We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable rooms in pleasant village near Schipol” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zwanenburg

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Zwanenburg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zwanenburg
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms in pleasant village near Schipol”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel has some similarities to a Pensioner. It is a little rough around the edges but provides what is needed for a stopover - comfortable bed, good shower, nice crisp bed linen, clean towels, all for a very reasonable price. Free WiFi and the shuttle bus to and from Schipol are a real plus. We arrived at 4pm after an 11 hour flight, so walked down to the river and along as a way of getting exercise and adapting to a 7 hour time change. Overall, Zwanenburg is a peaceful, pretty little place some aeroplane noise). If you are prepared to walk further than the Main Street, go over the bridge on the river and turn the first street left. By the big chimney you'll find a stylish brasserie in a lovely setting, "Het Gemaal" which serves terrific food at varying price levels and well priced drinks. If you are really on a budget, the bakery and the gourmet cheese shop provide really tasty choices, and there is a good supermarket in the centre. So, there are places to eat that are not just fast food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    80
    54
    25
    22
See reviews for
22
87
20
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The room was good I stayed, clean and nice, but the payment issues I faced totally ruined the whole thing. Finally I paid 2x for a room, and had not much choice as it was around midnight when we got to the hotel,very exhaustedly...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Deidra77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zwanenburg hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Like:
#1.The hotel was a bit apart from the Schipol Airport, but as the hotel had a "free shuttle" service, this was not an issue. Just give a call to them from the FREE direct phone available at the Schipol Airport terminal (Terminal 2).
#2. Public service also runs near by the hotel, if needed we can catch this bus service to city, the bus stop is with in a few mins walk.
#3. The room I got was an excellent double room, which met all my expectations at that cost. All the services mentioned by the hotel was provided without any issue

Dislike:
#1.The hotel was not providing a FREE breakfast as majority of other hotels do. It was good if they can offer a FREE breakfast. The cost of the breakfast was 8 Euro's per person night.
#2. WiFi was OK in hotel lobby and in public locations, but it lacked the coverage at times in rooms. (Was not a big issue)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Akbar Travels

Helpful?
Thank prajishc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stjordal, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in July 2013. We were 2 adults and 2 children and had booked a quad room (2 real double beds).

First impression on the outside was good. Quiet and calm, and enough space for parking - for free. Also the room was large but a little dated in style. As we were preparing the kids for the night, we got a problem in the bathroom: There was no bathtub and the shower head was stuck high up on the wall - that it was not possible to take the shower head down. We told this to the people in the reception, and we got switched to a standard double room with extra bed (here it was not real double bed, so we had to tie the beds together with plastic strips for 2 adults and one child could sleep in "double bed". In this room, there was a better bathroom; Jacuzzi and a flexible shower head (none of the quad rooms have bathtub or flexible shower head, we were told).

So to the standard of the room:
* The door to the room was not tight, about 1 cm open space to the corridor when the door was closed (we told this to the staff, but they did nothing about it for the week we stayed there.
* The beds are comfortable.
* No fridge in the room.
* It is bad soundproofing in the hotel.

So to the breakfast:
This was the very worst about all in the hotel. First of all, there is a very poor selection of food. They are also very miserly; when they set out ham, cheese etc for the guest they kind of set out 7 slices of ham, 8 slices of cheese, 5 eggs etc. It quickly becomes empty, and then you have to wait for a long, long, long time before the staff comes with more. In the headline, I said that there are sometimes very good service - this is really NOT in the morning. The week we stayed there, there were 2 women working there in the morning - and they were really not service minded at all, they were miserable and angry. They did really not like criticism. Also, the few eggs they set out were green inside instead of yellow..

To get to Amsterdam, you can walk or drive to the train station about 15 minutes of walking distance. The train takes about 10 mins to Amsterdam Central Station. Be aware that you have to pay cash (coins only) at the ticket machines, they do have card slots - but they do NOT accept Visa or Mastercard...

The local centre in Zwanenburg (5 mins of walking) also have a varied selection of shops. In the main street, you have a grocery store, pizza place, Italian restaurant, Chinese restaurant, toy shop etc.

All in all, the hotel is a very standard 3 star hotel - but when you look at the standard of the hotel, and the distance to Amsterdam, my meaning is that it is too expensive.

Room Tip: If you have kids, it is very easy to think that a quad room is best - but the bathrooms are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evlenol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here because of a layover so we need to stay near the airport. The location is so quite and far from all the bars and restaurant. The bus station is far that will take you 20-30 mins walk. Phone calls will cost you a lot.. The rooms are nice and clean. Shuttle service is free but if you will have early flight you need to pay extra for taxi. Breakfast is limited selection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakwatsera09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in July 2103. Working all day what every rep needs is a comfortable hotel that serves good food, a relaxing bar & somewhere to work with good wifi. My usual search criteria when staying away from home for work are that the hotel should have free car parking & free wifi. With a comfortable bed this hotel excelled at providing somewhere to sleep, somewhere to work and somewhere to leave the car. Now, what about food? Hotel Zwanenburg is listed as having a restaurant, but that is about all. On arrival on my first night at check in I was told that there was a Chinese close by, a Doner Kebab shop and a sandwich bar all within a few minutes work. These places were all located on a grubby parade of shop serving the housing estate that this hotel is located on. Thats right a housing estate. Do not book this hotel if you would like somewhere close by to enjoy a decent meal and or drink. As for the hotel restaurant, well there was no sign of any chef, no smell from the kitchen and no customers looking for food. So I ended up searching Trip Advisor for restaurants close by and ended up with a 6 mile drive into Amsterdam to find something that was not a fast food joint and found a great little brasserie. However I still had a six mile drive back to the hotel. Surely it can't be this bad? Surely breakfast will be better? Cornflakes, some bread, juice, coffee all sounds good. Three slices of sweaty ham and two of cheese displayed but that was it. If you persist and really want to book this hotel then I'd suggest the small family bakery opposite the hotel as somewhere to get breakfast. Overpiced, under resourced and €250 wasted. I have rated as 1 which frankly is just for the comfy bed

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Affordable hotel in a quiet neighborhood that's in between Amsterdam and Harlem. Just a short walk from the train stop to the hotel. The room was clean, bed was really comfortable and the wifi was great! There's not much to do in Zwanenburg and not really anywhere to eat, but there are plenty of great places a short train ride away (Amsterdam and Harlem).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zwanenburg
3.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
2.1 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#163 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#126 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
8.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
5.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Zaandam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zwanenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zwanenburg

Property: Hotel Zwanenburg
Address: Olmenlaan 52, 1161 JX Zwanenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zwanenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zwanenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zwanenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Zwanenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zwanenburg Hotel Noord Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing