We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ms_0pini0nated
Singapore, Singapore

Our Dream Wedding Destination!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 19, 2016
We had our wedding at The Datai on the 18th Dec 2015. I have been planning this wedding for more than year and I picked Langkawi because first, I am Malaysian and I have always wanted a beach-themed wedding. Why The Datai? Have you seen the pictures? The Datai is surrounded with lush tropical rainforest, filled with wildlife. The beach (Teluk Datai) is by far the most beautiful on Langkawi Island. The sand is like powder and the waters clear as crystal.

We stayed in The Datai from 16th Dec-21 Dec 2015. My parents and my in-laws were also guests in the hotel. As you walk into the reception area, you would feel like you are in a huge chalet perched on the cliffs over-looking the huge beautiful ocean.

On our first night, we stayed in a deluxe room. The room was relatively large and equipped with full amenities. There was even a bowl of mix fruits for us. The bathroom was large and very clean.

The second (eve before the wedding) and the third night, we transferred to a beach villa. The beach villa was magnificent!. There were three separate rooms in the compound. The first room was the bedroom, the second was a living room (with a dining table) and the last room was a small kitchenette and an outdoor toilet. There was also a pool in the compound, with deck chairs and sun lounges. The back door leads straight onto the beach and sea. The bathroom was amazing, it is the same size as the bedroom! and it overlooks the greenery. The bath tub and shower cubicle was fantastic and huge. I chose the beach villa so that I would have ample space for make up and to get ready for the wedding. It was also a great place for my photographers and videographers to capture the essence of "The Datai". We also had the "gate-crashing" and "Chinese tea-ceremony" in the villa. Our stay in the beach villa was beyond our expectations! We had our own butler (service was quite good and prompt). He was efficient and friendly and tried his best to make our stay memorable and a very happy one. My husband and I stayed in the neach villa for the eve and the day of our wedding.

For the last two nights of our stay in The datai, we were transferred to the superior villa. Very spacious room with full amenites and even a deck for us to enjoy the rainforest. The room and the bathroom was very clean.

The reason we chose The Datai for our dream wedding was because this resort is located on the best beach in Langkawi and its surrounded with lush greenery. It was definitely the best setting for our dream wedding. Our videographers and photographers made use of this environment to capture our wedding and post-wedding shoot and judging ny their photos, we made the right choice!

This resort also offer great service in their restaurants and they have the best Thai restaurant. We had our last meal there and the food was amazing. Their breakfast was equally delicious too. Everyone was attentuve and we never had any issues with their service.

There are two swimming pools, one located in front of the dining room restuarant and the other by the beach club area near the sea. But we spent most of our time swimming in the sea and enjoying the powder sand beach.

If you are planning your dream wedding, choose The Datai!
Date of stay: December 2015
Room Tip: All their rooms are great! The beach and Superior Villas are the best choices
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArnaudGirodon, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this review
Responded Feb 1, 2016
Dear Ms_0pini0nated,

Once again, congratulations on your wedding and it is truly gratifying to read that we were able to deliver your "Dream Wedding". Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for selecting The Datai Langkawi as your hotel of choice.

I am pleased to hear that you found the service, quality of our product as well as food offerings to be of a very high standard. I am also happy to learn that you liked the location of the hotel, the beach and especially our "Datai hospitality" .

I will pass your comments back to our team, they will be happy to hear that they assisted in making your stay a memorable one.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Langkawi.

Kindest regards,

Arnaud Girodon

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Property View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.0 miles from The Datai Langkawi
$705
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $704
  • Vio.com
    $380
  • Hotels.com
    $705
0.0 miles from The Datai Langkawi
Free Wifi
Free parking
$385
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $354
  • Vio.com
    $336
  • Trip.com
    $368
3.9 miles from The Datai Langkawi
Free Wifi
Free parking
$867
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $865
  • Priceline
    $865
  • Hotels.com
    $865
4.7 miles from The Datai Langkawi
Free Wifi
Free parking
$30
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
4.9 miles from The Datai Langkawi
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    $16
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
5.0 miles from The Datai Langkawi
Swimming pool
$26
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $17
  • Trip.com
    $21
  • Agoda.com
    $18
5.1 miles from The Datai Langkawi
Free Wifi
Free parking
Teriang Village Inn
$18
  • Agoda.com
5.1 miles from The Datai Langkawi
View more hotels in Datai
Reviews (3,180)
Filter reviews
3,180 results
Traveler rating
2,755
286
76
31
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,755
286
76
31
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gulai house beach club rainforest villa thai restaurant main building resident naturalist our honeymoon flora and fauna lobby lounge beautiful beach dusky leaf monkeys golf buggies sorbet private pool adult pool day bed cold towels
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,354 - 1,359 of 3,180 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2016 via mobile

We spent a relaxing 10 days at this fantastic resort. The setting of this place is spectacular and the waitstaff at all the restaurants are just ever so nice and eager to please.

The three main restaurants at the resort serves some of the best food I have had at a resort (and I have been to many) which is a kudos to Richard Miller the head chef. The main restaurant the Dining Room sports a decent well priced wine list so do indulge in a few special bottles whilst you are here!

The staff are attentive and although it was quiet busy when we were here they really take the time to get to know what you like in order to customise the experience for you.

We had a few issues but management dealt with it swiftly. A note of caution if you do like a lighter airy feel in your room do avoid the villas as they are set in the jungle and you will likely prefer the rooms situated in the main building or one of the lavish beach villas.

A special thanks to resort manager Jaya Nazreen, Subra at the dining room and F&B manager Indra Mohan for making our stay a very pleasant one. We are already planning our next trip with our kids at one of your beach villas.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank fional544
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArnaudGirodon, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Dear Fiona L,

It is truly gratifying to read that you had such a relaxing holiday at The Datai. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I am happy to hear that our services made such a positive impression, delivering to a great resort experience throughout your stay.

I will pass your comments back to Richard, Indra, Jaya, Subra and the rest of our team, they will be happy to hear that they assisted in making your stay a memorable one.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Langkawi.

Kindest regards,

Arnaud Girodon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016

We stayed as a family and had 3 rooms with an interconnecting balcony.The rooms were spacious big bathrooms, great views and very bright and airy.Fantastic bed linen huge beds ,fresh fruit &free soft drinks from the mini bar. ,breakfast 2 minutes walk the buffet was excellent and you could order alternatives.The adult pool was always very quiet with plenty of sun loungers.Around 5pm you could watch the moneys lazing on the balcony below the rooms and the swallows diving into the adult pool.
The beach was a 5 min walk or you could go by buggy.The beach was immaculate,the sea calm ,service fantastic from sunglasses being cleaned,iced water ,face cloths and ice creams! It was never too busy.The beach bar food was excellent and they had Minuty rose wine!!
The age group was 26yrs to 55 and we all said we hadn't ever stayed anywhere better.We enjoyed having rooms rather than a Villa as we all had our own privacy and they were so near to restaurants the lobby and sunny.We thought the villas seemed a little dark and detached as they were in the jungle.
Must mention we did Pilates ,Yoga and Golf and all were excellent.We would all return tomorrow [especially if the parents are still paying!!!]its the ultimate retreat after long haul flights and busy weeks at work up to Christmas.

Room tip: Hotel room that gets the morning sunshine
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mandie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArnaudGirodon, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Dear leeds29,

It is truly gratifying to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for selecting The Datai Langkawi as your "Fabulous Retreat".

I am very happy to read through your fantastic review about our rooms and to know that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the rain forest experience as well as the Datai hospitality.

I will pass your kind words of appreciation to the rest of the team who I am sure will be pleased to hear that they assisted in making your stay a memorable one.

On behalf of the team, once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Langkawi.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Girodon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016

Our stay in The Datai was an outstanding experience. The location is absolutely one of the top ten in the world. We stayed in a villa, which was magnificent. The service is excellent and the personal attention cannot be better.

Room tip: We stayed in a villa, which has a very large bedroom and top bathroom. From the large balcony it was easy to spot apes, birds and squirrels.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rutger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArnaudGirodon, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Dear Rutger M,

Indeed, thank you very much for the great review on TripAdvisor.

The recognition of our guest is the best honor we could receive and we are very grateful for your compliments.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at The Datai Langkawi on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Arnaud Girodon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after spending a few nights at the Danna and was taken away by the location- our room was right in the rainforest but the beach only a 10 min walk away. Breakfasts were great and rooms were clean and good size. We did the nature walks which were very interesting learning about all wildlife within the hotel. Meals were good but quite a bit more expensive than the Danna. Would definitely recommend a trip to the spa as well very relaxing and beautiful location.

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank ajatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArnaudGirodon, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Dear ajatkins,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us at The Datai Langkawi.

I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the rain forest experience and especially our breakfast at The Dining Room.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable "Datai" moments.

Kindest regards,

Arnaud Girodon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2016

We stayed at The Datai during New Year's and enjoyed every second of our stay! The hotel is situated in the 10 million year old rainforest which is absolutely amazing! The hotel offers either villas located in the rainforest or with a direct beach access or you can stay in a room in the main building. We stayed in the main house from which we were close to the pool, the main restaurant and the Thai restaurant. The room was spacious, perfectly clean and we got free water and delicious fresh fruits every day. The walk to the beach is an experience as you walk about 3-4 minutes via a pathway in the rainforest. It was stunning every time! We loved the adult pool in the main building - in the middle of the rainforest, view to the mountain and every day you got to watch the adorable monkeys climbing. The staff also offered free snacks and water. There is also a pool for families. The beach is nice and never crowded, the water warm, but unfortunately there were some jellyfish. The food and also the atmosphere was amazing in either one of the 4 restaurants. A big big plus: Even though we sat outside, we were never disturbed by any mosquitos or bugs. The breakfast buffet was also great and offered lots of variety. The staff was impressive - very attentive and friendly. The spa is beautiful and we loved the massages. The gym is well-equipped. The hotel offers many activities and you can see and feel that nature is a very important part of the hotel's philosophy. We took part in the "rainforest awakening" tour with the hotel's biologist Irshad, who is so passionate and we were impressed by his way of showing and explaining the many animals and trees of the rainforest. We will definitely return to The Datai and will recommend it to everyone!

Date of stay: January 2016
2  Thank Sophia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArnaudGirodon, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Dear Sophia V,

It is truly gratifying to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for selecting The Datai Langkawi as your home away from home.

I am very happy to read through your fantastic review about our property and the services you have experienced while staying with us.

I will pass your kind words of appreciation to the rest of the team who I am sure will be pleased to hear that they assisted in making your stay a memorable one.

On behalf of the team, once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Langkawi.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Girodon


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews