We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel which is clearly run by a chain”
Review of Kasteel Bloemendal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kasteel Bloemendal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vaals
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel which is clearly run by a chain”
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Hotel Bloemendal has a real Limburg (south eastern province of the Netherlands) feel to it. The hotel is situated in a large country house with a magnificent garden surrounding it. The statue of Mary on top of the house suggests that it has been a cloister for some time. Next to the garden I especially enjoyed the inside with spacious hallways and large rooms. Although the hotel definitely has a good atmosphere to it, you do notice that the hotel is run by a chain. The food, dining hall and decorations are rather standard. Furthermore, the barman needs some training in hospitality. The night I spend with colleagues in the bar he was rather grumpy. All in all I enjoyed the hotel very much as a location for a training with colleagues. I do wonder how nice it would have been with my wife though.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stayfunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    114
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
199
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We had stayed in this hotel before and it's a treat.
The luxuoury castlesuites are spacious with high ceilings and decorated with an eye for detail.
However the carpet is ready for replacement, in the bathroom there was a crack where the shower comes out of the wall and the water in the sink does not run trough properly.
The curtains could not be opened, because of the single windows, it was freezing outside creating a horrible draft.

Breakfast is fantastic with everyting you might wish for.
Roomservice has a ridiculous surplus price.
Breakfast is already e.15,50 a person, but we had to pay an additional e.6,50 a person, just for bringing the breakfast up; that's a bit much!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed for one night arrangement with dinner and breakfast in a thema suite with 3 young children and enjoyed the stay very much. It is more a stately mansion than a castle. Spacious with high ceilings in the lobby, lounge/bar area and restaurant that are all well appointed. Our room was in a newer wing and spacious with nice bathroom. Dinner was 5 courses and very good including friendly but professional service. Breakfast buffet was also fine.

Can understand that for people needing assistance, maybe this is not a great place as there is a staircase outside and no staff ready to assist. Also, the reception was not busy when we were there but I question if the limited staff can handle busier periods.

All in all, we enjoyed it very much and a good base to visit Aachen and Maastricht. It may not have all the luxurious details and finishing touches but then again it does not charge the top rates either.

  • Liked — ambiance, restaurant
  • Disliked — expected better views
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JJVNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

My husband and I stayed here in October 2006 while he was attending a conference. The hotel was very beautiful and romantic. Our room was nice and on the ground floor, we had a small patio we could use. Unfortunately, the weather was quiet warm, and the room did not have air conditioning, and being on the ground floor we did not feel comfortable leaving the windows open.

The staff seemed nice, but were not very helpful when I asked for things to do in the area. When I asked how to get into Aachen, I was told to just get on the bus. Which is fine if you are familiar with the area, and speak the language, but not when you don't have a clue.

The restaurant was nice, but the meal was just ok. I ordered the vegetarian meal which came with a mushroom "pie." I expected more than just a plate with mushrooms piled on top of green beans, when so much more could have been done with the meal. The salad and soup that come with the meal were excellent, which made the "pie" only more disappointing. The deserts were wonderful.

There did not appear to be an exercise room.

  • Liked — Romantic setting
  • Disliked — No air conditioning and no exercise area
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jollytammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
154 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2006

The hotel Kasteel Bloemendal (Kasteel = castle) is not a real castle but more a large mansion. There is a gate and after you pass this you will see the hotel in front of you, to your right there are parking lots. It has a beautiful hall with the reception. Service is however poor, when we walked in we had to wait for about 10 minutes because two employees were discussing over a bottle of wine. After that we were greeted with “he, hallo”, not the type of communication you expect in such surroundings.

We had booked a suite and this was very nice. It had two rooms, a living room and a bedroom. Because it is an old building there were high ceilings, about 4-5 meters. The room is furnished with all kinds of antiques. Unfortunately, so was the small TV, very old, it was not even possible to switches channels with the remote! The bedroom is very romantic, with a lovely bed with all kinds of draperies. The bathroom had separate bad and shower, although the latter was very small, I felt cramped inside.

We had diner in the restaurant, stunning place with fresh flowers everywhere. The 4-course diner was though disappointing, rather well but dull and boring. In such a setting you think that the brigade will do every effort to earn a Michelin star, not cooking average diners with no real taste ‘explosions’.

With the booking, upon arrival and other moments we notified the staff that we were there for a special occasion. They did nothing with this information, that was also a real displeasure. All those lost chances in what could be a magnificent hotel.

  • Liked — The romantic bedroom
  • Disliked — The service at the frontdesk
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BA-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaals
0.8 mi away
Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek
8.5 mi away
Kasteel Terworm
Kasteel Terworm
#2 of 6 in Heerlen
269 reviews
11.5 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Winselerhof
Winselerhof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
653 reviews
13.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
695 reviews
15.3 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteel Bloemendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Bloemendal

Property: Kasteel Bloemendal
Address: Bloemendalstraat 150, 6291 CM, Vaals, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Vaals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vaals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasteel Bloemendal 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kasteel Bloemendal is a beautiful historical location, ideal for stylish business meetings and romantic celebrations. Cities like Aachen, Düsseldorf, Liege, Maastricht and Heerlen are in the direct surroundings. For hikers, golfers, cyclists and lovers of beauty & health is Bloemendal also an excellent base. We would like to make your stay special. Team Bloemendal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Kasteel Bloemendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing