We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic Hotel in countryside Holland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Volendam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in countryside Holland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We booked a luxury room for 5 nights as we were with our 18 month old son and wanted a relaxing holiday yet close to were we wanted to go. Volendam which is a lovely small fishing village is about a 5 min bus ride which you can catch exactly in front of the hotel but we walked it from hotel to Volendam 3 times which takes about an hour walk but believe me its worth the walk as you will see all the nature around this hotel with sheep and cows and all kind of birds and small lakes , wonderful. We also went 3 times to Amsterdam (30 min) as the buses are really user friendly and efficient and always on time. We travelled with the buggy and was really easy. Room we stayed in was spacious and clean and had a balcony overlokking the lake and fields which was wonderful. Breakfast was very good with a really good selection of hot and cold dishes and freshly baked pastries. We ate 3 times as well at the Hotel restaurant which serves really good food at reasonable prices. For us , which was the first time travelling with our baby , it was an excellent holiday as we were treated really well from all Hotel staff and other people around were we travelled. Will surely come back again one day. Highly reccomend this Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 420 which had a perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    308
    84
    18
    10
See reviews for
196
352
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

It was a nice stay for three nights. The first thing we loved about this hotel was the location, about 3-4 km from Volendam, a lovely village and 15 km from Amsterdam. We saw cows and ships from our room and we loved it. At first, we didn't like the room because of the smell but they changed it. They have different rooms depending on the price (big or smaller, close or far from reception etc). The breakfast was ok and we tried also the food from their menu and we were satisfied. I reccomand the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Absolutely lovely hotel,we booked a superior room,it had a large bedroom ,balcony.great bathroom with rain shower,safe etc etc.Restaurant ate their both nights(excellent)check out the oysters and lobster.......YUM......,restaurant over looks a small kind of pond with adorable gardens well romantic.Food great both nights plus service and staffBreakfast continental style and tasty.
Trendy terrace for pre dinner drinks is a must ,bar staff friendly and efficient,prices reasonable.The hotel hires out bikes at good prices ,we hired 2 and went to Edam and volendam ,what a day we had.Well worth a visit ,did not use pool or fitness facilities but checked it out and what we saw looked professional enough.all in all

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I will start firstly by noting that this hotel was about a 30 min bus ride from Amsterdam Central but will proceed to say that for the same price to stay at this hotel as a hotel/hostel in the city centre this will provide much more value for money!!
Ideal for business trips/family/couple stays, would not recommend if you want to party in the city as this hotel is quite up market and out of the way. The bus stop is literally right outside the hotel and buses run frequently into Amsterdam roughly every 15 minutes. The hotel is also situated quite near to Volendam which is worth a little visit to see the cheese factory and the harbour.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here, the room was clean and tidy with a beautiful big bathroom and modern shower. Various amenities such as swimming pool, aerobics, sauna although we did not have time to make use of these.
Breakfast is highly recommended when you stay, it is a little pricey at around 12.50euro each but it is a large buffet consisting of hot and cold meats, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereal, coffee, fresh orange juice and pastries and the restaurant is really nice/high quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarlett s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great hotel, good price and only a short bus journey into Amsterdam. When we were visiting Amsterdam, the city was really busy and rather than spend money on a rubbish intercity hotel we opted to stay outside the city and commute in... I definitely recommend it - you get a lot more for your money and this hotel is lovely and has great amenities, friendly staff (although the reception staff were not great to be honest) and set in a lovely rural location a stones throw from the city.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tardis_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Me and some of my friends were visiting europe, and when we headed to the Netherlands, we booked to stay here from Last Minute Hotels.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was lovely. It is located close to the beautiful town of Volendam, which has many wonderful restaurants and cafes. It is also located close to a bus stop with direct access to buses to Amsterdam Centraal.

We loved it here so much that we expanded our visit one more day, which was still extremely cheap. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alax S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is 20 minutes by bus from Amsterdam central and the busses run until after midnight, so for me it was a great base to work from. The staff were really helpful and professional, the place was clean and comfortable and the room was large enough to feel spacious. The Shower was as hot as you can handle and the little bottles of toiletries were filled up every day. The room is also well soundproofed so you don't hear people passing your door all the time.
I was very pleased with the comfort and service but I was very disappointed that there was no kettle in the room, nor anything for making tea and coffee, or even cups. (other than the glasses in the bathroom.)
I feel that the manager should have a serious look at putting tea and coffee facilities in all rooms as I have never been in a hotel that does not provide this. Even the cheapest hole in the wall gives this. I went and bought a kettle for 10 euros from Hema, one of the chain stores in Amsterdam.
I am more than satisfied with my stay there though and would add that there is a very good cheese shop next door where you can see cheese being made and clogs being made. People should be made aware that your bus ticket is an all day ticket and you can travel on it as often as you like on the day. I went to Edam, Volendam, Hoorn, Mockendam, Purmerend and Amsterdam and at he moment the ticket is only 10 Euros for the day. Very good value, great comfort and a perfect place to relax in the countryside, yet close to the city.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but bring your own kettle if you book a basic room. you can buy one for 10 Euros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katwoude
1.9 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#2 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
11.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hoorn
9.8 mi away
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Volendam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Volendam

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
Address: Wagenweg 1, 1145 PW Katwoude, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Katwoude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Volendam 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Volendam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Volendam Hotel Katwoude
Van Der Valk Volendam Katwoude

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing