We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for camping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tegelen
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not for camping”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My family and I went to this region to attend the 2012 Floriade, whose venue changes every time. The Limburg region, where Venlo is, is known for nature and outdoorsy activities. Most of the available accommodations in the region are houses, rentals, camping grounds, and other long-stay accommodations, which did not suit our purpose because we would only be there for three days. Among the hotels I've found in the area, Chateau Bilderberg Holtmuhle in Tegelen (beside Venlo) was the closest to the venue (but there are NO hotels that are within walking distance to the venue) at the price range we were looking at (around 240 euros/night for a double/triple room).

The staff is very attentive and helpful, even from the time of inquiring via email, to the time of booking via email, and all throughout our stay. They taught us the route to take by train to get to Tegelen/Venlo from Amsterdam, and so forth.

Taxis are quite expensive here, especially because the places are far away from each other. You can ask the front desk to call you a cab--and they will negotiate for you a fixed roundtrip price which is around 1/3 or 1/4 of the fare by meter. From the train station, taxi to the hotel was expensive since we didn't know to ask the hotel yet. We ended up getting 2 sedan taxis, and paid around 40 euros per taxi, one way. But the fixed taxi rate at the hotel got us a large van (we requested for a vehicle that could accommodate all five of us) that could seat maybe 10 people, at a fixed rate of about just 50 or so euros (for all five of us, roundtrip). The taxi will take you right to the entrance of the Floriade park, and back to the entrance of the hotel.

The hotel is an old castle which has been converted. The ambience is lovely and serene, and all around the hotel is a great expanse of woods and gardens which are great to explore. The rooms are large, clean, feature high quality materials/furniture, and a clean decent sized bathroom to boot. Breakfast is buffet style, featuring lots of the local produce/products, including delicious fresh milk.

Price is a little high but there is not much choice in this area, and I think for the quality of the hotel, service of the staff, and our overall experience, it was worth it in the end. A lot of people opt for the cheaper accommodations that are more of for camping and long-stay, like families or groups visiting the area from neighboring countries, etc. But for our purpose of visiting the Floriade and only staying 2 nights, this option was great for us.

Room Tip: Email the staff, they are very helpful--from room related inquiries to how to get there, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eveiveneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    241
    71
    15
    2
See reviews for
71
387
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed there last weekend and had a lot of snow, which made the entranceway to the hotel even more romantic than on the pictures.

The reception people were very nice and efficient and took the time to show us the most important parts of the hotel. The lobby is fantastic with its great staircase and the new and old parts of the building being combined. Good place to have a coffee or aperitif.

The room itself was rather small but cozy and clean. Big flatscreen TV and very soft beds. We were in room 109 and had a beautiful view of the pond. Bathroom was well-sized but there was very low water pressure (the hotel seemed to be fully booked).

They have 2 restaurants, we ate at the more "fancy" one, where they offer a 3, 4 or 5 course menu. Food was truly delicious and service was attentive. They offer a wine selection to accompany the menu, and they served a dutch white wine, a St. Julien and a Portwine with the cheese. Refills are possible, which was very nice.

The spa area is located in an annex and you need to pass by the lobby/lounge to get there, so you need to walk past people having a drink with wet hair etc. But is an old building, you cannot have everything perfectly done.

All in all we were very satisfied and relaxed even after one night. The interior decor was done with a lot of tase.

The downsides are: Wifi is not free, 5 euro charge for the car park but no alternative, small swimming pool, low water pressure.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

this is my second visit as my first was not to the expectation of the quality of service and location
what a good result, I am so happy having make that choice, the second stay has blown away the first one, nice room all comfort and the view over the lac.
the staff was as pleasant and helpful as the first time but the most impressive was the diner and breakfast.
everything just good quantity quality and variety

Room Tip: 207 perfect for romantic view on the lac
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous! The rooms are great, the bed is so nice that you sleep like sleeping beauty, and breakfast is just delicious. The swans in the castle moat give you the idea that you are in the middle ages. If you want to be pampered, the Bilderberg hotel is THE place that you seek!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DroomDecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed 3 nights to visit the Floriade. The entrance to the hotel as you drive in is enough to set the scene for what is a lovely hotel with its own moat and grounds. We stayed in the old part of the hotel, a corner room overlooking the moat. The room was large and well appointed with a fabulous bathroom and large bed. We had dinner in the hotel on one hight, the food is lovely but is not quite matched by the inexperienced waiting staff. We had a lovely time at the hotel and the local town of Venlo should also be seen. Hard to fault the hotel except for one major gripe.,charging SIX Euros PER HOUR that must be used used within 24 hours, when Wi Fi is so cheap is a total rip off.

Room Tip: Stay in the old part of the hotel if you want a character room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidofWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Beautiful hotel, tranquil setting. Our room was a corner room in the old part of the hotel. Quite spacious and comfortable. Bathroom had over the bath shower and a separate shower cubicle - both had shower curtains which I hate.
Charge for wifi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here whilst visiting the Floriade exhibition, well appointed room, great showers, very good service by reception and in the restaurant. The food whilst not inexpensive was divine the local pork dish was excellent, although the translation of the menu to English was not too good so some of the dishes we ordered came out differently to what we expected but it is not a problem when the food is this good. Catered for the vegitarians in our group with a smile which was refreshing. Only wish I had gone for the five course tasting menu...

Would love to return and explore the area some more.

As the hotel is on the edge of the town you will need a car to both get here and explore the area.
Only downside was the quacking ducks in the moat at night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlantmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegelen
2.1 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Bovenste Molen
2.4 mi away
Sandton Chateau De Raay
10.2 mi away
Parkhotel Horst
Parkhotel Horst
#1 of 1 in Horst
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Venlo
11.4 mi away
Het Arresthuis
Het Arresthuis
#1 of 8 in Roermond
755 reviews
3.0 mi away
Theaterhotel Venlo
Theaterhotel Venlo
#3 of 7 in Venlo
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle

Property: Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle
Address: Kasteellaan 10, 5932 AG Tegelen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Tegelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tegelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Holtmuhle is a unique historic castle which dates back to the Middle Ages. The peaceful surroundings and luxurious setting in a romantic environment ensure a pampering break. The spectacular entrance across the moat already promises a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle Hotel Tegelen
Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle Tegelen, The Netherlands - Limburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing