continually short with me when I asked for room service at 4 in the afternoon even though I had clearly been riding all day. And then again when I called at 9 pm she told me the kitchen was about to close and I couldnt order (the hotel information which was in Dutch says it closes at 10). This is a great hotel but dont count on any nicities from the reception

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very friendly staff, at the reception as well as in the restaurants. They were very helpfull and did their job with pleasure. The bistro is a very cosy place to eat but the 100% white Noon-room didn't feel right. The sofas were nice for the evening meal but for breakfast not ideal. The hotel is clean but needs some updating. The rooms are refreshed with art, a transformation that didn't work out that very well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my husband and a girlfriend for New Year's Eve, incl. overnight stay. Very dissapointed!!! For an average of 250€ per person we had average simple Dutch food (huzarensalade, sate, gehaktbolletjes, etc); housewine was included in price, but it was TERRIBLE; all three of us suffered acid indigestion the whole night!! You could buy drinks at the bar for extra 5€ a drink, but we already paid do much and got so little that we did not feel like dishing out more cash! In the program live cooking was advertised -that did not happen at all, just buffet-style cafeteria food and way too few tables to have a relaxed meal. Entertainment was below average: 2 "casino" tables, which one could not easily approach (2 tables for a group of about 80 people!!), disco was not inviting.
And finally the rooms. Just worth mentioning that the arrangement would have cost about 100€ euro less PER PERSON if we did not stay overnight, so effectively my husband and I paid around 200€ for a night in a dusty swamp-green colored, "design" room, where all decorations were made of knit items: a throw, wall decorations, everything, including electrical cords in lamps, as well as lamps themselves where covered in knitted material. Besides the fact that it evoked fire hazard concerns - it was full of dust, which is a REAL health hazard to anyone with respiratory medical conditions. In the morning both my husband and I felt like we have heavily smoked the night before (both are non-smokers). My husband has slight bronchial condition, and he had to double-up medication in the morning to be able to breath, and I could not stop coughing till noon. My girlfriend simply had a layer of dust and palm prints on the black couch in her room!!
Service at the party was friendly, but at the checkout this singular positive impression was ruined as well. When the girl asked me if everything was to our liking, I have politely explained all of the above points, to which the answer was (and I quote!): "Oh, so just a few minor things, ha? Dus maar een paar kleine dingitjes? Not "sorry", not "what can we do to make it up to you?", not " What can we do to make it better next time", nothing!!

Conclusion: this place has a lot to learn about hospitality!! My advice is: if this is supposed to be is a hotel and not a wanna-be museum - pay less attention to stuffing every available free space with art of questionable value and put more effort into providing real positive experience to your guests!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vospencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ellecom hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellecom
3.4 mi away
Sandton Hotel De Roskam
2.3 mi away
Stadshotel Doesburg
Stadshotel Doesburg
#1 of 1 in Doesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kasteel Engelenburg
Kasteel Engelenburg
#1 of 2 in Brummen
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Landgoed Rhederoord
Landgoed Rhederoord
#1 of 1 in De Steeg
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
6.1 mi away
Campanile Zevenaar - Arnhem
1.6 mi away
Polysport
Polysport
#1 of 1 in Dieren
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Landgoed Hotel Avegoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Landgoed Hotel Avegoor

Property: Fletcher Landgoed Hotel Avegoor
Address: Zutphensestraatweg 2, 6955 AG Ellecom, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Ellecom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellecom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fletcher Landgoed Hotel Avegoor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Fletcher Landgoed Hotel Avegoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing