We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome winter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Heiligendamm
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A welcome winter getaway”
Reviewed December 31, 2010

A great hotel on a sprawling compound that lives up to its name. We stayed for three days, and the service was outstanding from start to finish. We found our room to be large, clean, and well maintained. The dining options were adequate, but you should be sure to book your restaurant reservations in advance of your arrival, or you may wind up with room service as your only option. The "Kid's Club" house was great for our little one.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonofAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    112
    51
    27
    15
See reviews for
136
268
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Staying at the Grand Hotel Heiligendamm just for a weekend, it was the perfect couple retreat. The hotel is very exclusive, you will immediately realize this, wenn you see all the luxury cars parked in front of the entrance. But: Even better than the sheer amount of pure luxury by materialistic things, the service itself is the best feature of the hotel. Staff members mostly always know your name, bring you everything you want and make your stay unforgetable! One hint: Don't expect anything exciting going on up there at the sea.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel Stadt, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This hotel has the potential to be excellent (beautiful location and very good facilities), but they just manage to blow it so often through bad organization and poorly trained staff.

We stayed for six nights and here is what went wrong: never given a message left the day before we arrived; door bell that didn't work, so twice had staff in our room unannounced; had to prove that half-board was included in our rate by showing them the offer we had booked through the L.H.W. Leaders' Club (the receptionist at the restaurant rudely - in German -referred to us as "die" when she 'phoned the front desk); our room electronic lock didn't work, so we unknowingly left our room unlocked; were given (no charge) a single small chocolate cake for our wedding anniversary; were given a bottle of sparkling wine, which costs 5 Euro in a supermarket, as recompense when I complained about the events above; made a reservation at the smart restaurant, explained that we didn't eat meat or meat products, and were told that we would be proposed a special menu at breakfast on the day of our reservation, on the day at breakfast nobody knew anything about this, so we cancelled the reservation; were given a dessert with gelatine when we had specifically explained we didn't eat gelatine (my wife is German, so not a language problem); were overcharged a small amount on the bill, when I queried it I was told that it was correct, but when I queried it again after returning home we were reimbursed for the mistake.

We paid 334 Euro per night for a room with sea view and half board. If you can get a price like this I would go (there are also good things about the hotel and it's a beautiful and interesting area, although there is nothing in Heiligendamm itself apart from the hotel, beach, golf course and steam train station - not a single shop apart from the hotel's), but I wouldn't pay anymore than that. The place is just too badly run.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

A disappointment. My boyfriend and I drove up from Berlin during a snowstorm for a romantic getaway. The setting on the Baltic is lovely; the experience we had at the hotel, a great deal less so. If you come here, know that there's a good deal of fine print. Only one restaurant on the grounds is open in the winter, and when we arrived, found that it was fully booked. No one had warned us that it might be necessary to book ahead at the very resort we were paying a great deal of money to stay in. Our only option for dinner was a somewhat depressing "pasta station" in the hotel bar, reminiscent of the pasta bar at my college dormitory cafeteria--which, at 50 Euros a head, felt quite cynical on the hotel's part, and left a bad taste (in all senses). Lots of things felt like that--there's no place for guests to park, so the valet adds another 50 Euros to the bill for the weekend. Or you pay 24 Euros for the weekend to park the car on an empty unsecured lot half a kilometer away. We'd paid extra for a room with a view of the sea, expecting that we'd be facing the Baltic, but instead we were given a room facing the grounds, with only a wedge of the sea visible. Surprisingly few staff members spoke more than a few halting words of English, leaving my German boyfriend to do the translating--at reception, at the spa, at the restaurant (where we dined the second night of our stay)--highly unusual at a 5-star hotel. The service, aside from the language difficulties and a completely unresponsive manager, was friendly, if consistently awkward. I imagine, given the glowing reviews elsewhere for this place, that the off-season is used for training, and that the hotel comes to life in the summer. However, I definitely won't be back. I recommend the beautiful Zur Bleiche for couples from Berlin seeking a weekend out of the city over this generic and uninspired "grand hotel."

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank murielspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

As a Leaders Club member I booked a double room for three nights from September 24 - 27, 2008 via Leading Hotels. The rate was 220,-- Euro/night for two, breakfast and a 15% credit for hotel expenses included.

At arrival we were welcomed by a friendly doorman who asked first if we would like to have a valet parking for 25,-- Euro/night or a parking space with self parking for half the price (the parking area was around 100m away - we decided to park 50m away on a public parking site for less after the first night). Check in was friendly and efficient and we were guided to standard room 2105 with view to the forest. Although the hotel wasn't fully booked there obviously was no Leaders Club upgrade given - not even an upgrade to a standard room with sea view. The Leaders Club present was a 0,04l-bottle of sanddorn-liqueur.

The room was very comfortable and clean with furnishings of high quality. The bathroom was very spacious with separate toilet, shower stall and bathtub. All three clocks in the room didn't work (TV-/telephone displays) - but we got an alarm clock delivered to the room on request.

Due to the nice weather we decided to stay one night longer. During the week the hotel was quite empty but the weekend it was fully booked and the service nearly got lost. Our complains primarily belong to the service:

- The breakfast was unpleasant the weekend: one had to wait in a queue for minutes to get seated and on sunday there wasn't enough table wear available (e.g. there were no napkins, not even paper napkins available). The staff was a bit confused from time to time. Very uncommon: one had to pay extra for an egg benedict (6,-- Euro). The hotel also charges the full breakfast rate, if the breakfast is delivered to the room even when the brakfast is included in the room rate!

- Friday to Sunday there was a Lufthansa HON-Event. Both evenings about twenty seats of the Nelson-Bar were reserved for Lufthansa-HON-Members - but they didn't arrive both nights (at least until midnight when we left the bar). This was annoying for many guests who didn't get a seat after dinner and had no other choice to get a drink in a nice atmosphere, because there was just this one bar open.

- The bed linen wasn't changed daily (there even wasn't a notice card to place on the bed, we had to ask for a change the third day).

- Used bathrobes weren't replaced.

- On sunday it was difficult to leave: the requested bellboy wasn't available, the waiting time for the luggage transfer was announced with "at least 20 minutes" - so we decided to check out and take a walk for one hour. After returning our luggage got lost and we had to wait another ten minutes until it was found - the luggage still was in our room.

Very positive: Although we didn't mention my birthday when checking in we were placed in the breakfast room on a separate table with a nice flower arrangement on my birthday and a big cake was delivered to our room (the staff probably discovered my birthday in the Leaders Club profile).

Turn down was done correctly, a complimentary bottle of water was given and shoe shine was available.

All in all the property is very nice: a traditional grand hotel in a contemporary style, nice surroundings and an attractive spa. Very nice as long as the hotel is not fully booked and the service runs into trouble. The staff was friendly but not always well trained and the management level seemed not to be present. We didn't see the general manager at all and no f&b-manager in the overcrowed Kurhaus restaurant. There is need for improvement and it seemed as if there was a little focus on a cost saving program.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank warum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

2 1/2 hours North of Berlin lies this hotel by the sea, literally. This Kempinski doesn't disappoint. From the moment you pull up at the porte cochere where you were greeted by the valet and your car whisked away for a small fee, you get the feeling that you will truely enjoy your stay at the hotel. My room faced the Baltic sea with two small balconies. Excellent bathroom, the best hotel mattress and pillows I have ever slept on, and I have slept on many. I walked along the beach for an hour or so on a wintery afternoon and dined at the michelin restaurant on site and was completely satisfied by the staff. The buffet breakfast is excellent and I have never seen so many different types of homemade jams and dried fruits laid out on a hotel buffet breakfast table before. There are at least 7 different restaurants/bars serving different cuisines at the hotel. You can walk out on to the pier and enjoy the view of the Baltic sea as well. There is a spa with a view as the hotel is acutally split into several buildings each with a different architecturally style. Going back in a couple of months.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enjoys_Relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2008

If you need to place to recharge your 'batteries' near Berlin, this hotel is an exceptionally good choice.

The hotel staff and particularly the spa staff are very well trained. They were open to accommodating my special arrangements and I must admit that I'm fairly particular. The rooms are very well appointed and breakfast on the courtyard terrace is a real treat.

Heilgendamm is a bit on the windy side, but that circulates the invigorating smell of the Ostsee brine quite nicely. There are some things that could be structured better, but overall for the goal of relaxation and spa treatment it's one of the best hotels that I've stayed in.

If you're in Berlin on business and you'd like to getaway for a couple days, you can reach Heilgendamm in about 3 hours by train & taxi.

  • Liked — Facilitatates relaxation
  • Disliked — Check-In staff unseasoned
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ac838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostseebad Heiligendamm
3.9 mi away
Upstalsboom Hotelresidenz & SPA Kuhlungsborn
Upstalsboom Hotelresidenz & SPA ...
#2 of 26 in Ostseebad Kuhlungsborn
199 reviews
10.6 mi away
Yachthafenresidenz Hohe Dune
Yachthafenresidenz Hohe Dune
#2 of 20 in Warnemunde
543 reviews
3.6 mi away
Europa Hotel Ostseebad Kuhlungsborn
Europa Hotel Ostseebad Kuhlungsb...
#7 of 26 in Ostseebad Kuhlungsborn
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Morada Strandhotel
Morada Strandhotel
#10 of 26 in Ostseebad Kuhlungsborn
77 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travel Charme Ostseehotel Kuhlungsborn / Baltic Sea
Travel Charme Ostseehotel Kuhlun...
#3 of 26 in Ostseebad Kuhlungsborn
62 reviews
2.4 mi away
Landhotel Wittenbeck
Landhotel Wittenbeck
#1 of 1 in Wittenbeck
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Heiligendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Heiligendamm

Property: Grand Hotel Heiligendamm
Address: Prof.-Dr.-Vogel-Str. 6, 18209 Ostseebad Heiligendamm, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Grand)
Location: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Ostseebad Heiligendamm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ostseebad Heiligendamm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Heiligendamm 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places on earth which are out of this world. Imagine a place which offers almost everything, except appointments, stress and the hectic pace of every day life. There is such a magical place - it's called Heiligendamm. The region of Mecklenburg-Westerm Pomerania creates a feeling of freedom. Discover how the air is getting saltier while driving through the century-old avenues of trees. Surrounded by the Baltic Sea and dense beech forests appears the "White Town" of Heiligendamm in a resplendent light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Orbitz, MyHotelShop, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Heiligendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ostseebad Heiligendamm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing