We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fascinating snapshot of what seems to be a very distant era”
Review of Huis Doorn

Huis Doorn
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Doorn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had planned to visit this unusual museum for a long time and were happy to finally make the trip in October 2012.

We'd traveled by car and had to ask about the location - there weren't many signs - but finally found the parking lot not far from the estate grounds.

We didn't take a tour but simply wandered through the rooms and heard interesting insights from the charming, friendly, and knowledgeable guides, available in each room to answer questions or simply provide anecdotal information in perfect German or English about the Emperor's last years. We were surprised at the simplicity of some of the furnishings and also at how stuffed some of the rooms were with paintings and bric-a-brac that we wouldn't choose for our home - but then tastes change.

Unfortunately all the shutters were closed making the rooms a bit gloomy - but the guides told us this was only part of renovation work. We didn't only have a lot to look at but also music to hear - we were lucky enough to experience a guide playing one of the old musical instruments displayed, a curious kind of player piano.

The museum's administrators evidently do their very best to keep the house exactly as it was when the emperor died here more than 70 years ago, giving visitors a unique at times a bit eerie look into a past that seems very distant indeed.

In the basement there's a very interesting exhibit, The Kaiser and Europe" about the last German emperor and his times, which we saved for last but could've spent an hour on alone if we'd had more time. Unfortunately we didn't have the chance to visit much of the garden area or the mausoleum.

We hope that the funding problems we've heard about again and again will be solved so that this unique house and furnishings can be kept open for the public. Part of the problem might be in the lack of publicity. At least TripAdvisor now has an entry for Huis Doorn - back in October last year there wasn't one.

2  Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 7 reviews
"kaiser wilhelm ii"
in 5 reviews
"first world war"
in 4 reviews
"personal belongings"
in 3 reviews
"a great experience"
in 2 reviews
"long time"
in 2 reviews
"winnie the pooh"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 2 reviews
"german"
in 16 reviews
"house"
in 20 reviews
"history"
in 9 reviews
"english"
in 7 reviews
"palace"
in 6 reviews
"mausoleum"
in 7 reviews
"exile"
in 7 reviews
"grounds"
in 4 reviews
"exhibition"
in 4 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 139 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

The house is decorated as the emperor left it. It even as an elevator, so even people in wheelchairs can visit the toplevels. It is a small palace, but fantastically decorated with paintings, lavish curtains and antiques.

1  Thank MissKuper1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We visited Huis Doorn because, if the Dutch government has its way, you won't be able to after May 2013. I had never visited the house before, but it had been on my list for a couple of years. I was not disappointed! Huis Doorn is a country house acquired by Wilhelm II, the last German emperor, after he had fled to the Netherlands during the First World War. He lived there from 1921 until his death in 1941. It was his express wish that the house be turned into a museum and everything has been conserved very well. The furniture came from his palaces in Germany. He was an ardent admirer of Frederick the Great and this is visible everywhere. Pictures, furniture, Meissen and KPN porcelain.
We took a guided tour; the guide (a young guy) was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic!

2  Thank Juliadrusilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2018
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huis Doorn also viewed

Amerongen, Utrecht Province
Doorn, Utrecht Province
 
Woudenberg, Utrecht Province
Zeist, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Huis Doorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing