We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet country hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel de Beyaerd

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apollo Hotel de Beyaerd
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hulshorst
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet country hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a great alternative if you are visiting the Veluwe and/or Harderwijk with its Dolfinarium. It has a real country feel with lush grounds and its own outdoor activity centre. The rooms are OK though slightly worn. The breakfast is great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KjellOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    145
    37
    13
    2
See reviews for
58
161
3
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a student tour group and it was a nice enough hotel. I'm certain in the Summer it would be absolutely beautiful with neat activities. However, in the late winter/spring it was just ok. Additionally, navigating from whichever hotel building you're in to the front desk area can be very difficult at night. It is not well lit and a bit touch and go.

Finally, it is a minimum 45 minute drive to Amsterdam so you'll need a vehicle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, On
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here with a group of 35 high school students and teachers on our tour of Europe. The rooms were nice and I could tell that the grounds would be beautiful in the spring/summer. We had some trouble locating the building we were staying in as there was little lighting around the grounds and the directions were unclear. However, the breakfast provided for us in the morning was great compared to many of the other hotels we stayed at as it consisted of more than just bread and cheese. As we were visiting Amsterdam, the location wasn't the best but I understand the compromise between location and affordability.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed as a family for the weekend, nice food, attentive staff and all going the extra mile. Compliments for the organisation of this hotel. We took the childeren to the Dolfinarium, Great show and the really enjoyed the afternoon.

Room Tip: For a little extra you stay in a deluxe room. Worth the € 10,- per night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
632 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The location is near the "Veluwe" park. The area is very nice. Ask the reception for a walking map or cycling. You can hire a bike for € 10,00 a day. The breakfast is oke but I expected more for a four stars hotel, the breakfast room self is interesting, it used to be a stable in the past. The staff is very kind and helpfull. The room is not big and quite dark for one who wants to read a book. The bathroom is clean but the shower curtain is too short so you will definitely have wet floor after having shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solodam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

What used to be a wonderful hotel (with rooms spread over several different buildings) is now a bit of a disappointment. We’ve stayed at this hotel at least 11 times in the past 9 years. The rooms used to be nice, but lately it seems they have to do more things with less time/money. As a result, the rooms are not clean (dust everywhere, urine stains on the toilet, dirty coffee cups in the room, stains in the new towels etc.). The cleaning crew doesn’t speak much Dutch, so when you ask them for a fresh towel, they end up bringing you a pen…!

The bathroom could use better lighting (it’s very dark, especially in the shower) and the shower curtain is not long enough, so chances are you flood the bathroom floor.

The breakfast buffet was alright. But to be honest: lately there is less choice and less “luxury” items than they used to offer for breakfast. No more salmon, cinnamon or maple buns, no “vruchtenhagel”, no “live cooking” with eggs sunny-side-up anymore.

The positioning of the items for the breakfast buffet is not smart: people who stand in line to get breakfast are in each others way, because there’s not enough room in between the tables.

The outside of the hotel needs some attention too. In August 2013, we saw them re-painting the rooms on the outside, but the covered walkways to the main building need a make over as well. So do the chairs in the breakfast area: the fabric is worn, it looks rather dodgy.

This hotel is currently not worthy of it’s 4 stars. Hope they can turn things around, because the location is absolutely great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in building "De Hoefslag". Those are the newer and more luxurios rooms (whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

was traveling budget all the way but paid a bit more here as there was an outdoor pool and we had the weather for it. Very helpfull staff but not greatest fit wheelchairs as its all cobbled and some gravel paths. U went alone and coped ok though. Accessibke room could if been thought out better. shower chair but on legs now wheels so trick to move once sat on it there is a six inch wall around the bottom of it in an attempt to keep the. bathroom dry. No shower curtain so have to be careful nor to get room and chair soaked. nearest plug to bed you have to negotiate 2 beds and 2 chairs! The staff were very helpful though and lovely pool and sunbathing area. Not much around The site but only a few miles from harbour area with a kit more to do. Bar closes early and dinner is around €30 a head so if not with car a bit limited. I loved the pool just outside my room and would definitely go back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenTravelonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulshorst
3.7 mi away
NH Veluwe Sparrenhorst
NH Veluwe Sparrenhorst
#1 of 3 in Nunspeet
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
3.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Harderwijk
3.1 mi away
Landgoedhotel Villa Vennendal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Baars
BEST WESTERN Hotel Baars
#3 of 4 in Harderwijk
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
3.5 mi away
Landgoed Stakenberg
Landgoed Stakenberg
#1 of 1 in Elspeet
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Marktzicht
Hotel Marktzicht
#4 of 4 in Harderwijk
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel de Beyaerd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel de Beyaerd

Property: Apollo Hotel de Beyaerd
Address: Harderwijkerweg 497, 8077 RJ Hulshorst, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Hulshorst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hulshorst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel de Beyaerd 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Apollo Hotel de Beyaerd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing