We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place, Would Definitely Stay There Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cairns Beach Resort. The apartments are spacious and very clean , fully equipped with kitchen & washer/dryer, and the location was exactly what we were looking for. There is a beach across the street, and the resort is outside of Cairns in a quiet residential area, so having a rental car is recommended. The managers and staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Lynne and Vicki. We stayed in room #67 which has a huge balcony overlooking the street and beach. There is a restaurant across the street, but there are also a small grocery store about a mile away and a large one only about 5min away. This worked out great for us as we tire quickly of eating out for meals. We had a wonderful week there and would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pharmher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Owner at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thankyou for your review, we try to make all our guests as comfortable as possible while at our resort so as you are able to enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 297 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Cairns Beach Resort is not only UNNECESSARILY amazing, but it's perfect for couples and people looking for a little quiet time. This is one of the only hotels you'll find by the beach near Cairns (and there are even less/none in Cairns).

We say they unnecessarily amazing because, being the only hotel in the area, they don't have to be as great as they are. The women at the front desk, who we won't name by name, were the most helpful people we have ever met. They would have tucked us into bed if we asked.

The kind people at the front desk booked reservations for us (on the gondola to the Karunda Rain Forest) and actually got us better deals. They offered beach towels for cheap. But the best was, on a night we wanted to go into Cairns and have dinner, they set up taxis for us. We found out later that the woman who set us up was at dinner, and stopped mid meal to help us get a cab.

But the resort itself was great as well. It's near several great restaurants (we only ate at one) but the beach is literally across the street (Strait on the Beach). And it's one of the only beaches we could swim at this time of year. Due to stingers, it was roped off with a giant net by lifeguards. People even had their dogs on the beach. Flippin' adorable.

And it was a clean and quiet hotel. The pool was a great place to drink and read. And at night, the only thing you could hear were the fruit bats falling into the giant palm trees. (They are loud, but welcome.) The rooms are super spacious and well kept. (They hog the towels, but if that's the worst thing we have to say, it still deserves a five.)

Affordable and awesome. You'll love it.

But a word of warning...

All of the restaurants in the area close super early. Our first night there, my wife and I had to go into town (70 dollar cab, there and back) because every restaurant (even our highly recommended fave 'Strait on the Beach') was closed. Not a big deal, but we weren't ready for this. Made us cranky. (Especially me, I became a diva.) But this has nothing to do with the service of the resort. But it's important to know about the area you'll be staying in.

You should also know that these are basically condos - so they have kitchens, living rooms, etc. Which also means that they don't clean your room every day, nor provide towel service every day. They do it regularly, once every three days, I believe - so don't go there to be pampered - you gotta take care of yourself a bit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocakoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Owner at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to review us we apreciate your comments and try to make everyones stay as comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I chose Cairns Beach Resort for a few days of quiet time. Because apartments are one bedroom only, you dont get lots of children running around. The grounds are kept beautifully and the salt water pool is a real feature - so relaxing to just sit by, float around in, and a great place to meet and chat with other guests if you want to. I certainly didnt feel uncomfortable staying there by myself. The Resident Managers are so very helpful and friendly, after a day you feel like you've known them for ages. Holloways Beach itself is mainly residential, and accessible by public bus from Cairns. Shops are limited, so I picked up food supplies in Cairns ( there is an IGA at one end of the town). The beach is great for walks. I loved the resort - its so not touristy and many guests were return guests.I hope it remains a 'best kept secret' ! So please dont tell anyone about it!!!!

Room Tip: Garden View apartments are quieter than seaview apartments ( the bus runs past the seaview rooms) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Digibaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Fantastic management, it is so nice to go somewhere where nothing is a problem for the onsite managers. Rooms are large & clean. The location is superb with the beach & straights cafe just across the road. Very relaxing place to stay.
Due to it's location I would strongly suggest a rental car to be able to get out & do things, but it is great just to loaf around as well. There is a small shop withing 3 min walk so self catering is not a problem.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all good, but 50 / 58 / 66 are the best location, overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suparat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This place is excellent:-
1. It is just across the road from Holloways Beach which is netted for stingers.
2. There is also a restaurant/cafe across the road
3. A general store is within a short walk,
4. Rooms are comfortable and self-contained with a separate bedroom, plus with air-con. You can prepare your own meals or eat out.
5. The pool and barbeque area is pleasant and a good place to unwind.
6. The staff are helpful and keen to please.
7. The other guests are also friendly (must be the relaxed atmosphere here).
7. Free undercover off-street parking.

It is a 25 minute drive by car or public bus to Cairns. However, if you're driving up or down the coast this is a great place to stop and unwind for a few days.

This place but i

Room Tip: Some higher rooms have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris19531955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Very well situated in lovely tropical gardens. Rooms large and clean. Management and staff very helpful. Would go back again. The beach was a bit off but the weather was wet so hard to compare.

Room Tip: Would have been nice to have a beach room for the view. Did not appear to be any lifts for the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

everything about the Cairns Beach Resort was excellent, staff nice and friendly, apartments clean and well equipped, great beach opposite, all in all just a great place to chill out. booked for 4 days ended up staying an extra 6 days. there's a couple of good restaurants close by and also the sports club is very good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermfromdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holloways Beach
5.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
610 reviews
6.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
5.6 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
6.4 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Beach Resort

Address: 129 Oleander St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Price Range: $104 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location - Cairns Beach Resort is minutes north of Cairns City and next to the beach and warm tropical waters. Indulge in the simplicity of a truly relaxed lifestyle. Our four star resort offers everything to create a home away from home on the beach. The resort’s tropical gardens offer you peace and tranquility to read and relax, or to float in the saltwater resort style pool. Simple pleasures - pure relaxation… think Cairns Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Beach Hotel Holloways Beach
Hotel Cairns Beach
Cairns Beach Resort Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing