We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Fantastic View”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Geiger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Geiger
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hopfen am See
Certificate of Excellence
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location and Fantastic View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

We used this as our home base while we visited the castles in Fussen. It is a short drive to castles. The lake view is amazing! Make sure you book a room with a lake view! Each of the rooms on the lakeside has a balcony with chairs. The room was very clean. It was not large, but did not feel cramped as the balcony and door gave the room a very open feel. Breakfast was very good! We did not eat at the restaurant on site for dinner as there were so many choices within walking distance. Parking can be a challenge as there are only a limited number of spots on sight. I can't complain as the owner went and moved his car and gave us his spot when we could not locate one. My only complaint was the computer wireless/ connection was down. I had to go to a lobby area to use the computer. That was very disappointing, but again the owner tried his best to make it work.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCworldexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    38
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
58
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

We only stayed at this hotel for 1 night on our way to Munich but I wish we could have stayed more. The hotel is located close to Fuessen and to the world-renown castles (Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein), you can get there by car in about 10 mins. It is right in front of a small lake surrounded by mountains and is located in the peaceful town of Hopfen am See. The hotel itself is perfect and welcomes you with a warm feeling. Rooms are quite spacious, clean and comfortable - we had one with a side view of the lake. Added value is provided by the local 'spa', which is a small wellness area on the 1st floor offering a sauna, a steam bath, showers and a relaxing area with chaise-longues. Towels and bathrobes are provided upon request at the reception. We didn't eat at their restaurant but saw it was pretty crowded for the afternoon tea+cakes and for dinner (their home-made cakes looked amazing)- we only had breakfast there and it was really nice and varied. It's definitely a hidden gem where you can spend some peaceful time surrounded by nature, or where you can relax after you have hit the castles during the day.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

I would start off by saying it deserves 3+ or 4. The cleanliness and tidyness is second to none, even by german standards - which are already on a high level. The referred-to stay was in september 2008, and it was 8 in the evening and they only had two rooms available - a Logen zimmer with a lake view at €136 per night including breakfast (for two), and a regular double room on the back side.
As it was my third visit to this hidden gem of a resort village, I already knew a room with a lake view would be mandatory, so despite the fairly high room cost, the decision was to go for this one. The location is top - the view is magnificent across the lake and towards the Allgäuer Alpen.
The room was very large and comfortable, with a separate sitting area with couch, table and a big LCD TV. The bathroom is immaculate and very roomy.
Breakfast is more than adequate and up to german standard - which is very good and good to have as a start of a sightseeing day for a fellow germanic visitor :)
I have not tried the hotel restaurant for dinner, as there are so many choices along the 'Allgäuer Riviera' - my personal favourite being the Riviera restaurant (Italian), which is just a 2 minute walk from the hotel entrance.
While most visitors are German or german speaking, I assume you will get around with english - I was lucky enough to be greeted by a very beautiful young lady who spoke flawless english.
The area is a well known resort among German people, perhaps a lot less known to foreigners, even in such close proximity to Füssen (only 5 km away), which is where some of the major attractions of the area lie - the castles of the fairy tale king Ludwig draw more visitors than any other major attraction in the country, and they are a joy to visit. Do not miss out on a trip to the wonderful 'wedding cake' palace and gardens of Schloss Linderhof either - just an hour's drive away, or combine it into a roundtrip along the Plansee in Austria (the border is less than 10 km away in the direction of Reutte), or a visit to Zugspitze - Germany's highest peak at 2963 metres. Go up from Ehrwald in Tirol, Austria (cable car) or Garmisch-Partenkirchen (a choice of cogwheel train + cable car or just a direct cable car). Oh, and do remember to drop by Wieskirche on the way back - or Oberammergau - or both..hmm maybe make it two day trips? ;)
Go for a walk along the Uferpromenade, but even better - stroll all the way along the Hopfensee for a relaxing afternoon - the walk is 6,8 kilometres and is home to several species of birds.
A place and hotel to return to, indeed!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tertitt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights during our excursions to the castles. The hotel is just outside of Fussen on a peaceful alpine lake and just a short drive to the castles. Service was terrific, and we were pleased to get a free room upgrade upon arrival. The staff was great with restaurant suggestions, and they even gave us a beautiful calendar as a goodbye gift. Definitely book a room with a view of the lake. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious, clean, and modern. The bed was the most comfortable we had during our entire trip. Walk along the lake to watch the sunset and then chose any of the wonderful restaurants for dinner. The meal at the hotel was fine, but there were several other places we enjoyed more. Next time, we hope to take advantage of the spa services too. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucknut_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopfen am See
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Hotel Am Hopfensee
#14 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpengluehn
Hotel Alpengluehn
#10 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartung's Hotel Village & Spa
Hartung's Hotel Village & Spa
#2 of 3 in Hopfen am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Biohotel Eggensberger
Biohotel Eggensberger
#19 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geiger

Property: Hotel Geiger
Address: Uferstr. 18, 87629 Hopfen am See, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen > Hopfen am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hopfen am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Geiger 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Geiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing