We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“third visit but it will be the last”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chichester Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wickford
Reviewed January 23, 2013

ive stayed here 3 times now, always on business and therefore booked by someone else.
after the first time i wouldnt have wanted to re visit.
the hotel is dated and i found the beds very uncomfortable.
without doubt the worst part of the whole experience was the restaurant, a very limited menu and when it did come i could only describe it as just edible.
steer clear

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 298 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Although I stayed here a couple of months ago I remember it well.

Check in was quick and efficient - lady was nice enough!

Rooms were dated and could do with a lick of paint and a few nicer paintings hung on the wall but it was sufficient. We were only staying one night. The bed itself was comfortable and I had a good night sleep. And the room was clean and had enough room for the three of us. Bathroom was clean too.

We were out late so we entered back through a door around 1:30am.

Breakfast was fine - nothing to grumble about!

Would stay again,

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsSalvati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel was good value and the room had all that we needed though the furnishings looked a bit dated.
We stayed on a Sunday evening and there was no food available (not even a sandwich) after the restaurant closed at 6pm

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyann50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nice spacious room, quiet with comfortable bed providing good night's sleep. Reasonable restaurant, though lacking any atmosphere. Food pretty decent though. Very friendly reception staff. Overall decent value for money, and I will stay again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and I am sure we will stay there again. Reception thinks we are part of the furniture (thanks Lynne). Everyone is friendly enough and the rooms and the bathroom are of a good size, Some of the furniture is starting to look a bit tired and for some unknown reason we are not attracted to the bar or the restaurant, Southend, Basildon or Rayleigh offer a wider choice of gastronomic entertainment. So, no criticism intended. The Hotel complex does attract a wide variety of clients who are celebrating some event in the Function Room. The place seems to be generally busy so must have gained some respect from those who are aware of its existence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerjanits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Weve been using this hotel for some time now, we always get the same consistent service and value for money prices. Its in a rural location, but quite close to things if you want the nightlife of Basildon. The rooms are clean and the staff welcoming. The bar next door is always quiet but the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Quite hotel in pleasant rural setting with ample parking. Breakfast not included in price, which seems to be pitched at Travel Lodge market but was actually cheaper. Did not sample dining facilities so cannot comment. Good sized, clean and well equipped room for the price. Only negative was a very hard bed - like sleeping on an oversize ironing board.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernblue109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wickford
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
194 reviews
6.7 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
423 reviews
12.0 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
741 reviews
9.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chichester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chichester Hotel

Address: Old London Road, Wickford SS11 8UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Wickford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wickford
Price Range: $88 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chichester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chichester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chichester Hotel Wickford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing