We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Wrong with this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chichester Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wickford
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing Wrong with this Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I were staying here as part of a family wedding. We got a £4 discount for booking online well in advance. Checking was very efficient and were allocated room 107 in the far right corner. The colour scheme (browns and oak furniture) may be a bit dark but the quality of the beds, linen and furniture was spot on. In fact I would say the beds are excellent. The flat screen TV had all the free view channels. The bathroom tiles were again a bit odd and the bath panel was slightly cracked but everything else worked and was clean. The towels were a bit on the small size but sufficient. There is some road noise over the fields from the A130 but just the normal hotel noises from other rooms and outside. The walls are not thin just hotel standard.
As other people has mention the bar is small and it's opening times are it and miss. What guest are not told is the function rooms (Essex Barn and restaurant) are owned by another company) The bar in the restaurant was open during lunch and early evening. Breakfast - We opted for the Continental option at £5.75p each. On the Sunday morning there was a very good selection of fruit juice, cereals, bread, tinned fruit etc with lots of toast. On the Monday morning the choice was more limited (depends how guest there are).
The open courtyard in the centre of the hotel was lovely. The perfect place to meet up with other family members for a chat (in the Sunshine!). The cleaning staff were friendly and helpful and check out was again efficient. We paid £61 for the Saturday night and £43 for the Sunday night. In summary a nice hotel, brilliant for a wedding in the function rooms with plenty of "good" aspects with no real "could be better" items.

Room Tip: No one in our party said they had a real faults with their room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Straightforward_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    85
    62
    23
    34
See reviews for
62
55
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I've stayed here twice now, the first time I ate elsewhere with clients and skipped breakfast - the service was good from reception and th room was confortable and clean if a little dated.
This time around I was given an upgrate to an executive room. As before it's clean adn comfortable the exec bit means a bigger room with a settee and a bigger bathroom, with, of all things, a bidet!!!

I did eat here this time and to be honest the menu and food is a bit rubbish. No steak on the menu, just sliced roast sirloin with various sauces and vegetables - very very dated and no dessert menu?!?!?!?

Breakfast though, was absolute bobbins. £9.75 for a full english breaskfast including the continental buffet - the buffet just had some plasticy croissants and some supermarket low fat yogurt (still in it's supermarket carton). The full english was crap. 1 egg that was over cooked sitting on top of 1 piece of fried bread. 1 sausage - not even a tasty sausage, a frozen sawdusty one. 2 rashers of back bacon that looked nad tasted deep fried, same with the mushrooms - very greasy. and a cooked tomato. for £9.75????????? If you need to stay in the area stay in the Bell at Hornden on the hill. The rooms are cheaper (between 50 and 75) and the breakfast rocks - cheaper, more choice with the sort of fresh local produce you'd expect to get if you paid a tenner, but for much less.
I'd stay again but only if I couldn't get in anywhere else and I would eat elsewhere.

Oh and as I type it's 8am and some sort of maintenance is being carried out downstairs so loudly I've had to cancel a planned call this morning!!

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room as should keep the noise of other guests to a minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzapants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for four nights, Tuesday to Saturday. The room we were allocated was a fair size with a double bed and a sofa so you don't have to lie on the bed to watch tv which is a bonus. The bar and restaurant have very strange hours as the bar closes at 6-30 on a Friday evening an the restaurant isn't open at all so we were redirected to the stable bar across the car park only to be informed that they were unable to serve food that particular night as they had a private function booked !!. Despite this the staff were polite and helpful, however as far as cleanliness is concerned we noticed that the room was not vacuumed at all throughout our stay, although clean towels were provided daily. On the subject of towels I would advise prospective guests to take there own as those provided by the hotel are on the small side !. In conclusion my opinion is that his hotel is comfortable and pleasant if a little off the beaten track and I would certianly consider staying again If we were in the area,

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph19680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming Surrey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was placed in this hotel on behalf of a client so had no choice about the reservation. However I was not disappointed, I found the hotel very comfortable and friendly. I felt that for the price it represented excellent value for money. Priced at the same level as the chain hotels it offered so much more in terms of comfort, the breakfast and personal nature of the staff. Small touches like free newspaper , Wi-Fi and helpful staff made a great deal of difference. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hastead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were going to a friend's 40th nearby and got a last minute cancellation at the hotel. From start to finish our stay was perfect. The hotel is in a lovely countryside setting and our room was spacious and comfortable, comfy bed and a decent cot for our baby. The extra bed was a lot higher than our toddler is used to-thud!- comfortable nevertheless. We had a lovely cup of tea WITH biscuits when we got into our room-a real treat! There was an ironing board and travel iron in the wardrobe without having to ask at reception. Reception could not help enough, offering to book taxis and making recommendations for food. They even lent me a couple of safety pins for my dress! We had a relaxing drink in the courtyard and ate in the Stable Restaurant which was very reasonable (I had a lovely home-made steak and ale pie and vegetables. Again very friendly and helpful staff). We didn't stay for breakfast as our boys are early risers and breakfast isn't served until 08.30 on a Sunday, nevertheless it was a nice touch that a complimentary breakfast for children is included in the room rate which we found excellent value for money given the comfort, setting and service of the hotel. I cannot fault this hotel and my little boy actually asked whether we could go back there! Enough said!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Room good size and clean. We stayed in dreadful weather conditions and we were able adjust the room temperature to our liking. Bed and pillows rather soft for personal taste, smaller than usual towels. Shower rather dated. Hotel staff efficient. Good quality breakfast and service.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanmaryG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
788 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was our second visit to this Hotel and it was excellent on both occasions.The rooms are spacious, comfortable, quiet and warm.The hotel is set back from the traffic on Old London Road.There is a Restaurant within the hotel which has a varied selection of cuisine. The sunday lunch was excellent.There is a function hall which caters for weddings throughout the year.Next door there is a bar and another function room which holds DINNER DISCO parties. It is a very popular venue, booked out well in advance!

Room Tip: book early to avoid dissappointment as 3 couples in our party found to their dismay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOBSTER64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wickford
7.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
9.1 mi away
Ivy Hill Hotel
Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.8 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chichester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chichester Hotel

Property: The Chichester Hotel
Address: Old London Road, Wickford SS11 8UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Wickford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wickford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chichester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chichester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chichester Hotel Wickford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing