We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just what we wanted” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairns Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cairns Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh, UK
2 reviews
“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

As a couple on our honeymoon, we wanted to avoid hustle and bustle after spending two weeks out in the outback living out of a suitcase.
Holloways beach is situated 10 mins out of cairns via bus and an hour from port Douglas. For us this was ideal.
Yes, in order to go on the many many tours and attractions that operate around the area you do have to travel a fair bit. The tour operators will notify you Of this and the prices of the transfers before you book. If you book whilst you're there, expect to pay for the transfers. (Between 40-60 dollars each) This is something you have to expect when you are in Australia in general! It's a very big country and nothing is close together. This is what makes cairns and the surrounding area so beautiful!
We had the superior apartment with a large balcony wrapping around most of apartment which faced the beach. This is lovely in the morning when the sun is rising!
It was spacious and we were provided with everything we needed to cook and a clean. (Although an oven would have been nice, we did have a microwave an hob)
The staff were excellent and had a fab knowledge of the tours and area. They pointed out all the necessary amenities including a larger supermarket 15 mins walk down the road and the bus stops.
Pool was lovely and the BBQ was a bonus on Xmas day!
The beach is just across the road with a stinger net for safe swimming!
If you want to go out into town for meals every night without bus journeys, this isn't for you. If you want to relax in the comfort of your own apartment, or use it a base for the many many many day trips out, this is ideal.
We loved it here! We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Owner at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Sounds like you had a great visit. We agree with you that our location 10 minutes from town is what makes a holiday here so laid back and relaxing. I think that you were the couple who tried beach fishing. I never did find out what you caught.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    89
    22
    5
    15
See reviews for
47
140
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here recently on a mini tour of Australia, the appartments were very clean and very spacious and the staff really helpful in recommending and booking tours.

Although the resort is a little out of the way of city, its in a great location just seconds away from the lovely Holloways Beach.

Thanks to Lynne and Glen for making my stay a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Owner at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are only 10 minutes from town and we believe that our location is what makes us such a laid back and relaxed place to stay and holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just coming back from our Australia/New Zealand trip.
We want to say thank you to Lynn and Glen for their great
hospitality and the wonderful time we could spend at their
beautiful Cairns Beach resort between the Total Solar
Eclipse Festival in Northern Queensland.
It was for us the perfect place to be.
We hope we can make it back someday in the future.
Thanks and a big hug from Berlin Germany. Axel and Guido

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frechbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Owner at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Axel & Guido, Thanks for the magnificent feedback. It is very satisfying for all our staff to know that you had a great stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

pay no attention to the online prices because you will end up paying nearly twice the price of what's stated online. you end up paying far to much money to stay in a out-dated so called resort that is situated in a terrible location away from everything you need like food! theres a tiny shop with extremely overpriced canned food and that's it!! It has a beach that looks like wavey mud water that you wouldn't dare swim in. If you go on a tour u will be on the bus half and hour longer then everyone else because they were smart enough to stay in cairns not hellholloways beach! Worst location ever!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Istayedhererecently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Owner at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are very disappointed that you found our property so unattractive, and that 10 minutes was too far out of town. We have taken great care with our web site to show the property as it is with an extensive image gallery, and the location is clearly shown on Google maps.

We have no record of anyone speaking to staff during their stay about the issues raised, and If you had made your unhappiness known while you were at the Resort we would have been quite happy to refund the unused portion of your stay and to assist you in finding a property in the centre of Cairns.

We take our guest satisfaction very seriously and have Guest Feedback forms in the apartments. We can find no evidence that you took the time to complete this or to discuss your issues at checkout.

Without a specific guest name we cannot comment on your claim about paying twice the price stated on line, as all bookings taken on line are honoured at the prices displayed at the time of booking, and bookings via agents are taken at the agents contracted rates. If you would like to pursue your allegations of not being charged what was advertised please contact us directly.

The very large majority of our guest rate their experience with us very highly, and we remain disappointed that you did not have the same experience or give us the opportunity to address your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at the Cairns Beach Resort for several days around the time of the solar eclipse of November 2012. It was a hectic time in Holloways Beach, but the staff at the resort kept everything running smoothly and were always available to answer questions, set up tours, etc. Lynne, who seems to manage the front desk, is the most chipper, welcoming person you can imagine and made my stay a joy. Holloways Beach is a low-key, residential community -- not a built-up resort area -- which also made for a relaxing stay. I would definitely recommend this resort. My only reasons for not giving it five stars are the rooms and the pool area. They are perfectly fine, but I wouldn't rank them at the five-star level, which to me suggests luxury. This is a nice and relaxing place to stay, but it is not a five-star resort in terms of amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoulderDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide the perfect view for the eclipse. We would love to have you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

excellent accomodation - great clean room, super friendly staff.
holloways beach is a quiet place - a public bus transfer to cairns is just in 1 min walking distance from the hotel as the closest beach front restaurant and the beach itself. The beach is just beatiful, there is a stinger net and a lifeguard on duty and plenty of room. was never crowded when we were here!

the pool in the hotel is great too in the middle of a beatiful garden - feels like paradise entering the inner area of the hotel!

we stayed 3 days after a diving trip to relax and had a great time here! we can recommend everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUS116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Wow what can I say to a review like that but thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff are really friendly and were only too happy to assist us in our tour bookings. They had been to everything that we wanted to go to, so were able to advise us on the best tours to do. The room was great with a balcony and air con and fans. The advice given on where to go to eat was good and we went to the same place each night. It was just across the road and we were able to look at the ocean whilst eating. We will definately go back and recommend to all our friends.

Room Tip: Have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We will look forward to having you stay with us again and thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holloways Beach
5.7 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
5.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
6.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
6.4 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
17.7 mi away
Fitzroy Island Resort
Fitzroy Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fitzroy Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Beach Resort

Property: Cairns Beach Resort
Address: 129 Oleander St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location - Cairns Beach Resort is minutes north of Cairns City and next to the beach and warm tropical waters. Indulge in the simplicity of a truly relaxed lifestyle. Our four star resort offers everything to create a home away from home on the beach. The resort’s tropical gardens offer you peace and tranquility to read and relax, or to float in the saltwater resort style pool. Simple pleasures - pure relaxation… think Cairns Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cairns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Beach Hotel Holloways Beach
Hotel Cairns Beach
Cairns Beach Resort Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing