We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Datai Langkawi
Nearby Hotels
$210
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$96
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dash Resort(Langkawi)
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
$332
$243
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$502
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$27
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$514
$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$21
$16
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,479)
Filter reviews
2,479 results
Traveler rating
2,107
255
67
28
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,107
255
67
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgulai houserainforest villathai restaurantmain buildingwild boarresident naturalistour honeymoonsorbetirshad mobarakbeach poolnature walkmorning and eveningfour seasonsgolf buggyflora and faunalobby loungeadult pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,219 - 1,224 of 2,479 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent an idyllic weekend at The Datai just last week. It was, without a doubt, the best weekend escape we have ever had -- every bit was just perfect.

We stayed in a pool bedroom villa, which was plenty big enough for the two us, with a lovely deck and private pool. The food at the resort was fantastic, from the breakfast to lunch on the beach and dinner at The Gulai house and The Pavilion. The staff were exceptional, friendly, smiling, extremely professional and really make your stay unforgettable.

We look forward to more return!

Thumbs up!

regards
Esther & Rapha

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsEsther19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Datai Langkawi!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your positive review and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back for another memorable rainforest experience in the near future.


Kind regards,
Anthony Sebastian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our 4th visit to this lovely setting. However our room was not as reserved - we reserved a top floor Delux room but were upgraded to a villa, even though we had requested not to be upgraded. We were in a villa last time but found it oppressive and claustrophobic by being under the dense trees and is just not for us. The take it or leave it attitude of the reception staff meant we had to have the villa despite it being the hotel's fault. The following morning we said we really did not like the villa. So we were moved to the main building but on the second floor, rather than the top floor and with the attitude "that's all that we are going to give you, that's all we have!" This room was ok but not what 5 star should be, it had stained cushions etc., was generally tired and ready for a thorough refurb.
They are now doing weddings here. We think this is taking the whole place down market, certainly the wedding party present whilst we were there were noisy and inconsiderate to others on the beach. In the past it seemed to be an unwritten rule that the beach was a quiet area except in the area of the beach club pool. I really think that this needs to be reintroduced as having a large group with children and playing games on the beach away from the pool area and amongst the older fraternity who are there for a quiet day on the beach is just not conducive to a relaxing time.
Please lift your standards above the norm. The Datai has always been a 5 star+ resort and seems to be slipping.
The food and vast majority of staff are excellent and really put themselves out to look after their customers. They are the Datai's biggest asset and probably one of the main reasons that most people return year after year.
Despite asking for a reduction or discount on our extras bill nothing was given or offered although they did give us a late checkout but from yet another room.
However we were very disappointed generally.





Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Antwasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Datai Langkawi!

It was a pleasure to have had you back as our guest again during your recent visit at one and only beautiful rainforest resort in Langkawi island, called The Datai. We trust that you had a safe and pleasant trip home.

Thank you for taking time to share with me your recent experience. It is through continuous feedback, from guests such as yourself, we are able to objectively review the facilities and services we provide to ensure that they meet our guests' expectations. As I read on the comments detailing your recent experience at the resort; I am regret to hear of what and how we have failed in providing you with the level of service experience you rightfully deserved. Right at the arrival, we have disappointed you – it must have been frustrating on your end to not be able to have perfect holiday. I can certainly relate to your displeasure and aggravation. Please first accept my most humble apologies for our inability to deliver the level of service you as our guest should and would have expected.

We did identify the issue and will certainly take note seriously on the areas you have highlighted to ensure that we are in a better position to take care of you and we sincerely look forward to being able to host you again to make up for your disappointing experience. I certainly hope the rest of the stay made up for it and that it was still a lovely experience.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Kind regards,
Anthony Sebastian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and i arrived very tired after a long flight from the Maldives as part of our 40th wedding anniversary,we were met by a girl from reception given a drink overlooking swimming pool and forgotten.we were finally shown to our room after waking up front desk very disappointed room very dingy needed updating. we were given a choice of another room but really not any better.Datai is along way from any attractions and so it takes usually about 40 minutes to get anywhere consequently many of the guests were content to sit on beach all day. unless you are british at least 70 and live in the home counties with a considerable pension your face is not going to fit.of course if you do fit the profile you will love it because it is reassuringly expensive enough to keep away the plebs.the concierge to be fair is first class and also the beach boys are great but the rest of the staff need a big wake up call we had lunch at fourseasons and the difference was unbeleivable may be they could train the Datai staff!! we stayed at 4 different 5 star hotels on our holiday and the Datai was sadly trailing way behind the other 3

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CCSSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Datai Langkawi!

It was a pleasure to have had you as our guest during your recent visit at The Datai, Langkawi. We trust that you had a safe and pleasant trip home.

Thank you for taking time to share with me your recent experience. It is through continuous feedback, from guests such as yourself, we are able to objectively review the facilities and services we provide to ensure that they meet our guests' expectations. As I read on the comments detailing your recent experience at the resort; I regret to hear that you had a slightly disappointing experience during your stay – it must have been frustrating on your end to not be able to have perfect holiday. I can certainly relate to your displeasure and aggravation. Please first accept my most humble apologies for our inability to deliver the level of service you as our guest should and would have expected.

We will certainly take note seriously on the areas you have highlighted to ensure that we are in a better position to take care of you and we sincerely look forward to being able to host you again to make up for your disappointing experience. I certainly hope the rest of the stay made up for it and that it was still a lovely experience.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!


Kind regards,
Anthony Sebastian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We spent our 20th wedding anniversary and my birthday at the Datai and they were a welcome 7 nights of calm in this beautiful region. This was our second visit to The Datai the previous was several years ago. Lets get the negatives over with : rooms still the same as last stay and looking tired now, with bathrooms having poor lighting and the same old coffee machines. They have free wi-fi but it was hit and miss and they had poor download speeds when the hotel was busy. The positives are that you still get great service and attitudes from the staff. The beach is fabulous and pictures do not do it justice and it is very private. We liked the cold towels and drinks service at the Pool and Beach areas. The restaurants all still served quality food and the breakfasts were excellent. As others have said the eggs benedict and pancakes are great along with fresh juices each morning. They have a variety of yoghurts, pastries and condiments. They still give you a bag for the beach and they still have the same footwear in the rooms. Overall a good stay but will want to return when rooms have been re-vamped.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david2568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Datai Langkawi!

Thank you so much for your recent review and welcome back! We are very happy that you have chosen our resort to be the destination of celebrating your 20th wedding anniversary and birthday celebration. In addition, I am also disappointed to hear that your room was not up to par with the rest of your stay with us. Do note that we are looking to update the rooms in the coming year and hopefully things will be to your liking on your next trip out.

I certainly hope the rest of the stay made up for it and that it was still a lovely experience.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,
Anthony Sebastian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Everyone should end their holiday with a few days at The Datai if they can. It is stunning in every way without being flashy. The breakfasts are to die for - try the Eggs Benedict. The staff are delightful, the situation is exquisite, the rooms comfortable and everything runs smoothly. My husband had his best meal of the holiday in The Pavillion - Yellow Prawn Curry. We were a little surprised to be served a glass of chilled to perfection Sauvignon Blanc at 4.30pm as a welcome drink along with the scented cool towel but put aside to 'not before 6pm' rule in the certain knowledge that it was after 6pm somewhere in the world! To be offered mango or coconut sorbet when relaxing on the beach was another splendid first for us. It is a no brainer - if you can afford to you should go there and if not - save up!!

Room Tip: Better not be be in a villa I think as they look quite dark and it is a long way to go to breakfast or the pool - but there are lots of shuffle buggies to take you around.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Datai Langkawi!

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time at The Datai and will be sure to share your feedback with all the team; in particular our Chef, and everyone else who made your stay so memorable. I do hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back soon again.


Kind regards,
Anthony Sebastian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews