We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent staff, food good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Sallandse Heuvelrug

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Sallandse Heuvelrug
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rijssen
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent staff, food good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Needed to stay near Holten as the teenager was racing (again) a lot of the hotels were already booked up so having never been to the area we took a chance on Sallandse Heuvelrug. Right from the start the customer service was excellent, I had managed to book double rooms for single occupancy but they changed them to double occupancy no problem. The greeting at reception was very good. The hotel itself is in grounds similar to some of the heathland on the South Coast of Britain, evergreens and sandy paths so it is relatively picturesque - for Holland. Go for Upgraded room with balcony as you get a sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. Shower was really nice - rain shower but it had some power not the usual drip. Food was good better than the average hotel and wine list was reasonably priced. The staff were excellent nothing was too much bother. Ok if I am being picky then four things - 1. Beds were 2 doubles and it didn't seem that they could be put together - that said they were sooo comfortable. 2. No amenities to speak of in the bathroom just filled dispensers a bit like Premier inn. 3. Powdered creamer for tea & coffee - not my favorite but at least there was tea & coffee in the room. 4. Swimming pool was very small and according to another member of our party you had to pay to use it.
Some Words of wisdom.... Hotel is quite difficult to find even with a sat nav so make sure you research the route before you drive it. If you go into Holten or Rijssen the roads are confusing as they all seemed to have changed into one way system and they all look like someone's drive i.e. block paving - very posh but confusing for us poor Brits who are used to pot hole ridden, tarmac roads. Finally, you need a free permit to park in any of the 'Blue zones' available, so we were told by a local, from the police station or (seemingly non existent) tourist info centre.

Room Tip: Upgrade and go for Room with balcony as it was worth the small increase in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowJellyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    51
    33
    9
    2
See reviews for
8
71
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

....is the English translation of this Fletcher Hotel. Booked through Fletcher coupons, this lovely hotel set us back no more than €30 per night. If you like hiking and/or cycling, this is the place to be. In the middle of the forest and on the edge of a beautiful national parc. Are you a city dweller? Then pass! Rooms are decent size and bathroom was quite simple bus very clean. The bath is much bigger than average for a hotel room.

Check in and out was a breeze, the restaurant we did not give a rating for because we did not use it.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hotel is located in a forest like region. Looks very nice. Restaurant, lobby etc. look very nice. Staff is very attentive. Rooms are average, not great, just normal. Be aware when you arrive in the dark, they have very limited lighting outside the hotel. You have to search for the entrance to the parking area. This area is not lit by any lights so you have to feel you're way to the entrance and you're car is not really secure since there is no light at all. So do not leave any valuables in you're car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here quite a few times and the rooms and service are both superb.jWe both enjoy the amenities especially the indoor pool.
The breakfasts are particularly excellent and you end up rather full after each one!!
The staff are very helpful and all speak excellent English... You will need a car as there is no direct transport service..... the city of Rijssen is about 3 miles away with superb shops,cafes and restaurants....Germany is about 3/4 hours away...... plenty do do in the area such as cycling which can be hired from the hotel at a reasonable charge.... We of course will be staying at the hotel very soon!!

Room Tip: Ground floor if you are disabled although there is a .lift to the lower and upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liver13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overveen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel. Nice locaton in the Dutch woods (Sallandse Heuvelrug). Accommodation somewhat outdated at some areas in the hotel like the swimmingpool and breakfast area. Although breakfast very good we were situated in an sort of auxiliary part
of the restaurant that was furnished with office tables and hard wooden chairs. Coffee service table was located on the other end and was self-service on a another wooden bench. Staff however meant well but could have informed us about a new espresso machine that was located in another room. We stayed in a suite of the hotel which had a good atmosphere and was spacious enough with a convenient bathroom. Bikehire at the hotel.. Tip!!. try one of the electric ones. It is worth the biketour.

Room Tip: Suites might be more expensive but are worth the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandegroot1760572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A really nice location close to the town however in set in a woodland setting. The staff were excellent and could not be more helpful. They also had a really good level of English.

The food was exceptional, I took the chef recommendation three courses one of the best meals I have had in a long time.

I would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms very good if you book as a business traveler upgrades are given at no extra costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJohnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Really enjoyed staying here, it's right inside the forest so blissfully quiet. Rooms are tastefully furnished and not too modern and plasticky.

Bathroom is great, under floor heating is comforting. Shame the room doesn't have tea and coffee making facilities, that's a real pain.

Nice simple menu to choose from for evening dining and the food is delicious top notch cooking.

Breakfast is plentiful and good too.

I used the pool a couple of times which was nice and warm and clean.

The FREE internet is only 4 x 30 minutes of slow service though, this was disappointing as the booking form said free wifi, then you have to pay 15 Euro when your two hours is up, not me paying but that's not the point.

All in all a great hotel with delightful surroundings and friendly staff. Would come back again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijssen
4.3 mi away
Hoog Holten Hotel & Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Hotel Herikerberg
Hotel Herikerberg
#1 of 1 in Markelo
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
4.4 mi away
Restaurant Hotel Grand Cafe De Swarte Ruijter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Dinkeloord
7.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Uitkijk
Hotel Restaurant de Uitkijk
#1 of 2 in Hellendoorn
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
4.6 mi away
AC Restaurant & Hotel Holten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Sallandse Heuvelrug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Sallandse Heuvelrug

Property: Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Sallandse Heuvelrug
Address: Burgemeester Knottenbeltlaan 77, 7461 PA Rijssen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Rijssen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rijssen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Sallandse Heuvelrug 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious villa with modern designed room is located in the heart of Twente. Surrounded by countryside and beautiful nature. This unique area nestled between the river IJssel and Nationaal Park De Sallandse Heuvelrug. Salland is known for its convivial villages, monumental farmhouses, stately homes, romantic castles and typically Dutch windmills. After a long day biking or hiking, you can relax and visit the sauna of the hotel. Or take a dip in the swimming pool. The cozy lounge bar is the perfect place for a drink. Besides that the hotel has a patio and restaurant where you can enjoy a delicious dinner. At Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Sallandse Heuvelrug There is so much on offer that you are guaranteed not to get bored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Sallandse Heuvelrug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing