We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Interlaken”
Review of Seehotel Bonigen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seehotel Bonigen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Boenigen
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love Interlaken”
Reviewed December 12, 2008

This hotel was great. My wife and i wanted to spend one more weekend in Switzerland before our return to the U.S. and we looked for some good deals.
The price was great, the staff was outstanding, the food and locations were great!
we had and amazing time.
We would certainly stay here again if i ever get to come back. It was great.

  • Liked — The service was outstanding, they went above helpful
  • Disliked — walls were a little thin
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DandGHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    27
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
54
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

What a Wonderful Hotel! We stayed here on our Honeymoon. We took the train into Interlaken and from there got the bus into Bonigen, only about 5-10 min ride, from the train station.

We loved Interlaken from the moment we arrived. I love the hotel as well. The room was really big! We booked a Superior room, which I recommend. We overlooked the Lake...so beautiful! We had a balcony and an amazing view! I couldn't say enough good things about this hotel.

We loved Interlaken and loved the town of Bonigen. It was such a nice little town, there were a few little restaurants and shops. We did the walking tour of the historical chalets....it was a great way to spend a morning. I loved waking up there everyday and was disappointed when our stay was over.

The hospitality was wonderful. They were helpful whenever we had questions and provided a very welcoming atomsphere.

The breakfast was really good: breads, cereals, eggs, cheese...oh the cheese! Meats and fruit. We ate in the restaurant one evening, food was really good but expensive.

I would definietly recommend this hotel to everyone. It was a wonderful experience and I'm already planning my next trip!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Location: a+ +
Bonigen is a small village with a population of approximately 3,000 and situated 10 mins bus ride away from Interlaken. A free bus pass for Interlaken area is provided on check-in. The hotel has a prime position overlooking Lake Brienz with spectacular mountain ranges beyond. During the day paddle steamers and other passenger boats glide gracefully across the lake. As night falls the lights from villages across the lake shimmer across the peaceful waters. There is a large sun terrace, where you can enjoy a cool drink at any time during the day or evening.

Accommodation A++
Rooms are bright and airy. Television in each room with English channels. Beds and bedding very comfortable and bedding changed mid week. Bathrooms have soap and towels provided and the towels are changed daily. A hairdryer is supplied to each room, but there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. All rooms have a balcony with chairs and table on each balcony. The rooms are non smoking, but an ashtray is provided on the balcony table.

Staff A++

Staff and management are friendly and approachable. Many thanks to Chef for his recipe for Spatzli and a special thanks to Frau Hohermuth
for giving me the cooking method. I've made my first batch and David is very impressed. No person is just a guest. Everyone is welcomed and made to feel part of the Hottermuth extended family

Meals A++

Breakfast is buffet style. Always on the menu are as follows:
Selection of Cold meats
Selection of Cheese
Boiled eggs - not too hard and not too soft
Selection of cereals
Selection of Yoghurts
Selection of Jams
Selection of fresh fruit i.e. grapes and various types of melon
Selection of fresh fruit juices
Freshly baked rolls and bread
Choice of tea types and freshly brewed coffee

The above is constantly replenished ensuring that everyone has a full choice. Breakfast is served from 7.30am and is available until 10am

Evening Meal

Set 4 course meal. Always innovative, but if a guest has special dietry needs or does not like what's on the menu the hotel will go the extra mile and will provide alternatives. Just state your wishes and they will accommodate your choice. Evening meals are served between 6.30pm - 9.30pm


Facilities A++

This hotel is child friendly with an entertainment room for children (complete with XBox). There is also a play area for children. There are two restaurant areas. One for half board guests and another for a la carte. There is also another area available for conference/special occasion bookings. During the week I was staying at the hotel I enjoyed a Jazz evening and guests are always made aware of village events i.e. traditional music evenings. There is also what I would refer to as a 'snug room' where you can order after dinner drinks or coffee. It's a nice room with a Swiss/Bavarian feel.

General Impression A++

This is a 3 star hotel,but deserves a 5 star rating for customer service. A swimming pool is not important as the lake is just 15ft away from the hotel. Why go for a pool with chemicals when a lake so close to hand. This hotel would appeal to all ages. If you want to experience a more lively experience Interlaken is just a short bus ride away, and the hotel will issue you with a house key for late night entry. Always a sign of a good hotel is whether the locals frequent it. The answer is yes. This hotel is the preferred choice for locals for special locations. This is my partners 8th year of returning to the hotel and the standard of accommodation and customer service has remained consistent. This is my second year of returning to the hotel, but it's been so good I've made the re-visit 3 times in 12 months! If you are planning on making a booking for the first time there's no turning back. Like me you will be returning!

  • Liked — Like being at home, but with a different view
  • Disliked — There is nothing to fault this hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank holidayholic75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We travelled to this hotel after travelling to Zurich to see friends, we chose this hotel after seeing it in the Swiss Hotels for families brochure and we were not dissappointed. We had hoped to stay here for a week but it was fully booked the weekend in Aug that we needed so we had to settle for four nights and then we moved onto another hotel for the last three nights. We chose to upgrade to a seaview front room and we were not dissappointed we had a third bed put in the room for my young son and it was fine. The rooms are spotlessly clean and they all have their own mini safe in the room. My husband being English would have liked tea making facilities in the room but if fairness we didn't find this facility in any of the four hotels that we stayed in on our visit. We were given the free local bus pass on arrival and it was great it saved a fortune so ask for it if you don't recieve it. There are hundreds of leaflets on the other attractions in the area and the helpful owners are happy to give advice on any trips etc. We found the owner family to be the most helpful ever. We didn't take the half board option but many of the other guests told us that the food was superb we did eat in the restaurant and found the food to be super my only small criticism would have to be no vegetarian food but the hotel made me veggie spaghetti and another pasta meal and I realize that there are not so many vegetarians in Switzerland.There is colouring pads and pencils for the children and my son loved the kids meals.There is a kids indoor playroom with lots of games and a xbox 360 with lots of games. Some of the other family hotels had a far better outside playareas but maybe the hotel could improve on this maybe a giant trampoline, slide or seesaw!This hotel is in a nice quiet area but only 5 mins from Interlaken where you can easily travel all over Switzerland.The owners also organised a free boat trip on the lake and drinks for free one evening which was a very nice option.I would definately recommend this hotel for families with children so book early if you want a place!

  • Liked — Beautiful view, quiet location, friendly hosts.
  • Disliked — Being picky better outside playarea for the kids
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeybridgeScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthFamily5
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We were a family of five staying for a couple of nights in this beautiful area of Switzerland and chose this hotel for its ability to accommodate our family in one suite. Our accommodation consisited of two rooms, one with three single beds and the other with a queen size bed. The bathroom was small but adequate, with a bath and shower. We really enjoyed our stay here, finding the staff really friendly and helpful. We loved the alfresco dining/bar area which had the most magnificent views over the lake. The kids had a great time playing table tennis and even went for a swim in the lake in front of the hotel. This Hotel was also well situated for a day up the Jungfrau, with bus and train connections nearby. This was a great place to stay in this price range and we would happily recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

  • Liked — Location. Wow! it was beautiful!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family5Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Stayed here for two nights for a summer school, so I did not have to pay for anything.

Very easy access to hotel from Interlaken. Just saw another review said you can take the bus for free if you are a guest, they did not tell me this at check-in, so I guess I would ask about it.

The rooms were pretty big and beds comfy and clean. There are no hair dryers in the room, but they say you can ask for one at the front desk.

The food in the restaurant was really good. This was the highlight of the summer school.

Only downside is there is no wireless internet. That would have been better, though I guess most people come as tourists and wouldn't necessarily need it.

View of the lake and mountains was great.

It isn't a luxury hotel, but if you are in Interlaken, need a place to stay, want to hike and swim/boat on the lake, and want to be a bit secluded, then it is probably a good choice.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — not so fancy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ricerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onepacket
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2008

London, United Kingdom

We stayed at this hotel for one week in July 2008. We were the only black family during our stay at this hotel. We had a lovely time. The rooms were clean and functional. The food was really good. Our two boys absolutely loved it. They also liked the games room which was equiped with an XBox. Because we were black we never felt out of place and uncomfortable. The hotel management and staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel and we will consider coming back .

  • Liked — Great view of Lake Brienz. Transportation was very good
  • Disliked — No tea services in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onepacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boenigen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seiler au Lac
Hotel Seiler au Lac
#1 of 5 in Boenigen
138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
56 reviews
3.5 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
675 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Bonigen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Bonigen

Property: Seehotel Bonigen
Address: Seestrasse 22, Boenigen, Interlaken 3806, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Boenigen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Boenigen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seehotel Bonigen 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seehotel Bönigen is a family run hotel diectly on Lake Brienz very close to Interleken in the beautiful Bernese Oberland.Renowned for its natural beauty and the exceptional range of leisure activities, the Seehotel is the ideal location for quiet hours, culinary delights and trips to the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seehotel Bonigen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel La Terrasse Hotel Boenigen
Seehotel Bonigen Switzerland/Boenigen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing