We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Billabong Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Billabong Bed & Breakfast
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Billabong B&B is truly unique. The furnishings and ambiance are supurb. The B&B is next to a Billabong that is beautiful to wake up to. The breakfasts were fantastic and Janeen is an excellent host. We have traveled extensively in Europe and the US and the Billabong is probably the best B&B that we have stayed at. We were there for 5 days. I scuba dived for 2 days and my wife spent that time enjoying the Billabong.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Sharing Janeen and Roxy's wonderful home is just delightful! We had the pleasure of staying at Billabong recently for our anniversary, and had the most wonderful & relaxing stay. How magic it was to wake in the morning with the sunlight filtering through the trees, glinting off the water; ducks swimming; sunbirds flitting around whilst we had brekkie...and Roxy greeting us with wagging tail, and ball in mouth when ever we arrived 'home' after a days out exploring. If you want to stay someplace that feels like home, and so close to the touristies things Cairns has to offer...you can't beat it! And when you go, give Roxy a pat for us!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traciemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had a perfect B and B in our minds and Billabong fulfilled all our requirements. We were very impressed with the setting overlooking a peaceful billabong with gorgeous trees and plantings. The suite was compact but with added decking it was sufficient and we didn't feel cramped at all. Everything was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fresh and substantial.
Janenne made sure we were comfortable and nothing seemed to be a problem or too much trouble for her - she was available but not intrusive. She had great suggestions for local tours and places to visit, including the cafes at nearby Holloways Beach.
We would be very happy to recommend this B and B and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi-crawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I spent 5 nights in Billabong and had an absolutely wonderful time. Janenne made the most fantastic breakfast - I am now making bircher museli again!! The B&B is in the most wonderful location and Roxy the dog was just so friendly and sweet it was hard to say goodbye to her.

I slept very well all the nights I was there and I loved hearing the different wildlife sounds outside in the evening. I would definitely say that Cairns was probably one of the highlights of my trip and I am so glad I decided to stay at Billabong.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoannaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Billabong B&B was absolutely the best accommodations we had in all of Australia. With our own private deck and entrance looking out over the Billabong we wish we could have stayed longer. This B&B felt so luxurious for not alot of money too. Plus Jeaneane made the most excellent breakfasts with stunning fruits, muesli, and hot breakfast.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jamiekaye2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I have just spent a perfectly lovely, restful week here, and I was reluctant to leave! From the moment I arrived, I was made to feel welcome and valued, Janenne is such a wonderful hostess, nothing is too much trouble for her, I felt like I had found a new girl friend! The place is so serene and restful, set away from the hustle(?) of the street, I felt like I was on my own private hideaway. The food was to die for, the rooms so very comfortable and the hospitality is superb. I will definitely be back one day, thank you Janenne and Roxy

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Weerhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Ted & Vicky have the most wonderful setting for their B&B. The breakfasts were truly amazing as was our room. Ted & Vicky were extremely helpful even before we arrived in Australia, keeping up us to date with weather, trips, etc.
Truly a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceHerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holloways Beach
6.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
6.2 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 1 in Yorkeys Knob
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairns Beach Resort
Cairns Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Holloways Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
16.8 mi away
Green Island Resort
Green Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Green Island
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Bed & Breakfast

Property: Billabong Bed & Breakfast
Address: 30 Caribbean St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set On An Island surrounded by a Natural Billabong stocked with fish & abundant birdlife. A nature and birdlovers paradise, only 10 minutes to downtown Cairns, 7 minutes to airport, on doorstep to Great Barrier Reef & 10 minute walk to beach & alfresco restaurants. Both rooms are tastefully decorated & have quality queen size beds, ensuite, air conditioning, separate entrance & private deck. Full Gourmet Breakfast served on the main deck Tour companies pick up from the door & bus stop 2 minute walk. The 2 bedroom self contained Villa is equipped with with a fully functional kitchen and laundry and tastefully decorated with private deck overlooking the Billabong and Gardens. (no breakfast supplied)and wheelchair friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Billabong Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing