We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Enjoy the traquility of our lovely front garden with decking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the traquility of our lovely front garden with decking area
Five minutes walk from the village. Front living room with bed settee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Enjoy the traquility of our lovely front garden with decking area
Five minutes walk from the village.
Front living room with bed settee
Spacious family bathroom
Jaccuzi bath
Fitted kitchen
Kitchen
Rear sitting room with log burner stove
Double doors linking reception rooms
Front bedroom with fitted robes
Rear double bedroom
North Yorkshire Moors Railway
Beautiful in all weather
Lovely walks and tea gardens.  This is near Falling Foss.
The Rail Trail
Spot the residents
Sandsend Beach Whitby
Whitby Harbour
Whitby Abbey
A view of Grosmont Village
Birch Hall Inn Beck Hole
Runswick Bay
Go rock pooling and crabbing.
Fossils and wildlife at Robinhoods Bay
Fossils and Jet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grosmont, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stuturton
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed November 24, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Had a lovely 2 night stay in lilac cottage, friendly local people,great walks and scenery and a welcoming local pub. The cottage itself was perfect for us and our dog, if you want i quiet weekend away from it all, this is the place. Whitby only 10 mins away with plenty to see and do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. Really glad you enjoyed your break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeMars...
Ossett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We visited lilac cottage on a 2 night break with our bull mastiff and could have easily stayed for the whole week. It was lovely and peaceful, we made use of the log burning fire which was a nice feature and kept the cottage really warm during our short stay! There was plenty of space inside and the bathroom was huge. The local people were friendly and the pub was just a short walk away, we sampled a few guinesses and our dog was made welcome too. All in all it was a very nice, relaxing break with some great walks on the doorstep and only a 10 min drive to Whitby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2017
So glad you all enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for the review.
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Ideal”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Grosmont cottage,
Ideally placed,
Quite, relaxing, log fire.
Ruth attended to all our needs.
Brilliant.
Thanks,
Mr and Mrs Krotki.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2017
Thank you so much for the review.
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent little cottage”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely little cottage. Ideal for us as we had three separate adults one of whom was elderly (my mother). The kitchen was well equipped and the rooms spacious and homely.
We had a small problem with the heating which was soon sorted by Ruth and/or her husband and nothing was too much trouble.
I would not hesitate to book this cottage again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2017
Glad you all enjoyed your stay.

best wishes
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2017
Thank you. Great to have you back again.
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well appointed”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Well appointed and in good location especially if interested in railways. Good base for walking and touring the area.
The one slight difficulty we found was the stairs. Being an old cottage the stairs were steep and with a twist made it a little harder to either go up or down. However this should not detract from the overall enjoyment of the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2017
Thank for the review.

Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn B
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location but misses on the detail.”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A difficult review to write. There are a lot of positives with Lilac Cottage but there are also some downsides that prevent me giving it a totally positive review. On the plus side, the location is great and within a 3 minute walk to the railway station, a co-op food store for a reasonable range of provisions and an excellent local pub. Whitby is 10 minutes by car and the lovely market town of Pickering is just 15 minutes away. Both can also be reached by the historic railway. Pick up for the key is easy as the owner runs one of the village shops.
The cottage is of a good size and is best suited for up to 2 couples. The kitchen is functional and the main bathroom is large with a heated towel rail and great water pressure for the shower, (above the bath). Central heating is available in all rooms and this proved very effective in somewhat cool weather conditions.
However, it was other issues that let this cottage down. Importantly, there was no internet available, (something not disclosed in the advert). This had a big impact on us as we were half way through a 4 week holiday and were keeping in touch with family in Australia via Skype each evening. As well, the washing machine had an issue whereby it did not recognise that the front door of the machine was closed and as a consequence would not start. The owner was aware of this problem and advised that we should keep hitting the door and surround until it started. This proved to be very frustrating. Other issues that highlighted a lack of detail included badly out of date tourist information, (we replaced as much as we could with current material) and a slippery front path that could be easily fixed with a power washer. In conclusion, a good stay but one that could be great if the issues could be addressed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2017
Thank you for the review Glenn we have internet planned for next year and this will be stated in our advert. Issues noted regarding the front path and local information. Apologies for the washing machine a new one is ordered.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing