We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Billabong B&B has it all”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holloways Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Billabong Bed & Breakfast
New South Wales
1 review
“Billabong B&B has it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

Service - 5 Star
Charm - Exudes charm from the moment you arrive until you leave
Character -Inspired by the travels of the owners from Africa, Asia & Mexico
Location - Walk to the beach, shops & restaurants & 10 minutes to Cairns & Skyrail
Setting - Absolutely stunning
Memories - Forever

Extremely impressed & highly recommended
Highlights of our trip
Sights - The Great Barrier Reef
Scenery - Queensland & The Rainforest
Accommodation - The Billabong B&B

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
manchester england
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

Had a fabulous 2 nights stay here during our honeymoon. Vicky and Ted wonderful hosts and Vicky saved us a lot of money by booking our trips to the Kuranda rainforest and the Barrier Reef. It was absolutely gorgeous and the food was wonderful. Vicky even put flowers on our plates. The soap in was placed on beautiful leaves. Really lovely. And Vicky ran us down to the resteraunt and back. Highly recommended and good value.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank melandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2007

One of the best places we have stayed at, the setting is incredible & totally unique, I have never seen a place like this. The lagoon surrounds the house & you are on this little Island watching all of the different birdlife on the water & in the huge beautiful paper trees that surround the lagoon. It is amazing.

The hosts Vicki & Ted were welcoming, friendly & most helpful of all the local activities & eating houses around. We could walk to the lovely beach & the restaurants were on the water too with beautiful settings & great food. The breakfasts were magnificent every morning always starting with home grown fruits "Delicious"

We could not have asked for more & were happy we made the choice to stay here. We would recommend this B&B without hesitation & loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jayplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

The Billabong is a lovely small B&B with only two rooms, each overlooking the Billabong, a small lake. It is lovely and peaceful, with many kinds of birds to watch and listen to. The rooms are comfortable and thoughtfully furnished with small patios overlooking with tables, chairs and candles.

You can walk to the small town of Hollaways Beach where there are a pizza place, liquor store, laundramat, and several restaurants plus a small beach.

Breakfast was wonderful with a wide variety of fresh tropical fruit, yoghurt, cereal, bread, and a cooked breakfast.

Vicky and Ted couldn't have been nicer. They gave us lots of good advise on sightseeing, made bookings for us, and gave us a lift into town and to the airport when they were going in that direction.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Wonderful setting
  • Disliked — Noise from nearby airport
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2007

First rate B&B complemented by professional, informative & friendly owners. Supurb location and beautiful landscaping. Both rooms face the lake and it is a peaceful, relaxing oasis.

Central to all of the sights around Cairns and a couple of great restaurants nearby. The beach is lovely too which you can walk to.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fillydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2007

Spent 4 nights at this lovely B&B in December 06. Vicky & Ted were so friendly and helpful in every possible way. The local knowledge and insight into the area was great. Holloways Beach is central to all areas of interest & has a lovely beach. It has 2 great restaurants, one right on the beach with great food and atmosphere & you can walk to from the B&B.

Vicky & Ted's B&B was divine & an idyll setting with the Billabong surrounding the property. Vickys breakfasts's were excellent & presented beautifully. We loved the two dogs, really made you feel at home.

  • Liked — the setting & the friendly hosts
  • Disliked — being 10 minutes from cairns
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wenkella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2006

Stayed here in September 06 for four nights as the first stop on a mini tour of Australia. What a place to start! It is located a twenty minute or so bus ride from Cairns, in a lovely spot called Holloway beach. It is not a big suburb, but there is one excellent restaurant (Coolums), an idyllic beach bar next door (note the bar seems to shut early for us Europeans at about half seven in the evening) and a number of other small outlets.

From the moment we met Vicki and Ted (the proprietors) they could not have been more accommodating and helpful. The room was superb, and the breakfast exceptional. Plenty of nice and thoughtful touches - there was even a decanter of port in our room which seemed to be refilled every day as it was very pleasant to have a drink on “our” porch overlooking the billabong at the end of an evening.

Vicki organised a number of trips for us, all of which were excellent and good value for money – I’d urge you to use her knowledge, as there is so much choice in Cairns it saves taking a gamble and trying to decipher the good from the bad yourself.

I would wholeheartedly recommend the billabong, if it wasn’t for the fact we live on the other side of the world would regularly pop back for the odd long weekend.

  • Liked — Location and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book this place and enjoy
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RBandAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holloways Beach
4.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.5 mi away
Cairns Beach Resort
Cairns Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Holloways Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Bed & Breakfast

Property: Billabong Bed & Breakfast
Address: 30 Caribbean St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set On An Island surrounded by a Natural Billabong stocked with fish & abundant birdlife. A nature and birdlovers paradise, only 10 minutes to downtown Cairns, 7 minutes to airport, on doorstep to Great Barrier Reef & 10 minute walk to beach & alfresco restaurants. Both rooms are tastefully decorated & have quality queen size beds, ensuite, air conditioning, separate entrance & private deck. Full Gourmet Breakfast served on the main deck Tour companies pick up from the door & bus stop 2 minute walk. The 2 bedroom self contained Villa is equipped with with a fully functional kitchen and laundry and tastefully decorated with private deck overlooking the Billabong and Gardens. (no breakfast supplied)and wheelchair friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Billabong Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing