We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houten
Certificate of Excellence
Rafz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very bad”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Well charmless but worth was the cleanness of the room (hairs on bed, cut nails in bath tube, lamp cable not plugged in etc). I travelled in small B&B in Asia much much cleaner... Also the room I have is called/aircoed even when airco is off.
Positive is included wifi and food I got was good.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    206
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
31
147
23
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

First day arriving in the Netherlands and i had the opportunity to stay in this very unique hotel.
A very busy hotel if i may add, but fortunately the service was fantastic. Staffs were smiling all the time, friendly and always willing to do more.
Room was spacious and had a nice view. The bathroom was also huge, with sufficient amenities.
Would definetly like to come back and stay here again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azmi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Hotel in the middle of nowhere, towering over all the other properties. Room was more like a suite at other hotels. Had a room on the 7th floor which was problematic. People travelling to lower floors or 15/16 etc okay, but the two lifts kept gliding past our floor whether up or down. Waited nearly 15 minutes one morning. Reason? Lifts were big enough for 5/6 people (no luggage) and that was it, crowded. Room facilities were very good, although on first day I found that there was no coffee just empty wrappers from the last occupant. As it was late, we ate in the restaurant on the first night, good quality food and service was good. Without a car then you would be very limited for restaurants. Breakfast was excellent.
Use for business or a stopover going somewhere but then it might be considered expensive.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors to get past lift problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldbloke_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for a business conference. Middle of nowhere location, the hotel towers over the surrounding area which is bland and uninspiring. It was almost as though the hotel had been dropped onto an alien landscape. Anyway the room was large and comfortable, especially the bathroom. Breakfast was good, plenty of voice etc but the other meals weren't impressive. Staff friendly but the absence of a gym in a hotel of this size which presents itself as an upmarket venue was odd. Wouldn't want to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Certainly one of the best hotels I’ve been in Europe.
The rooms are excellent; there is nothing negative to say about it.
The bathroom is large, with both a bubble tub and a shower.
The restaurant offers a nice selection of food, but sadly it looks better than it tastes.

Room Tip: highest floor possible, to get a view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leodium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

However officially a 4 star hotel, this could almost be called a 5 star hotel, and I would love to rate the hotel with 5 stars, as I had a very quiet night in a comfortable and spacy room, the staff is very friendly, the food at the restaurant (certainly the breakfast with great variety) and the atmosphere in the lounge bar is great, however one point puts me off to award this hotel with 5 stars and that's the general cleanliness.. I won't say that the hotel is 'not clean' and certainly not dirty, but I think it's the first time I saw so much dust (in the hotel room, but also elsewhere in the hotel), also at noon in a quiet restaurant the floor didn't look that clean. So not to blame the cleaning service at the rooms, as it more seemed to be a general attitude that the hotel management did accept. If this would have been changed the next time I would visit this hotel (as sure I would not hesitate to return or certainly advise it to others) I hope this will have been solved, then I'm sure I'll give it an excellent 5 star rating!
By bike (you can hire them) within 30 minutes from the city of Utrecht, and although close to a busy autoroute, you could hardly hear noise in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We enjoy eating here. The food ranges in price with a number of options: the three part set menu, the lunch menu--which is a good deal in the Netherlands--to the 'nostalgia' menu which includes a discount for retirees. The food has always been good. The service impeccable and friendly. In short, it's a good dining experience: consistent, friendly service moderately priced for European standards and good tasting. They also offer options such as 'live cooking', a grill evening, etc. We think it good value!

Room Tip: This is a 'business' hotel, with lots of business travellers as well as locals. The location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leembruggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houten
3.4 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen
5.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Utrecht
Van der Valk Hotel Utrecht
#14 of 22 in Utrecht
20 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nieuwegein-Utrecht
5.1 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
Address: Hoofdveste 25, 3992 DH Houten, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Houten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing