We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rest after work in Utrecht”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Bilt
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A rest after work in Utrecht”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spending some time in Utrecht after business offers a variety of museums and strolling opportunities along the canals. However, if for a change you would spend some time closer to nature than to culture, the Biltsche Hoek is an hotel to consider. Within 5 kilometers from Utrecht it offers an excellent restaurant, cosy lobby, a swimming pool and a nice walk in the woods at your doorstep. A nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the woods side of the hotel (not the freeway side) for more calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buntinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    323
    91
    17
    5
See reviews for
134
309
37
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My experience goes back to 2012, which I stayed there for one week. The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was large and well organized.
Breakfast was great but when I went out of the shampoo and asked for the refill, nobody caed to do that. The cleaning people were not doing their job without extra tip.
:(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laleh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm in de Bilt visiting the Dutch Meterological Institue, KNMI, and this hotel was arranged by them but I would return if I have to come back. Location for de Bilt, Utrecht and Zeist is great. Breakfast is top end continental, after a long day of work & travel we arrived after 10pm but they were still able to serve us a good hot meal, not sure I'd get that in the UK. Free Internet is good in my room. Pool is small but worth using and, although the hotel is off a main road, you are very close to countryside. I had a very pleasant run after work today, seeing purple heron and deer. I would recommend the hotel, as another reviewer has said it is much better than the travelodge/premierinn brand in the UK but for the same price.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Openered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

UK budget hotel chains need to have a look at Van der Valk.

Excellent restaurant, front-desk staff, clean and modern throughout, great choice for breakfast, lovely swimming pool when the kids get the hell out of it and no-one seemed to mind when I reversed my van into one of their walls.

All this for 80€ per night.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: One side of the main complex borders a busy road. Make sure you ask for a room that doesn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADInglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Incredeble nice staff, the food was realy nice and spicy, it seems That All THE rooms where totaly new. The drinks, dessert beter than ever, and THE band was realy entertaining. We soon coming back and try everything over and over again?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDear1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was booked in by the organizers of a meeting nearby, for one night only. I immediately noticed the architecture, which was authentic and inviting. The atmosphere was very pleasant. The room I was booked in was quite spacious and very modern. The bathroom equipped with a shower and separate bath. The bed was very comfortable and I particularly like the large and supportive pillows. I slept well, something I often find difficult for the first night at a new hotel.

The breakfast was slightly above average, perhaps a little cramped where you get the food, but with plenty of options.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the main boulevard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We received a nice room (no.111) with a large bathroom and the breakfast was very good. All this for a fair price.

But... is a but here. The bed matresses were terrible, we felt like sleeping on a trampoline (very elastic and very high) and I woke up in the morning with back pains.

Concerning the "free Internet", well it was free, but with a signal so weak that it was impossible to use the Internet in the room and only in the morning when going to breakfast I was able to connect in the lobby with the Internet. To have Internet in your room - this is part of the comfort you want to have in a hotel and this hotel is not able to provide it.

Third complain,: when leaving we were asked to pay for two breakfasts! for each of us while we were in the hotel only one night! It took 10 minutes and the control of a supervisor to establish that we have not to pay the extra breakfasts we were asked at the beginning. :-(

My advice: if you are looking for a comfortable night - don't come here.

Room Tip: Avoid room no, 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theo1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Bilt
2.0 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
788 reviews
3.8 mi away
NH Utrecht
NH Utrecht
#5 of 22 in Utrecht
623 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Royal Parc Soestduinen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
1.7 mi away
Star Lodge Hotels
Star Lodge Hotels
#7 of 22 in Utrecht
258 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht

Property: Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
Address: De Holle Bilt 1, 3732 HM, De Bilt, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > De Bilt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Bilt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk de Bilt-Utrecht is a 4-star hotel nearby the beautiful forests Houdringse bossen. Benefit from free parking and an indoor swimming pool. The hotel rooms are well-appointed and have a private bathroom with a bath. An extensive breakfast buffet is available in the morning. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner daily. The centre of Utrecht can be reached within 15 minutes by car or public transport. Jaarbeurs Conference Centre is 20 minutes away by car. The motorway is 3 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht Utrecht Province, The Netherlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing