We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great environment”
Review of Inn at Whitewell

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Whitewell
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently paid our second visit to the inn and could not wait to return. We arrived on a gloomy wintery morning , and as usual the open fires in the bar area gave a Cosy welcome. We were not able to check into our rooms until 2 pm, so had to leave our bags in the car until then. The decor is just lovely, with stuffed animals, lovely old prints and paintings , and interesting objects from days gone by ( lots of old bathroom scales for example ). Stayed in room 5. Huge comfortable bed, fire in the room , which could be lit on request, gorgeous river views, and a luxurious en suite bathroom with robes and thick soft towels. Opted to eat elsewhere at lunch time as the inn does get very busy at this time, and we were with a large group of 7 couples. The surroundings are beautiful, with the rolling hills, forests and the River Hodder running along the back of the Inn.
Only niggles this time were the wait to check into our room, necessity to choose from three starters and mains for our evening meal ( due to the size of our party ), and a feeling that the staff were either indifferent to, or a little irritated by our presence. ( this had not been the case on our previous visit, and we had been allowed to book our meals in advance and choose from the entire menu ). I think the food at Whitewell is perfectly fine, but not outstanding. On the morning of our departure we felt a little pressed to leave as the room cleaning staff were camped outside our room at 09.00. Quite expensive for less than 24 hours stay. You should choose Whitewell for the quirky, characterful nature of the Inn itself, and the beautiful countryside surrounding, but not necessarily for great care and attention from the staff or for outstanding food.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 12 both beautiful , though the bath in 5 is less comfortable due to the large drainage p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your review, although I am sorry that the team clearly weren't as gregarious as usual, I'll find out why. Hope we see you again. Regards Cb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 878 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from a long awaited stay at the inn and it well worth the wait!! Everything about this stay was fantastic to the warm relaxed welcome , the beautiful room 11 which was so comfortable with stunning views over the river and the open fire a treat on a cold winters night. The food both in the restaurant in the evening and breakfast was excellent, served by friendly and attentive staff and can honestly find no fault. Busy bar during meal service times but no lengthy waits at the bar and had a really nice atmosphere . Everyone we encountered at the inn was friendly and helpful and I cannot praise it enough. As the reason for our stay was a special occasion could not have spent 24 hours anywhere better!! Looking forward already to returning soon.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mikazg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

What a great review thank you. Room 11 does have the advantage those stunning views,l so glad you enjoyed your stay, hope we see you again. Regards Cb.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My dad has stayed at 'The Inn' dozens of times, and raved about it for many years, so we were delighted to finally make the drive over for lunch on a recent visit up North. It was a cold and wet day, but we felt instantly at home from the moment we set foot in this wonderful old building. It's effortlessly elegant and deeply relaxed, set in its own river valley with the most breathtaking views imaginable. Every dish we ordered was really delicious yet wore its gastronomic credentials lightly, much like the place itself. We especially loved the slow cooked shoulder of Lonk lamb with hotpot potatoes (the best lamb I've ever tasted) and pork served with black pudding mash was exceptionally good. We were only sorry we hadn't booked to stay the night, and we'll be back on our next Northbound trip to put that right.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilHonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review, so pleased you had a good time with us and hopefully you might stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The rooms were furnished so beautifully with traditional and unique style. Look online at the great bedroom photos. We ate in the restaurant which was fantastic. Old world charm and excellent service. We walked around the stunning local area which I thoroughly recommend too .

Room Tip: Look online at their web page photo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulipCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for the review, so glad you had a happy stay and i hope we see you gain before too long. Regards cb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed at the inn on many occasions over the last twenty years, birthdays, anniversaries,family functions. The rooms are always nice whichever you choose. Having stayed in many nice hotels in the world I still feel the inn is rather expensive. On occasions the room is not always just ready and there is no problem having a delicious light meal in the bar looking out onto the river. I really do not like my room being made up for the next guests when I am having breakfast, which again is delicious. For the price of the room you generally check in at 2pm and feel rather 'hoofed out ' at 10am. There is a touch of country snobbery about the place with locals, but I think it adds to the quirkiness of the place. The owner Charles is as charming as his parents were, and the staff are nice. I went to a wedding last August and was not very impressed with certain aspects ie the music failed as the bride walked up the .'aisle' for want of a better word. The wedding planner had a very basic music set which wasn't up to the job. I felt a wee bit sorry for the bride. The wedding breakfast was excellent, although the evening buffet was really rushed. The inn is a beautifully furnished shabby chic, original antiques,comforting inn. The food is always excellent and the location blissful. The shop sells nice products including the inns preserves which are always nice to take home. Peat fires in winter a must for ambiance river rooms in summer breathtaking views. Hope this is a helpful review.

Room Tip: River views in summer a must. Coach house nice for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Many thanks for your review, i am pleased to report we do have a swanky new i player. Small mistake but check out is not until 11am and house keeping don't start cleaning the rooms until a guest has left. Hope that helps, regards cb.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our third visit to The Inn at Whitewell and it reminded us of why we love it so much. Our room (room 5) had an open peat fire and looked out over the river and valley. Beautiful big comfy bed and a sofa in front of the fire.
The food in the restaurant was great. I'd call it honest food. Not elaborately contrived but perfectly prepared and full of flavour. I had scallops to start and then a charred fillet steak with the most intensely flavoured parsnip puree. Great side of green beans, with a mustard butter dressing.
Great for couples and romantic weekends; walks in the quite magnificent countryside and indulgent meals or drinks in front of the many fireplaces in the restaurant and bar areas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Glad your hat trick stay was enjoyable and many thanks for taking the time to review us. \Hope we see you again before too long. Regards CB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

our 4th year as a post Christmas romantic chill out!
can't fault it ... just bliss!!
the rooms are stunning with a faint aroma of bees wax.... you could be in the 18th century but with access to the modem world should you chose to connect!!
food to die for!
excellent hospitality
all round just wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Many thanks for your review, bees wax and coffee with a hint of log fire, someone should bottle it. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Cb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitewell
8.0 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,097 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
453 reviews
9.5 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
243 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
502 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Whitewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Whitewell

Address: Dunsop Road, Whitewell BB7 3AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Whitewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitewell
Price Range: $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Whitewell 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Inn At Whitewell Hotel Whitewell
Inn Whitewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing