We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great”
Review of Hotel Zwanenburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Zwanenburg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zwanenburg
Reviewed October 24, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 255 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Pros: friendly & helpful driver.
Safe environment as it is mainly residential.

Cons: no elevator (those with big or heavy luggage beware), location is rather far from the nearest train station which is halfweg-zwanenburg

Note to bring your own toothbrush, toothpaste as these are not provided.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Wynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived on Friday morning to the airport, called the hotel and we were picked up. That was all fine. Arrived to the hotel, and... shock! Nothing like the photos suggest. By the photos, we were expecting a modern hotel, semi new.... It's not, it's an old house with refurbished rooms only. So we went upstairs to the room... which was not done! Fair enough, we are humans and make mistakes, and the rest of the 3 days we stayed in there, the room was made everyday and towels were changed daily... but as a second impression of the hotel, it wasn't great.

On the following day, I wanted to use the 'spa bath' as it says when you choose the 'Deluxe Room'.... well, it's only a bath as the 'jacuzzi' does not work. Apparently the plumb was coming on Monday (day we left) - how unfortunate.

As nice as the room was, little details would have helped us liking it more. A kettle and some tea/coffee/milk/sugar as you get in any other hotel would have been a lovely gesture, as breakfast is not included in the rate, and 8€ per person for breakfast is very exaggerated.

Location is OK. The town is small, and it's got a maximum of 5 food service places (a Chinese, Italian, kebab, another restaurant and a sandwich shop), which are not cheap at all for where they are. Train station is 15 min away from the hotel, and they run very frequently, so that was good.

It's little things we've seen and learnt from other places we've been to that made us think this one was not good enough, and definitely not worth the money we paid. Would not recommend or come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent 3 night at the hotel recently. The hotel has a great plus which is the shuttle bus to/from the airport. Then it's very clean and it has a computer with printer which can be used in the nice hall. The staff is friendly and they give you useful information about how to get to Amsterdam. There is a cheap and very fast train to the Central Station but if you're not a walker don't stay there as the walk to Zwanenburg station is about 30 minutes, which is a total of an hour each day. It's pleasant but if you've already spent the day walking in Amsterdam can be tiring.
The rooms are small but provided with everything you'd need: the heater can get very warm and the tv has a big flat screen. The shower is powerful and nice but it can get some time to get warm. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast as they previous reviews were not great about it. There is a convenient baker wich serves coffees on the way to the station + a supermarket where you can buy food and drinks.
I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: We stayed in the courtyard room. Maybe the room in the main building are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed there one nite and was happy to got a place for my car, because the private parking lot was totally overloaded. Probably, several spaces are longterm blocked by flight tourists.
Anyway, check in and check out was professional, the room was spacey, a big curtain for closing the window available. The room was a littl bit worn, but it looks more or less clean - only one spider web to see.
It was warm enough in the room, the bath was a little bit cold, but acceptable. The glas plate in the bath for toilettries was not there. And the sheets are partly worn out. But nothing serious to mention.
The airco costs additional money. The matrasse was soft and nice, all devices properly working. A closet with a small safe and enough room for a short stay in the room.
No minibar. The TV was ok. Wifi not used.
The breaky was not luxury, but coffee, juices, yogurt, cereals, bread (white, brown, buns), milk, boiled eggs and a smal variety of sausages, cheese and ham were available.
Also jam and choco hail and butter, honey and magarine.
So, for me it was enough and a price of 8 Euro was ok. Truly, I was there early in the morning, thus I cannot say what happened to the buffet after a while.
Although a lot of flight traffic, it was very silent. But be cautious, several rooms have a window to the yard or the smoker`s area, as smoking in the hotel is forbidden. If you open the window, you probably catch some smoke or odor.
It is a kind of airport hotel, offering free shuttle to and from the airport, and with that in mind, it was better than my experienced average of airport hotels.
As I dont depend on the airport, I have to think about to go back there the next time.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms to the yard like number 54 are very silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The room on the ground floor (a request that they honored) was cold, cold, cold when we arrived, and it was an entire hour before it warmed up to a comfortable temperature. We had requested a refrigerator; it arrived about 30 minutes after we did. The room was tiny; there was barely enough space to walk around the bed. Two straight chairs, one of which was broken. The location is at least 15 minutes from Schiphol by shuttle (driving at about 70 mph), the driver had already loaded two persons from another hotel into the van when we found it, and he then disappeared for ten minutes or so. There is a lot of noise from the planes. English is NOT spoken by the night staff (and it wasn't late when we got there--around 8 pm); the staff in the morning did a little bit better.

On the positive side, the internet WAS free (as promised) and reliable.

Room Tip: Rooms on an upper floor may be more comfortable (I don't know), but there is no elevator, and at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank James Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zwanenburg
3.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
3.1 mi away
Ramada Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.1 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
1.7 mi away
New Century Hotel
New Century Hotel
#340 of 375 in Amsterdam
29 reviews
2.6 mi away
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#152 of 375 in Amsterdam
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zwanenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zwanenburg

Address: Olmenlaan 52, 1161 JX Zwanenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zwanenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zwanenburg
Price Range: $59 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zwanenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zwanenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zwanenburg Hotel Noord Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing