We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“here we are again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chichester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chichester Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wickford
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“here we are again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and I am sure we will stay there again. Reception thinks we are part of the furniture (thanks Lynne). Everyone is friendly enough and the rooms and the bathroom are of a good size, Some of the furniture is starting to look a bit tired and for some unknown reason we are not attracted to the bar or the restaurant, Southend, Basildon or Rayleigh offer a wider choice of gastronomic entertainment. So, no criticism intended. The Hotel complex does attract a wide variety of clients who are celebrating some event in the Function Room. The place seems to be generally busy so must have gained some respect from those who are aware of its existence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nerjanits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    85
    60
    24
    34
See reviews for
59
55
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Weve been using this hotel for some time now, we always get the same consistent service and value for money prices. Its in a rural location, but quite close to things if you want the nightlife of Basildon. The rooms are clean and the staff welcoming. The bar next door is always quiet but the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Quite hotel in pleasant rural setting with ample parking. Breakfast not included in price, which seems to be pitched at Travel Lodge market but was actually cheaper. Did not sample dining facilities so cannot comment. Good sized, clean and well equipped room for the price. Only negative was a very hard bed - like sleeping on an oversize ironing board.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northernblue109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I Stayed at this hotel for one night on 11th August. The room was well appointed and the young lady on reception was very helpful. The following morning however I found the staff in the breakfast room were not in the least helpful. First I had to wait to be seated even though the dining room was virtually empty. Following this, not having noticed that it was a help yourself breakfast, I was left seated for five minutes unattended. On 'checking out' the young man on reception used absolutely no manners at all, even though I was very respectful with my please and thank you's this person never once acknowledged good manners. His only utterance was "have a good day" which was said more like a command and completely lacked sincerity. On top of this an important message left for me via a phone call the previous night was never passed on. I am sure this criticism is not true of all the staff hopefully I was just unfortunate to experience some who should not be working in the hospitality business. Brian H

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terry4003, Manager at The Chichester Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We thank the guest for thier comments. Having reviewed the CCTV system for the morning of the 12th August. I observed the maximum delay in seating a guest for breakfast was approximately 1 minute and 50 seconds. Whilst this small delay is not desirable it may have have been due to the servers fulfilling the requirements of other guests. We regret the guest did not realise that continental breakfast is self service as in most hotels ( with the exception of toast). Guests are normaly advised to self serve from the central buffet, I will remind the servers to make sure guests are informed of this. Finally on checkout we encourage the receptionists to gage guests demeaner rather than a corporate approach. Some require an efficient less personal approach and some are chatty etc. Our policy is to interact with the guests in a manner thats recognises thier individuality and respond accordingly we regret if the guest feels we did not do this on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Some of their rooms are a bit dated however if you request an executive or honeymoon suite these have recently been upgraded - cost a little extra however are really nicely furnished. Overall I found the hotel to be very welcoming, especially the lady on reception! Food was okay! Shame that the restaurant is no longer al-la-carte however the food provided was perfectly reasonable for bar food! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights 24 and 25 july 2012, reception and room great, although very low ceiling for shower in room 203 but moved on request. Rooms are big enough with double bed and seperate small sofa. However the the bar and restaurant seemed to be managed by an over zealous and rude female manager who must come from the worst background in hospitality you could find. Because of this woulf would not sytay there again as is a little of beaten track and nowhere alse to dine or drink.

Room Tip: Take your own towel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazroid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terry4003, Manager at The Chichester Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We very much regret this guest was not fully satisfied with our service, We believe the character assessment of our Restaurant Manageress to be unjustified. This guest was part of a group who ordered and comsumed food in the restaurant, at the time of presenting the bill one guest disputed the charges allocated to thier room ( although room numbers had been taken at the time of ordering). The Restaurant manager made her best endevours to establish to which room the charge of £7.75 should be reallocated at which point a member of the party became aggressive towards her, despite her best efforts to pacify them clearly this guest still feels aggrieved. The bar closer time midweek is now 10.30 pm and has been for over a year as our experince has shown that guests who required this service later often disturbed others whilst returning to thier room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I were staying here as part of a family wedding. We got a £4 discount for booking online well in advance. Checking was very efficient and were allocated room 107 in the far right corner. The colour scheme (browns and oak furniture) may be a bit dark but the quality of the beds, linen and furniture was spot on. In fact I would say the beds are excellent. The flat screen TV had all the free view channels. The bathroom tiles were again a bit odd and the bath panel was slightly cracked but everything else worked and was clean. The towels were a bit on the small size but sufficient. There is some road noise over the fields from the A130 but just the normal hotel noises from other rooms and outside. The walls are not thin just hotel standard.
As other people has mention the bar is small and it's opening times are it and miss. What guest are not told is the function rooms (Essex Barn and restaurant) are owned by another company) The bar in the restaurant was open during lunch and early evening. Breakfast - We opted for the Continental option at £5.75p each. On the Sunday morning there was a very good selection of fruit juice, cereals, bread, tinned fruit etc with lots of toast. On the Monday morning the choice was more limited (depends how guest there are).
The open courtyard in the centre of the hotel was lovely. The perfect place to meet up with other family members for a chat (in the Sunshine!). The cleaning staff were friendly and helpful and check out was again efficient. We paid £61 for the Saturday night and £43 for the Sunday night. In summary a nice hotel, brilliant for a wedding in the function rooms with plenty of "good" aspects with no real "could be better" items.

Room Tip: No one in our party said they had a real faults with their room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Straightforward_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wickford
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
7.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
6.7 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chichester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chichester Hotel

Property: The Chichester Hotel
Address: Old London Road, Wickford SS11 8UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Wickford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wickford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chichester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chichester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chichester Hotel Wickford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing