We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairns Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Villa Marine(Yorkeys Knob)(Great Value!)
$115
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Bay Resort(Yorkeys Knob)(Great Value!)
$89
$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cairns Sheridan Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$113
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$239
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$109
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oasis Inn(Cairns)
$65
$61
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
163
110
26
7
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
110
26
7
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadliquor landthe managerspizza shopliquor storewarning signssmithfield shopping centreoff licencelocal bus serviceminute drivenorthern beacheslocal amenitieslush gardenswasher and dryersea viewhire carstop floor
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 321 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

1. These are more "serviced" apartments with swimming pool and tour booking service, rather than a resort. There is a beach across the street, but when we were there in December, most of it was closed off due to jellyfish. The closest restaurant is across the street and is basically a convenience shop where you an order at the counter and have food served to you at tables by the beach. I was asked to move from a table (when there were plenty of empty tables available) while finishing up a meal cause they said the table was reserved.

2. I put "serviced" in quote above because we did not receive consistent service. We booked two apartments - one through Interval World timeshare and one directly through Australis Beach Resort. The unit booked through Australis got fresh towels, shampoos and soap during our week long stay, the unit we booked through Interval World did not. The reason we were given was that the Interval World apartment was not serviced the same. Not sure why, since we paid about the same amount for both units (about $135/night) and the only reason why we were there was because of Interval International.

3. Sofa bed was extremely dusty (enough to give me breathing problems) and the bedding was urine stained. I was given fresh sheets, but no attempt was made to even have a look, let alone clean it. Instead I was told the sofa beds are uncomfortable anyway and don't use the bedding. Health inspectors should inspect this place.

All of these are a shame because there were many nice things about it, however the above were deal breakers which is why I'm giving this a poor rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. There are two kinds of tariffs that you can book when staying with us. We have a holiday service and a daily service. The daily service rate is higher than the holiday service. You booked the second unit on the cheaper of the two rates which gives you a towel change on the 4th day of your stay and if you are staying longer than 7 days you get a full linen change and unit clean on the 7th day. The unit booked with Interval International is on a set agreement with that company and guests booking this way do not get any services unless they are staying for two weeks and then get a full clean and fresh linen on the 7th day. There are washing machines and clothes dryers in each unit to enable those guests that book a holiday service to be able to wash and dry their own towels.
You booked for two people in both of the units and had split beds in both units and if we were aware that you needed the sofa bed we would have also had that made up with linen when you arrived. We have spoken to the housekeeper that serviced the unit before you arrived and we do rely on them to do the right thing and change the mattress toppers and she certainly had not done her job properly so we do apologise for this error of judgment on her behalf. If you had told us of this then we would have had the girls come to your unit and completely change all of the bedding straight away.
On your review you have mentioned about the café, when people check in we do say it is a café and not a restaurant and of course what they do there should have no reflection on us. The meals are café style meals and they do not pretend to be a restaurant. The beaches all the way up the coast were closed at that time due to jellyfish and this is to protect visitors in Cairns from being stung, again we do not have any control over this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked two side-by-side one-bedroom apartments on the 3rd floor, one with ocean views. Each apartment has a good kitchen with a complete set of items required to prepare good meals rather than eat out. We would have preferred to have one two-bedroom apartment, but the resort surprisingly doesn't seem to offer that option so the cost is higher than expected for a more-than-one-bedroom group. There is a pull-out sofa, but one of the sofa beds had a mouldy mattress. We used it but with extra sheets wrapped around it.

As we were staying at Christmas, the weather was hot. The ocean-view room can be cooled somewhat by opening the balcony door, but the other apartment was quite hot. The bedrooms have air conditioning but for some reason I don't understand the living-dining-kitchen area does not. Air conditioning in the late afternoon, to take the edge off the heat in the apartments, would have been good.

Internet was a disaster. We obtained internet access. I was blocked from the internet after a day and a half. Had to use the coffee shop across the road (Strait on the Beach) as they had free internet but they had to be asked each time to turn it on and tended to shut it off at times. I don't blame them as free internet is part of their business, but nowadays internet is essential even just planning the next few days of the holiday. The Australis Cairns Beach Resort people were friendly when I said internet was a problem but said that they did not have any expertise with the internet nor any troublesheet to follow nor experts they could call. Finally the internet let me back on the day before we were checking out right after the five-day pass had expired!

In all I would say that the resort is a good place to stay if you are seeking an isolated pleasant holiday. Holloways Beach is very quiet but friendly. If you want air conditioning, good internet, nightlife and restaurants, somewhere else is better.

Room Tip: Go for 3rd floor ocean view if you don't mind the hike up and down the stairs.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We do not have two bedroom units as our website clearly states we are one bedroom units. We take these reviews very seriously and take action to fix any of the problems that might arise, if made aware of problems when guests are in the rooms this enables us to fix the problem straight away rather than have a guest going away unhappy. We have been to the room that you have said had a mouldy mattress and had a look at the sofa bed mattress and found that it is not mouldy as stated. You booked for two people in both of the units and had split beds in both units and if we were aware that you needed the sofa bed we would have also had that made up with linen when you arrived. We do not make up sofa beds unless we are aware that they are required.
Our rooms have an air conditioner in the bedroom and if the apartment is kept closed and the air conditioner on it does cool down the whole apartment.
With regards to the internet we have hot spots, you were advised that you would not receive internet in your room. We did not charge anything for the internet and we did have other people that were using it at the same time that you were in house so we are sorry that you were unable to access it on your device.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately a room wasn't available in a suite thay was suitable but I would like to say the staff were tremendously friendly and willing to assist with our concerns. Kirsty at the front desk could not have been more helpful in providing us with alternate accommodation. I have no hesitation in recommending your resort based on the how welcoming and helpful your st

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Nathan thank you for taking the time to write a review even though we were unable to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was our first trip to Australia and we love warm weather and the beach. Our week long stay was great. The beach is right across the street and perfect for a long walk. We had perfect weather and the resort was very nice and just a short trip from the airport. The grounds are beautiful and the pool area excellent. It's a quiet resort and the room was comfortable and you can't beat the price. Our view overlooked the pool but we had a bit of a view of the ocean. We were on the third floor which was nice from a security point of view and gave us extra exercise since there are no elevators :). The staff was fabulous and so helpful in recommending and scheduling tours. We enjoyed snorkeling and a train trip to the rainforest. It's a short trip to Cairns and nice restaurants and shopping. There are limited options for eating near the resort but we'd recommend the cafe down the street in the little shopping area. The stir fry was great and the staff friendly. Can't recommend the Strait on the Bay cafe. The food was OK but pricey and the service was poor. All in all this exceeded or expectations and we'd love to come back some day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachcomber900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

We are pleased that on your first trip to Australia we were able to make it a memorable experience. So glad that you enjoyed the tours that we recommended. We think of this as our little piece of paradise and it looks as if you were very happy here as well. The Holloways Pizza and Pasta does the best stir-frys and I am glad that you were able to sample these. We would love to have you back to stay again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

the Australis Cairns Beach Resort was perfect! Just a short drive from Cairns, Palm Cove and close enough for day trips to Port Douglas etc, this sleepy little pocket of the world was absolutely divine. Directly accross the road form the beach, with all the amenities close by: supermarkets, cafe, bottleshop.. The staff were wonderful and the room superb! I will return here and highly recommend this place if you want to stay out of the hustle and bustle of the city. The pool was warm and the spa relaxing. I really loved everything about this place!

Room Tip: The premium seaview room was perfect! Everything you could ever want, with balcony views overlooking hte beach...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi Yvonne, Thank you for taking the time and effort to review us, from your score it looks like we did everything perfect for you. We will look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews