We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore Jungfrau Region”
Review of Seehotel Bonigen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seehotel Bonigen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Boenigen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Very friendly family-run hotel with lovely views of Lake Brienz. Great staff - always helpful. Breakfast provides a good start to the day with choice of cereals, fresh fruit,. yoghurt cheese/ham etc. Freshly cooked boiled eggs as well. Evening meal is always four courses and the the menu is printed out in the morning so if you do require something different the staff are always willing to oblige. Usual choice of wine/beer/soft drinks plus a nominal charge for tap water.
Its location is ideal for exploring this region - close to both bus and boat pick-up points. A really useful addition is the card provided so that you can get free bus travel into Interlaken (runs every half an hour). The trains from Interlaken Ost run very regularly so trips to Jungfraujoch, Schilthorn, Wengen etc are very straight forward. So, all in all, if you are a solo traveller, this is a great place to get out and about easily. The Swiss really do encourage the use of public transport.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPGSuttonColdfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 132 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

On many of our previous trips we relied on tripadvisor's recommendations for hotel pick up and it was a bingo. We did the same this time while choosing the Seehotel La Terrase and stayed there for 5 consecutive nights. We liked Interlaken and the beautiful scenery all around. We had unforgetable daily trips to towns such as Gridenwald and Wengen or through the pass roads of Furka, Grimsel and Susten. In contrary we disliked the hotel. We stayed in a comfortable room with a balcony. The room is a large rennovated room, however, the decoration did not appeal to us as it imposes a pale and warmless atmosphere. Bathroom is tolerable. View from our room balcony were nice,however, if you really wish to have out of room supererb secenery you should prefereably stay in an hotel on the northern bank of lake Thun.
Our room were very clean. However, the hotel's lobby as well as the elevators did not smell the same.
Breakfast is good , very typical to 3 stars hotels in Germany but notthing special to spoil you.
With regard to dinner:
They have got one preset menu for each evening. No optionakl choise, even for the main course. If you miss commiting yourself in the morning for the evening menu, they charge you latter on for additional CIF 7 for person. They charge for about CIF 8 for a bottle of naturalwater, but the regular water are good enough , but you have to pay for them too. First time of my travellings, where I stayed over 1000 nights in hotels over the world that I was asked to pay for regular water. But the good news is that if you ask for an iced water, you pay the same as for non iced water. Unbeliveable , but ice is complementary.
We fill that the idea behind having no options in their preset menu is to drive you to go for their a la carte menu. I had for two nights their preset 4 course menu, which is reasonable if it suits yourvulinary style, but please keep in mind, they serve with the preset menu a very dull, tasteless bread, very untypical even to the very average restaurants in the US.
If you prefer to have their more expensive a la carte menues, then, in aseperate areas you may enjoy a good meal accompained by assorted breads that they do not serve to their preset menus customers. Even with regard to assorted breads, sometime they serve it automatticaly, but in other times only by request.

Finally, an advise with regard to a lakeview room selection. Try from the early beginning to reserve a room on the second or third floor and looking from the street to the hotel the lefties promises the full lakeside view.
On your checkin, please be aware of Sandara, upon our checkin, she tryed to sell us in first shot a room with a very partial restricted lake view . Only her third trial appealed to us.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omegaalfaTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Great hotel, very friendly staff and all very helpful staff good selection for breakfast and an interesting set evening meal with the offer of an alternative if it was not to your liking.

The room was clean and functional no problems with noise from other rooms and ok beds, the shower was a little small but at 6’4” I am a bit big : )

Good help from the staff for travelling around Switzerland printed off train and bus routes for us.

Good location on the lake with wonderful views and a central location for touring Switzerland.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mysnapz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I had passed through Interlocken to stay in Grindelwald several times in my past. The first time was 30 years ago on my bicycle with 18 fellow Americans. This time however, my wife and I chose to drive and stay in Bonigen, just outside Interlocken on the lake. The town has a quiet, community feel – not many people come visiting, and those that do mostly stop for just an hour or two for the view, which is enveloped in a real scenic and unique alpine landscape.
We checked into the Seehotel La Terrasse on the Swiss National Day. The very nice lady who checked us in, personally escorted us to our room. When the door opened, we were flabbergasted at the magnificent view, not just from our room (top floor) but from our private balcony. That evening, people started to shoot fireworks off from across, and all around Lake Brienz, (Brienzersee) to celebrate the holiday. For hours into the night, we enjoyed the displays from our balcony, gin and tonic in hand, it was comparable to an American 4th of July, grand finally. The Seehotel La Terrasse is great spot to stay, while enjoying the scenery of the green jeweled Grindelwald valley 20 minutes away, and to avoid the summer crush of people, and free parking.
That next morning and each morning, we rose for breakfast to our regular table for all kinds of delicious delicacies, including eggs from free range chickens, you can tell the difference. A variety of local meets and cheeses, warm rolls coffee and a rarity, cappuccino was included with our room. They also serve dinner on a lake side patio. The effort to present a pleasing and pleasure to our sense of taste was apparent, and a delightful surprise.
The friendly people at the front desk have all the information about the area and can direct you. I will stay here again. As a matter of fact, it’s on the top of my list when I return to the Bonegen and the Seehotel La Terrasse, in the heart of the Bernese Oberland.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larrypatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Stayed at hotel for a week. Good points: excellent food and polite staff. Bad news - oh yawn!! deadly boring!! Nothing to do after supper. Bonigen is very quite and lifeless. Nothing happens there! Isolated from Interlaken and bus service could be more frequent especially at night. Went with Thomsons and was given a back room with a poor excuse of a balcony that had no privacy. Go elswhere if you lile a little evening hustle & bustle. Or stay at this hotel if you are an early bird and want to get bored! I'm nearer to 60years than fifty!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at this hotel and think it is a great place to stay. The hotel overlooked the lake and was an ideal location for a peaceful evening. We were a party of 4 and we occupied a double and 2 single rooms. All the rooms were standard rooms and we were very satisfied with them.
The double room overlooked the lake and was a reasonable size although the bathroom was rather small but we managed ok. The single rooms were quite generous for single rooms and had a better bathroom than we did in the double but one overlooked the lake and the other was at the back of the hotel but again was fine.
The rooms were cleaned every day and were well decorated, with hairdryer and free safe to use.
The meals were great,at breakfast there was plenty to eat, a good assortment of everthing and plenty of it. We stayed half board which was very good value compared with eating out. It was a 4 course meal but there was no choice but the menu was given to you on the morning and if there was anything you disliked they were quite happy to offer you something else. We enjoyed all the meals. The food was excellent. Interlaken was only a 10 min. bus ride and the hotel gave us a pass which gave us free travel to Interlaken for the duration of our stay. Buses were every 1/2 hour and on time every day. The whole Swiss transport system works like clockwork.
All the staff particularly in the restaurant were very pleasant and helpful Every day one of the management staff always called at you table to see if everything was ok. If you needed any assistance with travel or destinations the reception again was very helpful
If you want a quiet location away from thr hustle and bustle of Interlaken you could not have a better choice than this hotel. If we are back in switzerland we would have no hesitation but to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ringride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

This hotel was great. My wife and i wanted to spend one more weekend in Switzerland before our return to the U.S. and we looked for some good deals.
The price was great, the staff was outstanding, the food and locations were great!
we had and amazing time.
We would certainly stay here again if i ever get to come back. It was great.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DandGHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boenigen
2.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
722 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seiler au Lac
Hotel Seiler au Lac
#1 of 5 in Boenigen
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,248 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
389 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Bonigen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Bonigen

Address: Seestrasse 22, Boenigen, Interlaken 3806, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Boenigen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Boenigen
Price Range: $152 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seehotel Bonigen 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seehotel Bönigen is a family run hotel diectly on Lake Brienz very close to Interleken in the beautiful Bernese Oberland.Renowned for its natural beauty and the exceptional range of leisure activities, the Seehotel is the ideal location for quiet hours, culinary delights and trips to the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seehotel Bonigen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel La Terrasse Hotel Boenigen
Seehotel Bonigen Switzerland/Boenigen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing