We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sounds of water through the night”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holloways Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Billabong Bed & Breakfast
NSW
1 review
“Sounds of water through the night”
Reviewed August 6, 2008

I found Billabong B & B at Holloways Beach which is just north of Cairns, on a local web-site and was immediately put in contact with Vicky and Ted, the proprietors, who then conducted all the correspondence with me via email.Vicky's friendly and welcoming manner came through immediately and I soon felt as if I'd be visiting an old friend.
I was looking for a quiet spot within easy reach of Cairns, to spend a few nights at the end of a 4wheel drive coach/camping trip from Darwin to Cairns. I didn't want to stay in Cairns in a modern hotel but was looking for somewhere small, with character, some space around it and interesting features. It was important to me to have some pleasant, outdoor access where I could sit and read/write if I felt like it after being on the road for nearly 2 weeks with other people. The photographs and web-site information were most attractive and I felt confident I'd found what I was looking for. I was right!
Picture a tropical hideaway on an island surrounded by greenery, water, water birds, water creatures and water sounds which lap through your sleep - a temperature in winter so pleasant, that you only need a sheet and the screen door between you and the night sounds. Your studio style room is comfortable and attractive, you can revel in your en-suite (after camping grounds!) and then you can step outside and spread yourself over your own spacious and private deck overlooking the billabong.
Each morning, at a time of your convenience, you start the day by visiting the main deck of your hosts (there are only two suites) where an delicious breakfast is served by Vicky, starting with a variety of tropical fruit (they grow most themselves), followed by a sumptuous spread of healthy and attractive foods.
Vicky had offered to pick me up when I was dropped off nearby from the coach, and she started by giving me a quick local tour to help familiarise me with transport, restaurants etc as I was not planning on hiring a car. This was really helpful and she and Ted continued to be the most pleasant of hosts and considerate of my needs as a single traveller.
I had a wonderful couple of days - plenty of walking (10 mins to Holloway's Beach & shops), lots of reading/writing/relaxing/duck watching on the deck by the billabong and a half day in Cairns by public transport (bus stop round the corner). If I'd been staying longer, I'd have felt the need for a car to make other trips but I wasn't looking for that and left to return home, feeling like a million dollars! Highly recommended but look at the photos - too hard to describe how very attractive this destination is, simply with words.
Thank you again, Vicky and Ted

  • Liked — see review
  • Disliked — see review
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NswJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
53
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
MN
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Very unique setting. Our stay was wonderful. Great room and great breakfasts. Vicky and Ted were wonderful hosts. They were very helpful with booking side trips around the area, as well.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank paulj1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2008

This was our second visit to Australia and the only place we went back to the second time was Cairns. Last time we stayed in Pt Douglas for 5 nights and only stayed at Billabong B&B for one night on our way back to the airport. We were so disappointed to have only stayed one night last time that we knew if we came back to Australia we would come to Cairns and stay at Billabong. We loved Cairns and the surroundings, we were so central to all of the tourist spots at Billabong yet every night when we came home it was like being in our own little peice of Paradise. We felt like we were miles from anywhere on our own little secluded Island, it truly is bliss here.

Vicki and Ted were most attentive to our every need - one night we thought we would like to stay in and just sit on the deck over the Billabong and Ted suggested we could have the BBQ which he bought over for us and set it all up with plates, cutlery etc and Vicki kindly made us a great salad. We enjoyed this very much. Vicki was very knowledgable about the area and would help with suggestions on the right tour for us and then would set up a detailed map description on where to go for the day when we headed to the Atherton Tablelands, which is a beautiful area and very underrated I thought. We had an excellent day up there. Our breakfasts with Vicki were the best on our trip and we remember why we were sorry to have stayed only one night the first time around. We really got to know Vicki and Ted well this time and they truly are excellent hosts and could not do enough for us. The two family dogs were very friendly especially Chilli when it came to dinner time, very friendly dogs and Roxy entertained us with her decapitating of the coconuts which abound the beautiful property. The property is a lovely little oasis and we loved our second trip to Australia as much as the first and loved coming to Cairns again and staying at Billabong.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bammer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Service - 5 Star
Charm - Exudes charm from the moment you arrive until you leave
Character -Inspired by the travels of the owners from Africa, Asia & Mexico
Location - Walk to the beach, shops & restaurants & 10 minutes to Cairns & Skyrail
Setting - Absolutely stunning
Memories - Forever

Extremely impressed & highly recommended
Highlights of our trip
Sights - The Great Barrier Reef
Scenery - Queensland & The Rainforest
Accommodation - The Billabong B&B

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2008

Had a fabulous 2 nights stay here during our honeymoon. Vicky and Ted wonderful hosts and Vicky saved us a lot of money by booking our trips to the Kuranda rainforest and the Barrier Reef. It was absolutely gorgeous and the food was wonderful. Vicky even put flowers on our plates. The soap in was placed on beautiful leaves. Really lovely. And Vicky ran us down to the resteraunt and back. Highly recommended and good value.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank melandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2007

One of the best places we have stayed at, the setting is incredible & totally unique, I have never seen a place like this. The lagoon surrounds the house & you are on this little Island watching all of the different birdlife on the water & in the huge beautiful paper trees that surround the lagoon. It is amazing.

The hosts Vicki & Ted were welcoming, friendly & most helpful of all the local activities & eating houses around. We could walk to the lovely beach & the restaurants were on the water too with beautiful settings & great food. The breakfasts were magnificent every morning always starting with home grown fruits "Delicious"

We could not have asked for more & were happy we made the choice to stay here. We would recommend this B&B without hesitation & loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jayplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, PA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

The Billabong is a lovely small B&B with only two rooms, each overlooking the Billabong, a small lake. It is lovely and peaceful, with many kinds of birds to watch and listen to. The rooms are comfortable and thoughtfully furnished with small patios overlooking with tables, chairs and candles.

You can walk to the small town of Hollaways Beach where there are a pizza place, liquor store, laundramat, and several restaurants plus a small beach.

Breakfast was wonderful with a wide variety of fresh tropical fruit, yoghurt, cereal, bread, and a cooked breakfast.

Vicky and Ted couldn't have been nicer. They gave us lots of good advise on sightseeing, made bookings for us, and gave us a lift into town and to the airport when they were going in that direction.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Wonderful setting
  • Disliked — Noise from nearby airport
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holloways Beach
4.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#33 of 64 in Cairns
477 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
319 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#18 of 64 in Cairns
337 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Bed & Breakfast

Property: Billabong Bed & Breakfast
Address: 30 Caribbean St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set On An Island surrounded by a Natural Billabong stocked with fish & abundant birdlife. A nature and birdlovers paradise, only 10 minutes to downtown Cairns, 7 minutes to airport, on doorstep to Great Barrier Reef & 10 minute walk to beach & alfresco restaurants. Both rooms are tastefully decorated & have quality queen size beds, ensuite, air conditioning, separate entrance & private deck. Full Gourmet Breakfast served on the main deck Tour companies pick up from the door & bus stop 2 minute walk. The 2 bedroom self contained Villa is equipped with with a fully functional kitchen and laundry and tastefully decorated with private deck overlooking the Billabong and Gardens. (no breakfast supplied)and wheelchair friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Billabong Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing