We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2008

The hotel itself was not bad...decently clean and big beds. They did not provide any sort of warm blankets and some nights, it got cold and the very thin "sheets" as I would call them were definitely not enough. Besides that, the water by the beach was awful due to the rainy/windy season as they had said. There was no net up due to the wind and it was very dirty water. None of the food nearby was good (only 2 or 3 places to eat....half are not open during the day). I noticed the manager replied to a comment about the shuttle buses. Unfortunately, as all locals and visitors would agree, the shuttles come on their own time. We would sit and wait for the shuttle bus for hours at a time until we realized we had to get a taxi (min $25.00 to Cairns City). The shuttles were pretty terrible...cheap, but rarely came and it messed lots of things up. Overall, not a bad hotel...better location and friendlier staff would be better.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SweetyG812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Cairns Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 292 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2008

Our stay at this resort was very disappointing from day one. What with sand in the lounge chairs and cobwebs under the mirror on the lounge room wall,dried milk spill in the bottom of the fridge, crumbs in the cutlery drawer, floor needing a sweep, faeces in the toilet, television blowing up, someone elses underwear in the dryer and finally the airconditioner flooding the bedroom and no apologises or offers of another room forthcoming, just some towels to mop it up. Funny they offered us towels to mop up the spill but no clean towels for ourselves. If this is the first hotel for overseas visitors it is a very poor welcome mat to Australia. I cannot believe that this place ranks as a 4 star hotel. Shame Shame Shame.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puddingwaggawagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

We (a couple) spent 3 weeks here and we loved it. It's right next to the beach and there's a bar, a restaurant and a couple of food shops close. There's also a pizza restaurant and a bottle shop. It's at Holloway's Beach, not the centre of Cairns, but there's a regular bus service including night buses. The bus drivers are very friendly and the bus goes to the Smithfield shopping centre as well as Cairns. We hired a car for a couple of days to see the Tablelands and took a reef trip too. We knew that the apartment would only be cleaned once a week and we were happy to be undisturbed and look after ourselves. There's a barbeque area next to the pool that everyone can use and it's great to chat to people while cooking the evening meal. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Earthscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

Yes i agree with some of the reviews. It could have been a little cleaner. The floor really needed a wash.

but as for location. it was fantasic. next to a beach, restaurant over the road. nice and quiet which is great when you have kids in toe.

You dont really need a car: because most tours pick you up at the resort. we had a car for 3 days out of the 7 and we barely spent a full day at the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

We visited Australia and this apartment-hotel twice within a year. A fantastic location in a quiet area about 5 miles from Cairns itself. All the facilities were excellent, pool, the grounds, parking, the apartment, on both occasions, and the staff polite and helpful. You will need a car as it's away from everything, other than a cafe over the road 'strait on the beach' which is literally on the beach - serves excellent breakfast, and next door is coolums which is kind of a cuban bar / lounge / restaurant, and is probably my favourite place in the world. Eating and drinking outside on the decking on a warm night is heaven. I have travelled far and wide, and for a combination of quality, value, atmosphere and service, this is my absolute favourite place.

  • Stayed: November 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Notice to all travelers. The Cairns Beach Resort has alot of problems. Firstly, it is NOT in Cairns. It is located in an outer suburb called Holloway's Beach. This is about 15 or so minutes from the CBD of Cairns, which is not a problem unless you dont have a car. If you dont have a car the only option is swimming at a swamp like beach that has a netted area to swim saftly.
The beach (althow somwhat unsure) seem to be frequented by lots of young guys looking for the company of other young guys. Not a real problem if that is what you are looking for.
As for being a resort, well once again it is a dissapointment.
It is a resort for the ants that seem to be everwere.

Secondly there was absolutly NO housekeeping. The hotel guide in the room even stated that there is only one day of housekeeping on a stay of 7 days or more. Also the towels where never changed.


Thirdly the aircondition NEVER ever worked.
When I told the lady at reception about this I was given a rather poor excuse that all airconditions were going down and that was because of the fact that this is the first time this year that the airconditions had been used. Hard to believe. I was then told that the gas in the airconditions need to be replaced and for it, they needed to get a cherry picker to reach the aircondition. So that ment no aircon for the 3 day stay.

And lastly no flyscreens on the windows
All up a really poor place to stay. Be warned.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CameronAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officechik, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2008

Cairns Beach Resort is 10 minutes from the Cairns CBD if travelling by car. A public Bus departs 50m from the resort on an hourly basis 7 days a week until late at night Our Beaches in Far North Qld are protected with a stinger net for swimming between the months of November until April. When holidaying in the tropics everyone should be aware of our little insects that visit and all foodstuffs should be kept in the refrigerator.
As for servicing the room we have different systems dependant of the booking you have made. And yes there are certain bookings which do not have a service other than a weekly however all units have a washing machine and dryer in them. Most common bookings will have a service on the 3rd day. If this was not done management would have like to have been told to rectify the situation. A daily service can be requested however there would be a fee. All the louvred windows in the units are screened but the large middle window is not and again this is not unusual for the tropics. As far as airconditioners go, yes they break down and are a major discomfort to the guest. We do try and shift the guest to another room but unfortunately at this time we were full. However the guest is always given the opportunity to move as soon as a room becomes available. On most occassions the guest is reluctant to move as they have settled in. We do not like our guest to suffer in any way on their holiday ,our humid climate is not for everybody and this year was exceptionally hot and does make it uncomfortable for the guest if not used to it. Tolerance becomes difficult and perhaps this was not the right time of year to travel to this destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

This mst be the WORST Hotel in Cairns. Firstly, Cairns Beach Resort is NOT in Cairns. It actually in Holloways Beach, so if you think your going to be in Central Cairns, think again. I booked for myself and wife, and upon arrival at 7:00pm, reception was closed. After finally getting room keys, we were given a room with 2 single beds, the Air-con didn't work and despite 3 days of asking, it was neither fixed nor could we move to another room as "your in a timeshare unit and there is no more.". I wasnt booked through any kind of timeshare... It was a direct booking through their own website.

Cockroaches, and ants all over the place and the solution was to "but yourself a can of insect spray".

SHOCKING!! I wouldnt put my Dog in that place....

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank hend0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holloways Beach
5.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
603 reviews
6.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
5.6 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
2.3 mi away
Villa Marine
Villa Marine
#1 of 2 in Yorkeys Knob
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Beach Resort

Address: 129 Oleander St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Price Range: $107 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location - Cairns Beach Resort is minutes north of Cairns City and next to the beach and warm tropical waters. Indulge in the simplicity of a truly relaxed lifestyle. Our four star resort offers everything to create a home away from home on the beach. The resort’s tropical gardens offer you peace and tranquility to read and relax, or to float in the saltwater resort style pool. Simple pleasures - pure relaxation… think Cairns Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Beach Hotel Holloways Beach
Hotel Cairns Beach
Cairns Beach Resort Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing