We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great for a free museum

It's promoting the navy, I guess it should only be free. Anyway, after an obligatory introductory... read more

Reviewed March 1, 2024
mrdom
via mobile
Excellent museum with a lot to see

This museum was a great place to visit. Free entry and everything was so well laid out. The planes... read more

Reviewed September 28, 2023
AustTrail
,
Sydney
via mobile
Read all 193 reviews
  
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
119
64
8
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
119
64
8
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 193 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

Kids enjoyed the planes we enjoyed the history lesson.
They had so much have memorabilia as well as planes and ammunition used in history.
We all had a great day and didnt cost the earth

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 12, 2016

The museum is constantly improving and although not large by some standards, it gives a great snapshot of the role Naval aviation has played in Australia's defence.
Having served at HMAS Albatross in the 1980s it's wonderful to see how far the museum has come since those tentative beginnings.
The displays portraying the history of the RAN Helicopter Flight Vietnam tell the tale of a little-understood part of Australia's Vietnam War.
You don't even need to be an aviation enthusiast to enjoy the museum.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

This aviation museum had fantastic exhibits with informative videos and written descriptions of the displays.
The shop has heaps of momentos, clothing, videos etc for purchase.
Well worth spending a few hours in.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank menmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 9, 2016

This venue is now a world class museum. It has an excellent collection of RAN FAA aircraft from WWII onwards. There are good references to the start of Australian Naval Aviation. As a retired ADF person it was heartening to me to see so much detail preserved about the aircraft that I worked on & with during my RAN service.
Weekdays are quieter but the cafe wasn't operating.
Excellent souveniers available.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank philipl322
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Most military museums are boring. This had great aircraft and a range of displays and was not even close to boring. My young children loved it and so did my teenage brother.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews