We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“wedding in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Billabong Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Billabong Bed & Breakfast
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wedding in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

my husband and i stumbled on this little piece of paradise and found where we wanted to get married and thats just what we did over looking the billabong

we were a small party of 5 who stayed in the kingfisher unit fully fitted for our family needs - my parents in law also stayed in the frangapani room they loved it - my kids aged 8,6,2 all loved the billabong and wanted to stay for ever!
J is an amazing host nothing was to much trouble from the wedding where she worked so hard on giving my husband and i the wedding that we wanted to looking after all of us during our 2 weeks stay.
Roxy the dog is a beautiful dog my children are a little frightend of dogs but they loved roxy she is such a beautiful natured dog

my kids loved the breakfast - choc crossants have now been requested everymorning - the belcher musli is to die for - i came away with the recipe ( thanks J)

the photos on the website are true to life there is no photoshop needed -

billabong b & b is a must for couples,singles or solos who are looking for something quite and who loves real warmth not just a bed for the night

billabong stole our hearts - and i am very proud of the fact that my wedding was the very first there!

love to J and roxy thank you so very much for the wedding and everything else that you did for my family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hitchcock1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had the most amazing stay at the Billabong Bed & Breakfast. We were in the Tropical Room which faces away from the main house and it's so lovely to be able to wake up to a view of the ducks swimming in the billabong. The tranquility and serenity is simply unreal. Jenanne is a lovely hostess and her breakfasts are divine, Roxy is such a gentle giant and got along really well with our Jack Russell. We will miss this place and look forward to coming back on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Few months has past but I still miss the joy and hapiness I experienced when staying with Janenne during the far too short 3 nights in Billabong b&b. Gorgeous place, unbelievabliy beautiful and natural environment, rooms surrounded by peaceful pond and lotus, the most fabulous breakfast exactly resembling the brochure, a warmhearted and kind host... We couldn't believe our luck when we found it. Janenne was absolutely the best of all!! She's a lot fun and outgoing and extremely helpful. She generously upgraded us to the self-contained villa on the second day without asking for more money, since we were the only 3 guests then. Our third day was filled with non-stopping downpour and Janenne even drove us to hang around the city though it's not her job! In return we made her a delicous Chinese dinner and with another friend of Janenne's and wine and loads of jokes, what a night! She also drove us to the airport on the last day, for free! We really appreciate that!

It's a bit far from Carins downtown but a great great place to enjoy especially relaxing vacation. Next time in Cairns, we are definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rendsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The apartment is great for families, big and clean with the possibility to do your laundry. Perfect breakfast is served on the veranda where you have a beautiful view on the lake which is also nice to make a little walk around it, if you want also in the company of the owners well-behaving dog. A great place to enjoy the amazing nature and animals. The owner of the B&B is friendly, sincere and makes you laugh with some of her own traveling stories. You can book tours to the reef
We felt very welcome and will definetely stay here again, if we come back and can only recommand it to everyone who wants to stay in an extraordinary place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerwah, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have stayed here several times when visiting Cairns and my wife loves the Bilabong that much she wants to buy it. Ganine spoils you with her sumptious brekky of tropical fruits and the bacon and eggs are done to your liking. Waking up in the morning and taking in the wildlife on the billabong is something to behold.10 out of 10 for me to.

Room Tip: The 2 bed villas are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I spent a total of two weeks here, as part of our business & pleasure trip to Australia and Papua New Guinea. The ambiance of being right on a serene Billabong was wonderful. Roxxy (the resident super-friendly part-dingo dog), will provide you with company and exercise, walking/jogging and playing "catch" with you around the Billabong, as often as you want. Our room was spacious, had a separate sitting area, a small fridge, a large modern shower, and a private deck where we enjoyed a glass of wine occasionally. My wife, who is an avid birdwatcher, found loads of new birds (we are from Canada) right on the property. The breakfasts were nutritious and excellent, were served on a large deck overlooking the Billabong, and included choices. The owner, Janenne, was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, in terms of car rentals, airport transfers, booking trips, and providing advice on local restaurants. Don't miss this place if you are in the Cairns area. We travel a lot, and there definitely aren't many quality/price deals like this one!

Room Tip: There is a choice of a newly-built self-contained separate unit which is good if you want to prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thealohacowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

What a treat. We stayed in the Kingfisher Suite. Every detail has been attended to. The sitting room location is stunning. The hostess, Janenne is wonderful. Breakfast on the deck alongside the billabong was outstanding. Don't pass this up.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holloways Beach
8.5 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
2.7 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 1 in Yorkeys Knob
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cairns Beach Resort
Cairns Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Holloways Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments Cairns
Pacific Sands Holiday Apartments...
#2 of 3 in Holloways Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
23.0 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Bed & Breakfast

Property: Billabong Bed & Breakfast
Address: 30 Caribbean St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set On An Island surrounded by a Natural Billabong stocked with fish & abundant birdlife. A nature and birdlovers paradise, only 10 minutes to downtown Cairns, 7 minutes to airport, on doorstep to Great Barrier Reef & 10 minute walk to beach & alfresco restaurants. Both rooms are tastefully decorated & have quality queen size beds, ensuite, air conditioning, separate entrance & private deck. Full Gourmet Breakfast served on the main deck Tour companies pick up from the door & bus stop 2 minute walk. The 2 bedroom self contained Villa is equipped with with a fully functional kitchen and laundry and tastefully decorated with private deck overlooking the Billabong and Gardens. (no breakfast supplied)and wheelchair friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Billabong Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing