We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the seventies”
Review of Hotel Zum Walde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Zum Walde
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stolberg
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We choose this hotel to spend a weekend, specially for the sauna. The service we received in the the hotel was great. This you only can find in this kind of German hotels. If you like this you will have great time.
Sauna was smaller than expected, kind of German basic. Not a place to spend several hours, certainly not whole day.
The room was OK, bathroom recently refurbished, however the bed was of a quality you normally only find in French hotels. Very bad comfort I must say.
In general this hotel is good for one night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonHaarlemV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelzumWalde, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Walde, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Ron,

thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you liked our service, as it is very important for us to do whatever possible to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.

Sure our sauna area cannot be compared to the big thermal spas that offer dozens of saunas, but the general feedback from our guests is that - now that the spa area has been enlarged - the combination of swimming-pool, hot sauna, warm sauna and steam bath is perfect to fit everyone's needs and desires. Most guests love to spend a lot of time there, reading a book or newspaper, taking some rounds in the saunas, and then have dinner or just a nice drink in the pool bistro. Our understanding of wellness is not to jump in and out of a sauna and taking as many sauna turns as possible, but to calm down and just relax.

Besides this, our area offers lots of possibilities to spend your time, may it be in one of the near cities in Germany (Aachen), the Netherlands (Maastricht) or Belgium (Lüttich), or just enjoying the nature while taking a walk through the forest or going to the National park Eifel.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not like your bed, we always beg our guests to state such things as early as possible as we would surely have found a solution, for example change the room or the mattrass or whatever. Next time you might visit us please let us know if there is something wrong that we could change.

Kind regards
Melanie Bungenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 106 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very friendly little hotel in a quiet location. Positives were the very friendly staff and the cleanliness, and I felt like I was in another country rather than in a soulless hotel where I could be anywhere in the world. We had a problem with dinner service on the first night - starters took 1 hour 10 mins to arrive, and it was irritating to watch the waiter passing by our table taking order after order into the pool area and to people's rooms for room service, whilst we waited and waited. However, when we complained, staff were very apologetic and offered us a free drink. They need to sort staffing levels, though, as this marred our evening. Food was delicious and we did eat there again the second night, where service was much better. Parking was included in our booking, but was very limited - people who arrived late had real difficulty finding somewhere to park on the surrounding streets. You definitely need a car to stay here as there isn't anything within walking distance - and be warned, there are times where if you want to use the pool, you can't wear a swimming costume. I would stay here again for a couple of nights but couldn't in all honesty rate as very good, I'd say good to average.

Room Tip: If being in an "annexe" bothers you, ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Jilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelzumWalde, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Walde, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear 11Jilly,

thank you very much for your nice review! We are very happy to hear that you liked our staff and our "soul" ;-)

We are once again very sorry for the inconviniences during your first night's dinner. We know that it might feel a little strange to see food passing by to guests that are not visible, but we believe that it is fairest to work "first ordered, first served". Nevertheless our aim always is to serve the first course as quickly as possible to go sure that our guests are not hungrily waiting too long. Therefore we highly apologize that we didn't manage to recieve our aim the first night.

We are happy to read that you would stay again for a couple of nights and are looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Kind regards
Melanie Bungenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have to say the staff here are just the friendliest around - everyone smiles as you pass and they seem happy to see you. Everyone was really helpful.

The hotel itself is in a very quiet village location. Breakfast was good enough, pretty typical stuff. The rooms themselves are just a little dated perhaps (well the whole place is!) but its comfy and everything is spotlessly clean and maintained.

Definately recommended

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hastur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelzumWalde, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Walde, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your warm words! Having guests like you makes it easy for us to walk around smiling ;-)

We would be pleased if we can welcome you again!

Kind regards
Melanie Bungenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was our first trip to Germany, and first hotel there, where we book ourselves into "Double Room Schwalbennest". When you look at the map you will see that it's right in the town center, but when you get there it's really isolated, a bit aside and quiet - that's what really appealed to me, even if it's not quite as the name would suggest: "Zum Walde" - "Near the Forest". When we got there - all dining areas were taken by Belgian bikers, so for our evening the hotel staff sited us in breakfast room and we were served individually and treated like royals! There's a swimming pool in the hotel, but because we got there late and started early next day - we didn't have a chance to try it. But I heard a lot of good stories about that. Some hours at swimming pool - stated at the door - are for nude users only. Rooms are not top modern, but very clean and large enough to accommodate two adults and a 4-year-old child, even the double bed was large enough for three of us. I would rather recommend this hotel for tourist with own transport, but car parking spaces at the hotel are very limited (you can park you car just on the road running at the back of the hotel).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endrju_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelzumWalde, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Walde, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your very good review!!! We are so happy to read that you liked your stay, even though you did not find the time to make use of all our facilities. We would be very glad if you want to visit us again and stay more nights, so that you can see and use everything we have to offer!

Greetings
Melanie Bungenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here just after Easter 2012. The hotel is very much in the German 'rustic' style with antlers etc on the walls. We had a 'romantic' room (larger and with balcony) with the bathroom recently updated to very good standard. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, all speaking good English. The breakfast was good as was the restaurant.

What makes this hotel special however is the spa area. The updating was not complete when we stayed (having overrun its schedule) but the new saunas, steam room and shower were all available as was the swimming pool. As others have noted this is a naturist area (though costumes allowed at certain times) and I would advise anyone who hasn't tried nude swimming to take the opportunity. Certainly a swim before breakfast or after a day's sightseeing is very relaxing.

The hotel is a little difficult to find as road signs are not too good, so I advise printing off directions from the internet or, of course, using a satnav. But once there it is a good location for visiting Aachen, Eupen, or Monschau.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelzumWalde, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Walde, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear guest,

Wow, thank you so much for this nice review! It is wonderful to see that our guests like our newly refurbished bathrooms. I'm sure you would also love our new bar Waldgeist - if you are planning another holiday with us, we would be very pleased to hear from you!

Kind regards
Melanie Bungenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Instead of going to a hotel room for 4, our option was an apartment where we had three times more space than in the hotel and no rush in the morning to arrive on time for breakfast; we had our own kitchen. The apartments inside are OK although some renovation would make a big difference. The kitchen is not very well equipped, however we asked for a toaster and we got one in less than 5 minutes. The hotel personal was extremely nice and very helpful before and during our stay. We had no problems with the free parking lots, probably because there were several vacant apartments. The WiFi access was not included in the room rate but we only pay 5 euros for the whole week, you can only connect one device at a time. If you have mobility problems be aware that the apartments have no elevator. If you stay for at least 7 nights I recommend you give them a call (they speak English) because, at their internet site or through bookings.com, you don’t get the price reduction for long stays. Anyway, a phone call is worthwhile because they have several options including/excluding breakfast/cleaning/Spa/Parking. The apartments are 50 meters away, up a small hill, from the hotel and reception! In the area you have a couple of restaurants and that’s all, you need a car.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GG_Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelzumWalde, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Walde, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your very nice review! We are happy to see that we offered exactly the type of room that was right for you. The apartments are best value for money if you like the opportunity of self-catering and if you are not intending to make excessive use of the spa area. If you stay more than one night, we also offer a "daily cleaning not included" rate, which is even less expensive and mostly only bookable on our own website, as the other sites such as hotels.com do not give the possibility to offer different services.

We always try our best to deliver kitchen items that are not regularly part of the standard equipment, if possible. So thank you very much for asking for it and hence giving us the opportunity to fulfill your wishes!

Our parking situation is usually very good when you have one of the apartments, as there are always at least as many parking lots at the buildings as there are apartments in the building. So even if the apartments are fully booked, it should always be possible to park right at the building.

You are right stating that it is best to have your own car, as we are situated in a small village and making use of public transportation is possible, but it takes some time to get to Aachen, for example, by bus.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again!

Kind regards
Melanie Bungenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have just spent a week at this Hotel. We had a wonderful time. The Staff are so friendly, and the food was excellent. Our Appartments were massive. Everything was nice and clean, and nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly stay there again.

It is close to Aachen & Cologne, so the Christmas Markets were very easy to reach.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rea9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelzumWalde, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Walde, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear guest,

Wow - thank you so much!!!

Kind regards
Melanie Bungenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stolberg
3.4 mi away
Romantik-Parkhotel am Hammerberg
6.6 mi away
Hotel 24
Hotel 24
#2 of 6 in Eschweiler
4 reviews
5.5 mi away
Landhotel Kallbach
Landhotel Kallbach
#1 of 2 in Huertgenwald
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Zum Alten Forsthaus
Zum Alten Forsthaus
#2 of 2 in Huertgenwald
44 reviews
3.8 mi away
City-Hotel Stolberg
City-Hotel Stolberg
#3 of 3 in Stolberg
30 reviews
11.8 mi away
Vakantiehotel De Lange Man
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zum Walde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Walde

Address: Klosterstr. 4, 52224 Stolberg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Stolberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stolberg
Price Range: $153 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zum Walde 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birch trees, boulders, stacks of wood, pebbled walls, tree discs, stags, vintage forest operations, forest herbs, nesting sites, coats,…yet also: rest, peace, relaxation, breathing, hiking, exploring, e-bike riding, culture and three countries with a lot of nature.This is what you can expect in our hotel and apartment site near the forest totalling 59 country house rooms, apartments and suites, in 4 separate buildings.Our family run hotel offers swimming-pool, two saunas, steam bath, spa treatments, massages, conference rooms, restaurant Kaminstube with terrace, Waldgeist Bar, wifi, and all standard amenities such as telephone, cable TV a.s.o. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zum Walde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing