We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Pleasant stay”” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Park, by Ron Blaauw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Park, by Ron Blaauw
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Voorburg
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
““Pleasant stay””
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel overnight as part of our trip to the Netherlands. We chose it for its location near to Rotterdam, Delft and The Hague. Despite being close to motorway routes, it is located in a quiet residential suburb. The reception staff member was friendly and efficient. We liked the large cat who lived on the luggage trolley in the porch (he had obviously enjoyed the dinners here!). We declined dinner because it was out of our price range; the same applied to breakfast, which we also thought was too expensive at 18.50 each.

The room was very pleasant and cheery with views over the local park (deer grazing, parakeets in the trees). It was nice and quiet. There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room which was a bit of a nuisance, especially as we weren’t planning to stay for breakfast. Our biggest disappointment was the fact that there was not a double bed, rather two singles pushed together with single duvets. We thought this was rather surprising for a luxury hotel. The bathroom was clean, but only had a shower.

We had a good stay but probably wouldn’t stay again because of the problem with the bed which did not represent good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollysfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    20
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
49
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in this small hotel and dined here for two nights while traveling in Holland. The room was very large and comfortable, with a plate of fresh fruit and cookies, a very large bathroom (which could have used some storage conveniences) and long windows looking out to a quiet semi-rural setting. The staff was wonderfully friendly and very accommodating. The highlight, however, is the dining room. We have visited many wonderful inns and Relais & Chateaux in Europe, and this one stands out. Henk Savelberg, the chef-owner, is not only a charming host, but an extraordinary chef. In our four meals there, two dinners and two breakfasts, there was nothing that was not excellent. The one dish that really impressed me was a menu offering of fried dried cod in a tomato sauce. Sounds very ordinary, doesn't it? Well, I have prepared and eaten a lot of "baccalà" and never did it come even close to this heavenly creation! Even fresh cod doesn't compare! It almost didn't matter what we ordered, everything was a wonderful sensory adventure.

Now, many months later, we enjoy fond memories of our two-day stay at the Savelberg as a highlight of our month-long trip through Holland, Belgium, Germany, and France.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artichoke6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

this restaurant, where you will find also a few comfortable hotel rooms, is quite suitable if you like high standard in a classical interior. although the kitchen and restaurant are outstanding, it was a bit tight up. a good time for a visit is in the summer, when one can have an aperitif on a marvellous terrace with and have a overview over a very old park. the 19th century building used to be manor of a dutch prime minister (groen van prinsterer).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank covanderhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Simply the best restaurant in the The Hague area:
Excellent food and wine. Perfect service from it's staff.
Stylish location. Beautiful garden.
A visit to this wonderful restaurant is highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MVB/JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Only a few miles from busy Den Haag, this place is there to make you calm, relaxed and happy. High ceilings, chandeliers, a beautiful park surrounding the hotel - and a michelin restaurant with interesting wines make you feel in a totally other world.
Beds are very nice - however they cover you in heat so you will definitely awake in sweat....

Room Tip: Room 11 is nice, the business rooms are a bit bigger, and 1 of the suites has a hamam-shower..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hedoniaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed here over the flower parade weekend. I must say this is the first time we have slept on a memory foam mattress and it was excellent I am convinced we must buy one.

The staff are very polite as were the many Dutch people we spoke to. The hotel was clean, the bathroom was superb, clean towels and anything else you used was changed daily.

The location is in between 2 parks and is in the leafy suburb of Den Haag, Voorburg. It is very quiet. On Saturday we awoke early for the flower parade that starts in Noordwijk and was surprised to find a market had been set up in the street although we heard nothing. We didn't stop to see what was being sold as we had to get to Noordwijk for the parade to avoid the crowd and get a good spot.

Was it worth the €150 per night? Had it come with breakfast I would have said yes but at an extra €18.50 per person per night then no. I begrudge paying £32.50 for a croissant some fruit, yoghurt and a piece of ham and cheese 2 stars there I'm afraid. Charging for breakfast, parking and internet seems to be the norm in Holland and adds cost to your trip however at the Savelberg 20mb Wi-Fi (I tested the speed) came free and so did the parking so it made it a bit easier on the wallet.

We could not afford to eat in the restaurant for breakfast or dinner for the reasons above. We found some very good local restaurants which served value for money food.

Would I recommend this hotel, of course I would it was one of the best night’s sleep I have ever had in any hotel. I am not well off by any means and normally would find a cheaper hotel but wanted to 'splash out' and I'm glad we chose the Savelberg. You could tell the clientele that the hotel restaurant attracted by the car park as it looked like the Geneva Motor Show on Saturday night.

I don't rhink anyone could be dissapointed staying here.

Room Tip: Mind the slope as you come out of the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughMungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
183 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Five months ago I visited Den Haag and Delft and stayed in Den Haag but was not particularly impressed. So, this time around, while visiting Keukenhof for their tulips, I decided to stay at this Relais and Chateaux property on the edge of a park just outside of Den Haag. The property has a country house feel to it, and the staff is extremely friendly. They have outside dining when the weather permits. My room is of an excellent size, although the bathroom comes with an odor (likely from poor plumbing or old pipes) that they had to use a heavy duty bathroom sanitizer/air freshener to cover up. I got a tour of the wine cellars (and they do have an impressive wine collection, particularly from the Bordeaux and Burgundy regions), and the food is definitely of michelin star quality. This is a great option for a short stay while visiting Den Haag or Delft or at the moment, Kuekenhof.

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Enjoys_Relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Voorburg
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg
3.0 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Den Haag
NH Den Haag
#9 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Leidschendam-Den Haag
2.6 mi away
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Hague Teleport Hotel
The Hague Teleport Hotel
#31 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Park, by Ron Blaauw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park, by Ron Blaauw

Property: Central Park, by Ron Blaauw
Address: Oosteinde 14, 2271 EH Voorburg, The Netherlands (Formerly Savelberg Restaurant-Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Voorburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Voorburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Park, by Ron Blaauw 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Central Park, by Ron Blaauw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing