We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Gem, just out of Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Gem, just out of Cairns”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

the Australis Cairns Beach Resort was perfect! Just a short drive from Cairns, Palm Cove and close enough for day trips to Port Douglas etc, this sleepy little pocket of the world was absolutely divine. Directly accross the road form the beach, with all the amenities close by: supermarkets, cafe, bottleshop.. The staff were wonderful and the room superb! I will return here and highly recommend this place if you want to stay out of the hustle and bustle of the city. The pool was warm and the spa relaxing. I really loved everything about this place!

Room Tip: The premium seaview room was perfect! Everything you could ever want, with balcony views overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi Yvonne, Thank you for taking the time and effort to review us, from your score it looks like we did everything perfect for you. We will look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    98
    22
    6
    15
See reviews for
54
148
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in September, the accommodation was booked as part of a tour so do not know how much the cost was. The units are pretty standard for what we have found on our trip. With a kitchenette, separate bedroom and lounge area. The units seem quite old but they are comfortable and everything worked. As mentioned on previous posts the resort is a little way outside Cairns itself. So the only draw to stay here is the beach (there isn't one in Cairns.) Which brings me to my biggest gripe, and I know this is no fault of the hotel, but. The locals use the beach as a dog toilet, and seem incapable of clearing up after them, despite free poop bags placed at the gates. I don't know why they allow dogs on the beach ( and there are dozens )It completely ruins an otherwise idyllic spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays1work0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for the review, as you have stated we do not have control of the dogs on the beach and we do agree that owners of the animals should be cleaning up after them. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in the resort and we would love to have you back to stay again if you ever get back to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon. We had chocolates and champagne organised by staff and family in our room on arrival. We had the best view overlooking the beach on the top floor in room 67. The balcony here stretched around the unit we stayed in in an L shape. The rooms were generally clean and tidy with fans and split system air con in bedroom which surprisingly cooled the whole unit!
Therefore, accommodation is good but I wouldn't recommend the location of Holloways Beach for young couples/honeymooners. Even though the beach is sign posted 'No dogs' there are dogs absolutely everywhere! Me and my husband spent 2 hours on the beach in the whole 5 days we were there and in that time we had loose dogs walking all over us, licking us and doing the toilet nearby as we were trying to relax and most of the owners don't even had the decency to apologise. Cairns Beach Resort is 10 minutes from Cairns itself. There are buses that operate every hour from Holloways that take around half an hour each way. We went to the city a fair bit as we didn't find many options in Holloways itself in terms of bars/restaurants. The Strait On The Beach cafe over the road from the resort serves alcohol and food but is not what we would class as a 'bar'. We found we were the only young couple there. There is a lovely place in Yorkey's Knob which you can call a free courtesy bus to get to from the resort which takes 5 minutes. Yorkey's knob boat club has great food, gaming rooms, smoking areas and restaurant with great views over clear crystal waters

Room Tip: Room 67 if u want a decent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Most people enjoy the peace and quiet that the resort offers as it is a great way just to relax and do nothing. The views from that particular room are spectacular and we did do an upgrade for you as you were on your honeymoon. We are certainly not the spot for younger people looking for nightlife as you do need to travel into the city for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay here, all staff were very friendly and courteous, the apartment was clean and had everything we needed, we had a lovely big king size bed, a balcony that overlooked the lush, tropical, well-kept garden and the swimming pool. In the mornings we would go for a walk along the coconut palm fringed beach (just across the road from the resort) and had our morning coffee at the cafe that is right on the beach. We chatted to locals at the cafe, chatted to fishermen on the beach, chatted to fellow guests in the cafe - it is in a residential area so very friendly!! The only downside is that fact that it is under the flight path for the airport.

Room Tip: We liked to apartment with the balcony that overlooked the pool/garden cos I think the apartments th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are always pleased when we get a review like yours and know that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise as much as we do. Holloways Beach is a lay back area where you can rest and relax. The cafe across the road is a great place for meeting the locals and having a chat. Walking along the beach of a morning and chatting to all the people that get out and about making the best of the beautiful weather we have here is a really nice way to start your day. Sorry about the flight path but there is not much that we can do about that one. We look forward to having you back the next time that you are in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Found this resort on wotif, 3night special. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a sea view room. Great view of the Coral Sea and lovely sea breezes. Room was self contained with enough cooking equipment to suit us. Room was clean and comfortable. Grounds were very tropical with a lovely refreshing pool. Also had barbeque facilities and even a herb garden we could make use of if we wished. Far enough out of Cairns to be away from the crowds but within easy driving distance. Tour bus happy to collect us from this accommodation for a trip to cape tribulation. Our room was on the third floor, four flights of stairs from undercover car park, word of advise, don't have heavy suitcases. Good workout though and didn't feel guilty about the fish and chips and beer enjoyed at the cafe across the road and right
on the beach.
Would absolutely stay here again and would request the third floor with sea views, well worth the walk up the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review. The stairs are a good workout and we are pleased that you found that to be the case. We are glad that you were happy with your upgrade to the Seaview room. We re plant the herb garden each year after the wet season and have found it to be a hit with all our guests. We will look forward to having you stay with us again the next time that you are visiting Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here July 2-6 2013. Parents + 5 and 1 year old. We traveled from our home in Alice Springs for a holiday in the Cairns area. We arrived late and although reception was closed, there was a very convenient phone/lock-box system in place for late arrivals.

The building is visibly quite old but SPECTACULARLY maintained. The room was very clean and had great amenities. My one year old was crawling a lot at the time and we didn't find that his legs or clothes were dirty at all after spending time on the floor. The main bedroom was in the back of the unit which made putting our boys to bed on the pull out sofa very easy. Kitchen was fully stocked with utensils and had a full size fridge. The only thing I can say was even slightly negative about the room was that the bed (king size, yay!) was very hard. However, some people like a hard bed, so I guess that can be a good thing for some guests.

It seemed that there was a grounds maintenance person on site nearly every morning tending to the numerous and beautiful plans and greenery around the resort. I did have a chance to get to the pool with my son. It was extremely cold but to be expected during the winter months. I understand Cairns to be very hot for a majority of the year so heating the pool would really be a waste of money.

The folks (owners?) at reception were outstanding. For starters, in my search for a holiday unit, I was only looking for size and booked the room online without adding my children to the booking. It was an oversight but was discovered when I asked for additional bedding. The owners were gracious about it and not only didn't charge me extra but offered to make up the extra bed for me. They also recommended tours and excursions, as well as nearby shopping and dining. The restaurant across the street from the resort (beach shack??) was phenomenal as well. We did not have a bad meal there and we ate there several times. The nachos were great (and I'm American so I have high nacho standards) and the batter for the fish and chips was delicious! I wish I could have the recipe!

All in all a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kemnitzre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Wow what can I say except thank you for taking the time and effort to post such a great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our small piece of paradise as much as we do. We would certainly love to have you back to stay whenever you might get a chance to visit Cairns again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are 2 adults and 1 child aged 11 and we stayed in room 68 which had a large bedroom, separate bathroom and large kitchen, dining area and lounge. We had a balcony overlooking the beach and it was heavenly to go to bed hearing the sound of the sea. There was a large sofa bed in the lounge and we had plenty of room. The owners were very helpful and we booked the billy tea safari trip and reef trip via passions of paradise. Both were excellent. There is a great shop and eatery across from the hotel called strait on the beach as well as some local shops very close by. We had breakfast in our apartment and kept drinks well stocked as even at this time of year it was hot! We walked in both directions on the idyllic beach as well as enjoying the pool and area. Would really recommend this place to stay!!

Room Tip: Book a room with seaview! Absolutely stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 78Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words and you also used Tropical Paradise which is so often what I call this resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed both the trips that we recommended as we do try and match the trips to what our guests tell us they want to experience and I think that your son got quiet a lot from the Billy Tea trip. The beach is such a lovely area to enjoy a morning or afternoon walk. We would love to have you stay again if you return to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holloways Beach
5.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
9.0 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
6.0 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Beach Resort

Property: Cairns Beach Resort
Address: 129 Oleander St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location - Cairns Beach Resort is minutes north of Cairns City and next to the beach and warm tropical waters. Indulge in the simplicity of a truly relaxed lifestyle. Our four star resort offers everything to create a home away from home on the beach. The resort’s tropical gardens offer you peace and tranquility to read and relax, or to float in the saltwater resort style pool. Simple pleasures - pure relaxation… think Cairns Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cairns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Beach Hotel Holloways Beach
Hotel Cairns Beach
Cairns Beach Resort Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing