We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel to recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have booked 1 night in this hotel as we could not find a room im Amsterdam. Surprinsingly after reading some appreciations, we have found this hotel quite convenient, very quiet, the beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms renovated and very beautiful.
we had diner in the restaurant and it was very good, the service being very professional.
breakfast was complete, and good.
we paid 89 euros for a night, plus breakfast = really this hotel is to be recommended, located near amsterdam ; we also had the possibility to visit Volendam, Edam , which we would have certainly skipped if we were staying in Amsterdam.

This is not a romantic hotel, indeed but very convenient if you don't want to spend too much money and still have a very good comfort.

Room Tip: don't forget your swimming-suit !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfyDielheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

A very nice modern hotel near Amsterdam. The rooms and beds are very comfortable and clean. We liked that the hotel was warm, as it was somewhat cold outside, even it was July, so that we could bath the kids. The breakfast was extremely perfect, it was delicious and had too many choices. The hotel is very close to Volendam and Edam, must-see small villages, and Amsterdam is 15 minutes by drive. It's a bit hard to find.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melike-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I went on a trip in August of 2013 in Europe with three friends during which we visited 4 countries and we stayed in about 6 different hotel ranging from 3.5 to 4 stars. This hotel is by far the best one. We took a triple room which was spacious and very clean. I fell in love with the bathroom which had a walk-in shower and a tub. The room also had a balcony which was nice and to top it off there was free internet with the room. The hotel is located in a very beautiful area at the same time it was close to Amsterdam and public transportation. The staff were very friendly & professional. I also had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was very good. Simply this hotel made my stay in the Nederlands more enjoyable. I highly recommend it and I will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balsaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our last hotel stop on a 16 day tour of Europe by motor cycle - many of our overnight stops were at budget hotels, so this was to be our treat for surviving a journey of over 2000 miles in mixed weather. The not so good first - In many ways this fitted the bill, but there was a 'however'. Fitness area was small, and the pool not full sized - we had every intention of using this as a wind down before the ferry home, but it was too cramped and the attendant unwelcoming, so we chose the bar instead ! this was the second 'but' .. we had of course expected 'hotel prices' for food and drink, but these exceeded our expectations, the food was lovely, and portions generous, but at a price. Now for the good parts, bar and waitressing staff very good, chatty and helpful without being over the top, room very clean. shower good, bed good, quiet and a good view. Great bus service into Volendam - a lovely town, and well worth a second visit. We intend to return, and we will stay at this hotel, despite the caveats.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OakhurstGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here as part of a wedding group for 2 nights and all in all it was good value for what we paid . Make use of the free swimming pool if you can.
3 small points I must make for anyone wishing to stayhere.
The lighting in the room is very dim and I know others have mentioned this on here, I personally could not read a book after dark.
Not all rooms appear to be air conditioned, on floor 3 we had it but a floor 1 room did not so make sure your room has it in the summer or ask for another room.
The buffet breakfast price at 12 euros seems overpriced so stock up or eat out if you can,

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very good value for money. Clean comfortable rooms. Had an evening on the terrace being served by very friendly waiters. Very nice ambience - candles/ fires etc - though the fores were't really needed to be lit on th hottest evening of the whole year - so sat far away form them as we could . Drinks reasosnably priced. Breakfast a good choice. Delicious squeezed orange juice. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice room, peaceful surroundings, good food and drink, reasonable value.

The only thing needing attention:
Beds should use fitted bottom sheets as the ones used now are too narrow and will not tuck in and stay in!!
The bedside table lamps need stronger bulbs because with these one cannot read in bed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Netgezien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katwoude
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
472 reviews
NH Zandvoort
#1 of 26 in Zandvoort
1,252 reviews
Marinapark Volendam
#2 of 4 in Volendam
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#38 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,418 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Volendam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Volendam

Address: Wagenweg 1, 1145 PW Katwoude, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Katwoude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Price Range: $80 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Volendam 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Volendam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Volendam Hotel Katwoude
Van Der Valk Volendam Katwoude

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing