We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful experience in charming location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais & Chateaux Hotel Burg Schwarzenstein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Burg Schwarzenstein
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Geisenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delightful experience in charming location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We spent a weekend in late June at Relais & Châteaux Hotel Burg Schwarzenstein as guests of a wedding reception.
Location:
It is a romantic setting on top of a hill overlooking vineyards and the Rhine valley below. There is not much left of the castle itself, however the remains and the donjon are integrated in the Burghotel and small park. A new built Parkresidenz and a Michelin starred restaurant complete the ensemble.
Reception:
The reception desk is in the Parkresidenz.
On arrival by car a young member of staff welcomed us on the front steps of the reception area and took care of the luggage. When we checked in at 1.30 pm we were slightly irritated as our room was not ready. The senior receptionist told us they would try to have it finished within 30 minutes. Normally not an issue at all, but when you have to get ready for a wedding ceremony time is an issue especially for the Ladies. This minor glitch on arrival disturbed us for 2 reasons: Handling of this situation by senior staff was not at the professional level we would have expected. Offering the public handicapped bathroom to prepare for the wedding ceremony, if we are in a hurry, was not very sensitive. We decided to wait. Offering a refreshment to bridge the waiting time would have been nice. We took the suggested stroll in the park. On our return the youngest staffer who handled our luggage offered us an espresso. Well done.
Finally our room was ready and from there on everything went smooth and we had a pleasant stay.
Room:
Ours was a large corner room on the first floor in the Parkresidenz. Huge floor to ceiling windows lighten the elegant interior kept in dark wood and beige textiles. The view is on trees, the donjon and the Rhine valley in the distance. There is enough closet and luggage space at the entrance. A sitting area with double-seater and armchair grouped around a glass table decorated with an orchid are inviting. A nice touch were the small Guglhupf (cake) and fruit basket as a welcome. In the large enough bathroom waited a rain shower, double wash-basin, a bench to sit down and not only for the Ladies Hermès toiletries. Not to mention plenty of towels and bath robes. To flood the bathroom with daylight it has a frozen glass sliding door and a huge window into the room (could be shut with a blind, very good). The double bed was very comfortable with white linen sheets. A small working desk completes the interior. Lighting concept throughout the room fits any need and makes for a warm atmosphere including extra reading lights at the bed. Free WiFi anywhere, an IPod dock and flatscreen TV complement the technical necesseties. Last but not least: the minibar with drinks and snacks is free. A nice gesture.
Restaurant:
With the backing of a Michelin restaurant expectations were elevated. Dinner menu - as part of the wedding reception - was very good and satisfied all palates. We dined on the open terrace under grape-vine overlooking the Rhine valley. What a view at sunset when the lights came on. Late breakfast the next morning was a delight. Homemade jams/preserves, a whole honeycomb, duck foie gras, eggs benedict just to name a few ingredients. Everything was available until breakfast finished.
Service was courteous and friendly at anytime.
Pros:
Wonderful setting in the hills of the Rheingau among vineyards. Contemporary luxury hotel with good sized, elegantly appointed rooms. Very quiet living. Late check-out was possible. Michelin restaurant. Within an hour drive of Frankfurt, Wiesbaden, Mainz and Darmstadt and of course the pleasures of the Rhine valley.
Cons:
No spa facilities.

Conclusion:
We would return for a few relaxing days without hesitation. Apart from the minor service glitch on arrival staff was helpful, friendly and polite. We liked the little things that made a difference for us: the welcome Guglhupf, free minibar, Wifi anywhere without a fuzz, late check-out and when we left on a warm afternoon we got some bottles of sparkling water for our journey. The quality of the hotel is worth the price.

Room Tip: Corner room in Parkresidenz overlooking Rhine valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atlantis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    21
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
54
3
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
254 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The location is very special. The bedrooms are beautiful, the staff is superb, and the restaurant is lovely with a beautiful outdoor dining early. It would be nice if they had a swimming pool and some type of workout facility.

Room Tip: Book a room which has a balcony/patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This Chateau Hotel in a Vineyard is only 40 minutes by Car from Frankfurt Airport, with a perfect location above the Rhein.
Service was wonderful, every staff was smiling ,
the room was well decorated, and on the balcony,
you can even hear the birds singing…
Too bad the Gourmet restaurant was closed on monday,
but the Al fresco at Burg restaurant is perfect for a summer evening meal too.

Room Tip: No swimming Pool though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKong1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one if the finest hotels I ever stayed in Europe.
Rooms are excellent and the service is even greater.
The place itself is perfect.
I definitely recommend this hotel for those seeking a quite relaxing stay.
Im looking forward for my coming visit to Germany to stay again in this hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DuaijRaadAlsaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Lovely hotel with beautiful rooms in a lovely area of Germany. Rooms were large, very modern but classy with a large en-suite and kept very clean. Restaurant was really first class and we enjoyed dinner there on both nights of our stay.
Staff were generally very good and very helpful although one or two in the restaurant were a bit less so. Also in the restaurant there could be some improvement in English speaking skills which were very basis for a few of the staff.

Rudesheim, is a beautiful small town nearby in the heart of the wine are and definitely great to visit. In overall terms a great hotel and a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0Gil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Burg Schwarzenstein is a small boutique hotel in the middle of the Rheingau wine region. We had an overall excellent stay.

Service was very good from check-in to check-out. Staff is friendly and efficient. A welcome present consisting of a fruit platter, a small cake, and a half bottle of champagne awaited us in the room. The minibar, well stocked with different soft drinks, is included in the rate.

The room itself was quite nice. The hotel consists of different small buildings, the original nineteenth century Burg (castle) and a modern building from 2010, which houses most of the rooms. We were in a junior suite in the second building. Spacious, with high quality contemporary furnishings, in a beige-brown color palette. Only design twist that we did not particularly like: the window between the bathroom and the bedroom. There are blinds to close it, so privacy is ensured. However, if you turn on the light to use the bathroom during the night, the bedroom will also lighten up slightly.

In the evening, we enjoyed dinner in the Burgrestaurant, which is their second restaurant. They also have a gourmet restaurant. Dinner was perfect. Nice view into the Rhine valley. Courteous service. Very fine food, with a local touch. We had the four-course menu, consisting of char as a starter, an excellent asparagus soup, and lamb as a main.

Breakfast was also very good. Nice selection of fresh fruit and juices. Eggs, pancakes etc. cooked to order. Good selection of pastries.

The clientele is mainly German, many coming over from Frankfurt and Wiesbaden, as you can see from the number plates of the numerous Porsches and BMWs in the parking lot.

Burg Schwarzenstein is excellently located as a basis to explore the Rheingau region, with Schloss Johannisberg and Schloss Vollrads located very close by.

A few little things to improve:

1) Housekeeping leaves their cleaning utensils (vacuum cleaners, linen carts) in the hotel hallways all day long and overnight. This is unacceptable in such a place. They should be stored somewhere out of sight of the hotel guests. Also, housekeeping leaves the doors of their storage rooms (where they e.g., store the drinks for the minibars) ajar all the time. So when you walk by, you enjoy a look of empty beer bottles. Just close the door.

2) Room descriptions on the website could be a bit more precise. For example, some rooms have balconies, some haven't, some have a view, some haven't. Our junior suite, despite being the second highest category available, had neither. We were still very happy with the room, but would have appreciated to know beforehand what we would get / or be able to explicitly book something with a terrace.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guerteltier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel and restaurant. Everything was top notch, the surroundings, the hotel, the rooms, the restaurants, the staff. It was great all the way down to the smallest details. I will definitely be back! It's a small intimate hotel with all the benefits from a large hotel

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank idiStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geisenheim
12.7 mi away
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
5.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Reinhartshausen
Hotel Schloss Reinhartshausen
#3 of 8 in Eltville am Rhein
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kloster Johannisberg
Kloster Johannisberg
#2 of 4 in Geisenheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
Breuer's Ruedesheimer Schloss
#1 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.7 mi away
Weinhaus Zum Krug
Weinhaus Zum Krug
#1 of 2 in Hattenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kronenschlosschen Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Hotel Burg Schwarzenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Hotel Burg Schwarzenstein

Property: Relais & Chateaux Hotel Burg Schwarzenstein
Address: Rosengasse 32, 65366 Geisenheim, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Geisenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Geisenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais & Chateaux Hotel Burg Schwarzenstein 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Hotel Burg Schwarzenstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Burg Schwarzenstein Germany/Geisenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing