We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Seiler au Lac”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Seiler au Lac
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Boenigen
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Seiler au Lac”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Recently had a very pleasant overnight stay at the Hotel Seiler au Lac and I can happily say that they live up to the promises on their website of being very friendly & welcoming. It is a lovely family run hotel & I can see how you could easily spend a few days to a week there (as many people repeatedly do) as it is very relaxing. We had a lovely room with a balcony & view over the lake. We ate at their La Boheme restaurant as it was the one night of the week that their main restaurant was closed but nevertheless had a very enjoyable casual meal. Would like to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    30
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days with a group of about 30 touring Switzerland by train. Superb hotel. Rooms are comfortable. Service friendly and responsive. Food service varied and excellent. Beautiful restful location on Lake Brienz. Its quiet location outside Interlaken is away from the town's hustle and bustle, but bus and train service are so good that we were not at all limited in our travels throughout the country.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We have been guests at this wonderful hotel for over twenty years. Although we have stayed at many other hotels during this period, we always consider this establishment to be our home from home. Its ambiance is something very special in this age of chain hotels with their efficiency but perhaps rather impersonal attitude towards guests . This has both; efficiency with a heartfelt pleasure of making your stay memorable as a valued guest.

Firstly, it has probably one of the best views in the Bernese Oberland from a hotel room, overlooking the beautiful Lake Brienz with the towering mountains framing the view down the azure lake.

Secondly, it is an excellent location to explore this beautiful alpine region with free bus travel to nearby Interlaken with its transport connections to the mountains, lakes and cities.

Thirdly, this family run hotel is perfect if you wish a quite and peaceful holiday. It is spotlessly clean, the chef prepared food is excellent in the dining room with an Al a Carte Restaurant and a Pizzeria/Stubli as alternatives.

An indication of a hotel's success is the number of 'returning guests' and on this score, this hotel scores very highly as we always seem to be meeting guests from previous visits.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel. Great view of the lake, large rooms, very kind people. Certainly no other place like it in Interlaken. We had dinner at the Pizzeria of the hotel, very good cheese fondue, but very expensive. Very poor price/quality ratio at this restaurant.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picassospain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Seiler au Lac for 2 nights over the Swiss Day holiday - July 31st, leaving August 2nd, 2011. The owner did warn us that our first night might be a bit noisy with the celebration, but it was a delightful cultural experience and did not interfere with our eventual need for sleep! With an outstanding view of the lake from our balcony, we were able to experience an hour and a half of fireworks as towns and villages along each side put on their holiday events. Due to the rising Swiss franc, we decided to eat our breakfast and dinners here and were very pleased with the quality and value of our three course meals. They were enjoyable and a similar meal in town would have been far more expensive. Service was friendly and there was an attention to detail with which this family prides itself. In fact, the owners gave us very helpful tips with respect to navigating the trains to Jungfraujoch and seeing other sites. This hotel is frequented by return travelers and it is easy to understand why.

Room Tip: Most rooms appear to have great view of the lake. Check to be sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Ate here 2 nights whilst staying in Bonigen and cannot fault it.

the food was of a high standard, if a little pricey. The service how ever was top draw.

The only real thing letting its restaurant down is the lack of any real dessert menu. Everything is either ice creams or sorbets - and brought in at that. Unfortunately it lets down an otherwise superb menu

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guitarlegend2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Having stayed in this hotel 20 years ago on honeymoon, and having always talked about returning, we decided to go back for our 20th wedding anniversary. I was slightly worried that maybe it just wouldnt be as lovely as I had remembered and having stayed in much grander hotels over the years I didnt want my memory of seiler au lac to be spoiled. Thankfully that was not the case! The hotel is located at the top of a beautiful lake with mountains on either side. The view from our balcony was just wonderful and nothing seemed to have changed in 20 years. It is in a very peaceful location and at times the only sound was the tinkling of the bells from the goats in a nearby field! The owners of the hotel, Mr and Mrs Zing-Dinkell, were still as attentive as before. They run the hotel themselves along with their son and a small number of other staff who were always very courteous and friendly. Everything was always done to a very high standard. We always looked forward to the evening meal as the food was excellent and even how it was served made it more of an experience! We could drive into the mountains within 15 mins and there were so many lovely walks to do. There is a lovely walk from the the hotel into Interlaken along the edge of the lake which takes about 30 mins. If you want a peaceful and beautiful location, this is the place to go. We will definitely return within the next year or two.

Room Tip: Definitely request a lake view room as this is not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppymcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boenigen
2.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
661 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,218 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
366 reviews
3.3 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
147 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seiler au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seiler au Lac

Property: Hotel Seiler au Lac
Address: Am Quai 3, Boenigen, Interlaken 3806, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Boenigen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Boenigen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seiler au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Hotel situated directly on Lake Brienz, 3 miles from Interlaken Ost train station. Postal bus station in front of the Hotel. With visitors card every half hour free of charge with bus No. 103 to Interlaken and surroundings. Boat landing in front of the Hotel. Excellent kitchen. Ideal for vacation in the heart of the Bernese Oberland. You reach all destinations and hikes easily. 8 km flat walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Seiler au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seiler Au Lac Switzerland/Boenigen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing