We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany”
Review of La Parrina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Parrina
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Albinia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed every minute we were guest at La Parrina. We found the entire experience delightful and enchanting. WIsh I was back there!

Room Tip: Our room was warm, large, and cozy. It had a large bathtub and hot water! I understand some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

Quick low down: make sure to get there during the day. loved the acres of land full of olive trees and vineyard. The room my husband and I stayed in was rustic-eclectic. Staff was welcoming and trustworthy. We stayed in the Generale room on second floor. Slender bathroom was somewhat bizarre but did the trick. : ) Very small bathtub with shower head holder. Dinner was in a beautiful family friendly yet romantic environment. Entres were simple but tasty. Few choices. Must see organic local market on the farm. Wines are from the property-good selection from the vineyard.Very quiet room, clean.

Price was very reasonable - 120 euros per night and dinner was roughly 60 to 70 euros each night. We stayed for two nights.

Room Tip: hotel rooms are nicely appointed (they have apartment rooms also, but value is in the hotel rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed there for 4 days and 3 nights with some friends in July 2011. We bicycled the nearby countryside each day. Our suite on the 3rd floor was amazing. I understand the house was built in the 1300s, and remodeled in 1830. All the walls must be 2 to 3 feet thick. Other than the addition of electricity, AC and lights, the house remains as it was in 1830. It's like living in a time machine! Don't expect a high-rise hotel like in Roma or Florence, but if you truly want to step back in time and enjoy a slower pace of life, this is your chance.

Though I speak no Italian, the people who run La Parrina are kind and gracious and incredibly helpful. The meals and wine were always wonderful. All of the food is organic and grown on the estate. The pool was always a welcome relief at the end of a day of pedaling the Tuscan countryside from La Parrina. My wife and I can't wait to go back some day! This was our wedding anniversary trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ride105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Reading the reviews (I speak both English and Italian) below makes me think that people will complain about nearly anything. The place isn't perfect but people need to realize their staying at an estate in the country. They're not going to get five-star service with everything handed to them on a silver platter. While La Parrina does run an agriturismo, it is largely a working estate where they produce their own wine, cheeses, yogurt, honey, jams and a cornucopia of produce... all of which can be purchased on-site and are great for putting together picnics in the country.

We stayed for four nights in one of the apartments - two bedrooms, two baths - la Casa di Laura. It was perfect for our family. It had a kitchen, clean bathrooms and plenty of space. Yes, it's not in the main house but the building is 20 steps or so from the main house. The main tasting room (where breakfast and lunch are served) is on the ground level. All apartments have nice terraces where you can sit outside and eat or enjoy some fresh air. The pool was great - spotless with a manicured lawn and a view of the vineyards.

The service was spotty - some people like Patrick, one of the waiters, were extremely helpful while others were somewhat aloof. You know what? I can overlook that - the place is simply beautiful, the courtyard is a wonderful place to relax or eat and you're within easy reach of towns like Porto Ercole, Manciano, Capalbio, Porto Santo Stefano, etc. At 140 EUR a night for two bedrooms, we were happy. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brichford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I can't speak italian but I would suspect that my husband and I had a similar experience as the previous reviewers. We arrived to a beautiful 450 acre winery. It had potential! But when we arrived there was no one at the reception so I flagged down a workman who called the young lady to greet us. I actually had called earlier in the day to mention when we were arriving and could we make a reservation at the restaurant. I was told that the restaurant was not open but there were other eating options. No problem. When we arrived we were told that we were not staying at the main house/hotel but in one of their apartments because we were the only ones staying there at this time period and did not want to heat the whole house. They should have just told us they were not open. The apartment is also the location of the other workers on the property. I had to arrange for breakfast for ourselves and then we were left to our own devices. Daniella did recommend a great restaurant for dinner. The next day she did help us with ferry stuff and another restaurant that turned out to be not so good. But that was it. No linen change that day-no bed made and at a cost of $185 per night. Definitely not worth it. That is too bad. It is such a lovely property. But just visit it, don't stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandMRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank yves l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank LucaA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albinia
5.5 mi away
Corte dei Butteri
Corte dei Butteri
#2 of 2 in Fonteblanda
530 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
762 reviews
4.0 mi away
San Biagio Relais
San Biagio Relais
#6 of 20 in Orbetello
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#1 of 3 in Albinia
145 reviews
3.8 mi away
Agriturismo Villa Trieste
5.1 mi away
Agriturismo Al Girasole
Agriturismo Al Girasole
#13 of 49 in Orbetello
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Parrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Parrina

Address: Km. 146 Via Aurelia, 58010 Albinia, Orbetello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Orbetello > Albinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Albinia
Price Range: $107 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenuta la Parrina is one of the oldest historic farm that lies between the low hills of the Tuscan Maremma. Inside the old manor house, which have been home to the owners and they empoloyees since 1830, you can find now 12 rooms, still with the original furniture. The Tenuta has also apparments, located in a building that houses our private church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Parrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Parrina Italy/Albinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing