We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here July 2-6 2013. Parents + 5 and 1 year old. We traveled from our home in Alice Springs for a holiday in the Cairns area. We arrived late and although reception was closed, there was a very convenient phone/lock-box system in place for late arrivals.

The building is visibly quite old but SPECTACULARLY maintained. The room was very clean and had great amenities. My one year old was crawling a lot at the time and we didn't find that his legs or clothes were dirty at all after spending time on the floor. The main bedroom was in the back of the unit which made putting our boys to bed on the pull out sofa very easy. Kitchen was fully stocked with utensils and had a full size fridge. The only thing I can say was even slightly negative about the room was that the bed (king size, yay!) was very hard. However, some people like a hard bed, so I guess that can be a good thing for some guests.

It seemed that there was a grounds maintenance person on site nearly every morning tending to the numerous and beautiful plans and greenery around the resort. I did have a chance to get to the pool with my son. It was extremely cold but to be expected during the winter months. I understand Cairns to be very hot for a majority of the year so heating the pool would really be a waste of money.

The folks (owners?) at reception were outstanding. For starters, in my search for a holiday unit, I was only looking for size and booked the room online without adding my children to the booking. It was an oversight but was discovered when I asked for additional bedding. The owners were gracious about it and not only didn't charge me extra but offered to make up the extra bed for me. They also recommended tours and excursions, as well as nearby shopping and dining. The restaurant across the street from the resort (beach shack??) was phenomenal as well. We did not have a bad meal there and we ate there several times. The nachos were great (and I'm American so I have high nacho standards) and the batter for the fish and chips was delicious! I wish I could have the recipe!

All in all a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kemnitzre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Wow what can I say except thank you for taking the time and effort to post such a great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our small piece of paradise as much as we do. We would certainly love to have you back to stay whenever you might get a chance to visit Cairns again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 306 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are 2 adults and 1 child aged 11 and we stayed in room 68 which had a large bedroom, separate bathroom and large kitchen, dining area and lounge. We had a balcony overlooking the beach and it was heavenly to go to bed hearing the sound of the sea. There was a large sofa bed in the lounge and we had plenty of room. The owners were very helpful and we booked the billy tea safari trip and reef trip via passions of paradise. Both were excellent. There is a great shop and eatery across from the hotel called strait on the beach as well as some local shops very close by. We had breakfast in our apartment and kept drinks well stocked as even at this time of year it was hot! We walked in both directions on the idyllic beach as well as enjoying the pool and area. Would really recommend this place to stay!!

Room Tip: Book a room with seaview! Absolutely stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 78Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words and you also used Tropical Paradise which is so often what I call this resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed both the trips that we recommended as we do try and match the trips to what our guests tell us they want to experience and I think that your son got quiet a lot from the Billy Tea trip. The beach is such a lovely area to enjoy a morning or afternoon walk. We would love to have you stay again if you return to this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a smile and a helping hand. Lyn was happy to help us with our day tours and advise us on some great deals and places to see. We stayed on level 3 ( the highest level) with an ocean view and I would suggest that one to anyone. Unit was clean, had plenty of room and large tv. They have a dvd player, dishwasher and washing machine and dryer. No clothes horse though. They rent out new n old dvd for $2 which was great after a big day out out on the reef or in the rainforest. As for the comments below about noise from the airport that was not a problem at all you would hear the odd plane take off but it wasn't a disturbance at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krystalmichelle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Looks like we were just the kind of place you were looking for. Thank you for taking the time to review us. You were very lucky to have one of the two rooms that we have with a dishwasher in them. There should have been a clothes horse in your bedroom wardrobe but we will certainly rectify that for the next lot of guests in that room. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you visit Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed on the third level over looking the beach for 3 days at the end of May. The unit/apartment we had was a spacious very clean modern design in very good condition, well appointed including washer and drier, and a decent size TV (we have found very small TVs in far to many motels on our travels) the location was very quiet. Unlike the Canadian we found the cafe across the road on the beach front served reasonable pub type food, we thought the free drink voucher with a meal at the cafe when we arrived was a nice touch. There was plenty of undercover parking, Lyn was very pleasant and helpful in arranging our train-sky rail trip. I would class the complex as apartments rather than a resort. We will surely stay again and highly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldCoastWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The top floor apartments are nice and do have a nice view but with no lifts they are not for everyone. We will look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had 9 lovely days at Holloways, the accommodation was great we will return. Swimming pool was good, hubby certainly enjoyed it. Lyn was very helpful, rental car was right there waiting for us and parking was not a problem at no extra charge. With one of our family now living in Holloways it was perfect. The apartment was a good size. Plenty of fans and and aircon unit with warmer weather than we are used to sleeping was comfortable. We did not hear the planes, as the airport is nearby. The IGA store at Holloways carries all groceries so was real handy. A bar and restaurant (very casual) across the road was also ok if you needed to go out for a simple meal. Our room looked out to sea and over to the restaurant but there was no problem with noise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

What a great review. So nice to hear that you enjoyed your 9 nights with us. The little cafe accross the road is ideal for a lazy lunch or an easy evening meal. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just checked in....what a mistake! OLD everything...air con doesn't work...appliances at least 20 years old...screen door ripped all the way down, no way to keep out mosquitoes so close the door and roast! Haven't found anything nice about the place! So disappointed after paying so much to stay here

Stayed: June 2013
2  Thank Sugager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your 1 night in our resort. When you notified us that the aircon did not work we had a technician out that afternoon and it was fixed. The appliances are replaced on a regular basis so they are not 20 years old as you have stated. We try to accommodate all our guests wishes on check in and we did this for you by moving you from a 3rd floor apartment to a ground floor. The resort was obviously not what you were looking for but we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Even before we met Lyn and Glen we were impressed by their prompt email responses and when we called in to see the property in February we were welcomed and shown one of the units we would be renting for a month in May. When we arrived in May we were welcomed like long lost friends. Our unit was quite modern, comfortable and well stocked with cutlery and cooking needs and was on the ground floor overlooking the beautiful well maintained pool. The grounds are well kept and there is a covered BBQ area and plenty of parking mostly undercover.
Cathi and Maria serviced our unit weekly and it was always spotless. Lyn and Glen advised and booked tours and always had the time for a chat or to answer a question. One minor problem was very quickly rectified. There are some steps 7 I think from the car park up to ground level and then another 7 up to the ground floor units. There are 3 floors and no lift so probably not suitable for the disabled. The bus goes right past the door into the city and to the Smithtown shopping centre (which is huge) the other way. We often used the bus taking about 20 minutes into Cairns at the cost of $3.20 (pensioner rate) for both of us, great when we did some tours as we did not have to worry about parking. We had some meals at the cafe across the road "Strait on the Beach" and found it to be very nice, the service was good and they sell liquor. The beach has a stinger net in stinger season and there is a lifeguard there as well. Dogs are allowed on the beach so beware of dog pooh. Just down the road there is a newsagent, grocery, liquor store, ATM, Pizza and Takeaway and about 1km away an IGA. What more could you need? All in all a well managed place away from the city hassles and well placed for drives up to Kuranda, Port Douglas or the Atherton Tableland. We enjoyed our stay at Holloways Beach and our thanks go to Lyn, Glen, Cathi, Maria and the gardeners.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

What a wonderful review, thank you so much. You were an absolute delight to have in our complex and we miss the chats now that you have gone. We would love to have you stay with us again if you are coming back up to Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holloways Beach
2.3 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
203 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,152 reviews
6.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
5.6 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Beach Resort

Address: 129 Oleander St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Price Range: $105 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location - Cairns Beach Resort is minutes north of Cairns City and next to the beach and warm tropical waters. Indulge in the simplicity of a truly relaxed lifestyle. Our four star resort offers everything to create a home away from home on the beach. The resort’s tropical gardens offer you peace and tranquility to read and relax, or to float in the saltwater resort style pool. Simple pleasures - pure relaxation… think Cairns Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Beach Hotel Holloways Beach
Hotel Cairns Beach
Cairns Beach Resort Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing