We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lukewarm”
Review of Seehotel Bonigen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seehotel Bonigen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Boenigen
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lukewarm”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location but outdated bathroom and poor service. Our 3 night stay was part of a Free dreams package where we pay a set amount for breakfast and dinner. As a waitress told us, the hotel decided at the beginning of 2013 to change the conditions listed in the 2013 catalog of Free Dreams regarding dinner - from selection à la carte it was now a set 4 course menu. This became a real problem because my daughter is allergic to dairy products and we don't eat red meat. We asked the dining room supervisor to honor the hotel agreement with Freedreams and allow us to order à la carte. This led to an hour waiting while the staff was going to the kitchen and to our table back and forth to finally agree we could order from the menu (in German only while we do not understand German and the staff in her limited English, very impatiently and curtly told us vaguely what was on the menu here and there.

Overall, eating meals there was stressful and very unpleasant. At times they really impressed us by going out of their way to accommodate us, (the cook was excellent and very able to satisfy our food restrictions) but most of the time it was very uncomfortable at meal time.
Then when we left we found out we were charged for tap water taken at dinner time because we didn't order wine or drinks. We really felt they treated us like second-class customers.

In the room there was no coffee/tea pot, no air dryer, only one small bar of soap and no soap in the shower soap dispenser during the 3 days we were there.
This was my first experience using my Freedreams card. Am I impressed? No! I would rate our stay between poor and average.

Room Tip: A room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian B, General Manager at Seehotel Bonigen, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to do so.
We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. With the Freedreams programme you stay for free in a Standard room (111 is the only one with lake view and usually very much appreciated by our guests). As stated in the 2013 Freedreams catalogue we offer our guests a 4 course dinner and welcome them to make changes to the menu. Usually our guests inform us well in advance if they have special dietary needs, to give us the chance to arrange specific food.
We apologise that our English menu was not ready during your visit, we normally provide it in three languages. Regarding the language knowledge of our staff I have to state that they are only trying their best. There is almost always a fluent and/or native English speaking person on duty. I can only assume they tried to sort it out themselves:)
We do not provide a kettle in the room, but it states in our guest Information that you can request one at any time. The hair dryer however is provided, in 111 it is in the desk as the bathroom is rather small.
Overall we would like to let you know that we have taken note of your feedback and will make sure that we improve. Thank you again for staying with us.
Damian and Sandra Budd with team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    27
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
53
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Book this hotel!!

The lakeview rooms have an absolutely stunning view of lake Brienz and the mountains. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, warm, inviting and absolutely spotless. The staff are all multilingual, friendly, courteous and will absolutely bend over backwards to accommodate your needs. The food was outstanding, we were told "you don't go to Switzerland for the food", they were wrong. The half board menu was absolutely first class every single night, delicious, filling and all presented wonderfully in their fantastic dining area which boasts views of the lake and mountains. We didn't intend to eat at the hotel at all, preferring to get out and experience the local places, we ended up eating there 6 nights out of 7. The bus stop to Interlaken and its train stations are in sight allowing easy exploration of this beautiful region with its brilliant bus and train services running every half hour to the minute.

I'd never been to Switzerland before but I will be going back and this is where I'll stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian B, General Manager at Seehotel Bonigen, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy that you have enjoyed yourselves so much. We very much hope to be able to welcome you to the Seehotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived late from France and the staff put themselves out to accommodate our wishes. Beautiful rooms with views and a balcony onto the stunning lake and mountains. But the big surprise was for us the restaurant which was nothing less than 5 stars. Absolutely wonderful food.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrispinJGPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A young family of four and what a fab time we had. The hotel has the most amazing views of the lake and mountains, rooms are welcoming and spotless with plenty of space for the children. We took our own car and went skiing every day, within 40 mins of leaving the hotel with easy parking and a quick train ride you can be at Mannlichen, Wengen, Beatenberg with both great ski schools and a huge variety of slopes. We especially like the set up at Wengen and this is our 4th ski season here. The staff are very friendly and always happy to help especially with the local knowledge and how best to get about. The bus and train services are also excellent (unlike England) and make getting about very easy. Would highly recommend and will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms really do have the most beautiful view and make you relax instantly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiSquier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

.First, a breathtaking view over Brienz lake. What a great way to start your day. This is a hotel run by a family and the spirit of connectivity between them is contagious :). The staff are very efficient, bilingual, knowledgeable, helpful and friendly they are ready to go beyond and above. Rooms were spotless. The view of the room was absolutely gorgeous. We booked half board the breakfast was yumy a collection of cereals, eggs, breads, meat. As for dinner it was Delicious a 5 star taste and presentation. The hotel is located in a quite area, yet your just 2.5 kilo away from Interlaken. All what i can say that i slept like a vby in that hotel. on top of all that , they have two rooms for kids pleasure. The rooms were full of board games , crayons, drawing papers and stories. Although, the area is absolutely hush hush after 9 PM but is the best way to end your busy day in beautiful Interlaken. I did recommend this hotel for all my family friends and I’m looking forward to go back there again. Bottom line it’s top notch!

Room Tip: We were family of 5 we got the interconnected room 110 & 111 lake view which absolutly served th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yousof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Two old fuddies plus children and grandchild had fabulous ten days at this beautiful hotel. Rooms were spotless, staff incredibly friendly and food as good as it gets. Perfect location away from the bustle of Interlaken but with easy access to all facilities. Lake view rooms with balcony are a must. Will go back soon.

Room Tip: First floor lake view rooms with balcony are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a lovely hotel! The view from our balcony was incredible! The room was so clean and comfortable. No air-conditioning, but cool breezes at night. The food was excellent. They even pack you a lunch for early departures! You will want to walk around the lake and take in the lovely views. Don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTiger296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boenigen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seiler au Lac
Hotel Seiler au Lac
#1 of 5 in Boenigen
137 reviews
2.4 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
56 reviews
3.5 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,232 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
673 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Bonigen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Bonigen

Property: Seehotel Bonigen
Address: Seestrasse 22, Boenigen, Interlaken 3806, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Boenigen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Boenigen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seehotel Bonigen 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seehotel Bönigen is a family run hotel diectly on Lake Brienz very close to Interleken in the beautiful Bernese Oberland.Renowned for its natural beauty and the exceptional range of leisure activities, the Seehotel is the ideal location for quiet hours, culinary delights and trips to the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seehotel Bonigen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel La Terrasse Hotel Boenigen
Seehotel Bonigen Switzerland/Boenigen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing