We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Hotel for a relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel for two nights, enjoying some time off in the centre of Holland.
The hotel is located in the middle of an commercial park, but don't let this put you off! Utrecht is a very busy city and it took us 45' just to cross it on a Saturday, so we were glad we stayed in Houten where you're emmidiately on the right roads for exploring the wonderfull countryside.
Because of its height and red colour, the hotel can be spotted from a distance and it's nice to have this reference point. it has 3 business floors and 16 hotelroomfloors. Our 10th floor had 12 rooms, so this makes the corridors quiet and short.

The lobby is really impressive and beautifull decorated! It's spacious and the colourscheme of black and purple gives it a luxiourious feeling. It makes the white furniture look very attractive.
We were welcomed by two very friendly ladies at the frontdesk and check-in was wery quick. They advised us to book a table at the restaurant because on weekends it can be fully booked. Be sure to do this also, because the restaurant was indeed very busy and it also attracts a lot of people from Houten and Utrecht and on both nights we were there it was sold-out, even though it is big. We didn't dine outside the hotel because of it's location.

The restaurant itself is big and busy, but the decor is beautifull! Same colours here with black and purple, and a touch of white. The golden "flowerball" chandeliers look amazing.
The ligting is superb which wmakes this big dining room look cosy. Also, the clever layout with sections, still gives you your own little private diningspot. It was somewhat noisy, the moment all of the tables were occupied, but we could still talk.
Our meals on both occasions, were excellent. The food was great and the prices are very interesting. The dishes also looked marvellous and they tasted the same.
Service in the restaurant however, can be better. They're almost all young girls who need to learn a lot more about waiting tables: they lack experience. I suppose a lot of the business travellers will be annoyed by this. So were we sometimes: how they poor in wine before having it tasted; our menucard was dirty, the table wasn't cleaned properly, they have no idea what a dish on the menu contains, etc...

We had a luxury room with spa bath, though we didn't use it. The room itself is big! The beds are big and comfy. The room is modernly decorated but also in dark tones which makes it look really sophisticated. Bathroom is big also! The ceilings are high and this gives the room a light feeling about it. The major asset is ofcourse the view! Being the only tall building in the area gives you an amazing view. Luckily the window is big enough for you to enjoy it to the maximum.
It has a big flatscreen tv with a lot of tv-stations. They also offer coffee- and teamaking facilities. The room is almost perfect: just the closetspace is very limited, also because of the businesslike clientele I suppose.

We had breakfast included in our deal. It would be a shame to not have it included, because it was great: warm and cold dishes, 8 different fruit juices, great coffee (they even offer coffee "to go"), nice choice of bread, eggs and omelets cooked a la minute. Having breakfast there is a real treat and should not be missed. So try to get it included in the roomprice, I believe it was rather expensive to book the day itself.

Overall I would definately recommend this great hotel if you're looking for a place to stay near Utrecht. Service in the restaurant (and thus also at breakfast) can and must be improved but that is my only negative remark. Everything else was just wonderful!

Room Tip: Because of the views, rooms on floors 5 untill 16 are the most interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 543 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here several times. Situated near Utrecht, with direct access to the mayor motorways. Sympathetic staff at the reception. It has a nice restaurant (though very big) with a good menu choice. The hotel is frequented by business people. From the top floors you'll find an impressive view. Rooms have enough space, a comfortable bed and a very good equipped bathroom (with jacuzzi), no tea or coffee making facilities. Rooms look clean and well taken care off. Nice car parking.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the top floors, lifts are very quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veranderaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We chose this hotel over downtown accommodation for what appeared on the English website to be indoors pool and large gym. In no place was it mentioned that those facilities are in fact not in the hotel but in a public swimming center some good kilometers away. On top of that - it's not even free.

The receptionists agreed with us the information was misleading but decided " they can't do anything for us".

The room was large and nicely designed. Breakfast was rather poor.
In general, it seems as if they decided to focus on design rather than service. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I was on a hastily arranged business trip to the area so didn't have high expecations. I'd caught the first flight out from Heathrow and spent the entire day in a meeting so by the time I arrived at the hotel I was ready to drop.

Check was easy, I then took the lift to the 11th floor and into my room. I was amazed by the size of the rooms, they could have easily arranged the hotels with smaller rooms and they would have still been big!!

The entire hotel had free wifi so was able to continue to work both in my room and also down in the restaurant.

I had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely, the portions were generous and serving staff friendly and attentive. The following morning went to the buffet breakfast which had pretty much everything you could want on offer including a chef making omlettes to order.

The bed was very comfortable and I had a perfect nights sleep which was much needed.

I can't think of a single fault for this hotel!

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picks80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nice location for leisure visit to the Utrechtse Heuvelrug. In general this property offers everything one expects from 4**** deluxe van der Valk Hotel: nice comfortable rooms, friendly service and reasonable pricing (if booked through the right channels).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LeoRaeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

A great hotel. Large rooms with a well equipped bathroom. It's easily accessible from the motorway. Free wifi, and a good breakfast. As with many european hotels, the double bed is in fact two single beds pushed together, but this doesn't bother me. The 5th star is because they laid out two complimentary bottles of water, which is a nice touch compared with other hotels that charge £3. Check-in was swift and the check-out queue in the morning moved swifty. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

First of all there are two hotels on Trip Advisor in Houten that are actualy the same. Hotel Van der Valk is the same as Hotel Houten.

We had one day meeting there and the experience was great. I had to come one day earlier as the place is not easily accessible from the airport (yes it is not far away from Amsterdam's airport, but do you know how long can take 50 kilometers in Netherland?), so I could enjoy having dinner in there. It was unbelievably good. The service during the meeting, cofeebreaks and lunch were also very good. Someone told me that it is difficult to find good chef in Netherlands, well, they found one there... I can recommend for business and conferencess. The only disadvantage is the location.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
Thank Frozdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houten
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Utrecht
5.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
3.4 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Theater Figi
Hotel Theater Figi
#2 of 6 in Zeist
299 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kasteel Kerckebosch
Kasteel Kerckebosch
#1 of 6 in Zeist
560 reviews
4.7 mi away
NH Utrecht
NH Utrecht
#6 of 22 in Utrecht
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht

Address: Hoofdveste 25, 3992 DH Houten, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Houten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houten
Price Range: $90 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing