We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere”

The Plough Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our first visit and not the last. Very friendly, good menu, especially seniors menu. Quick service, hot food and nicely presented. Also liked Warwickshire Beer (BOB). Thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    27
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glos
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ALL BOXES TICKED”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We starting using The Plough nearly two years ago , and have never looked back !!!
Firstly you will struggle to find a more friendly pub than this , its totally unspoilt by any fancy frills etc .
If you want true home cooked food , large portions , and a friendly ambience then you will not be dissapointed . Always a good selection of ales on , a choice of ciders (mmm) The Plough is well worth a visit .

In the winter months the Sunday joint is cooked over the inglenook fire in the bar and is delicious!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steveandmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A total disappointment after reading very good newspaper review.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I broke our journey from home to a Cotswold holiday by seeking out this old pub which offered excellent meals,according to a newspaper review.My wife ordered prawns-in-batter with chips.She objected to the excess of batter,the prawns were not cooked sufficiently,and nor we're the chips.She left most of the food on the plate!I fancied pork belly.I asked the waitress if the crackling was crispy.She went to ask the cook(good)."Very crispy",was the reply I heard.It wasn't! I had to saw through it,but left half of it !We were hugely disappointed.The bar atmosphere was pleasant and friendly, but the lighting was rather dim.We would not recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravol, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear sir, I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. This is extremely rare. Your table made no comment when but you did say your wife didnt care for the batter when you came to pay. We make our own batter and it is light and crispy, one of our most popular dishes and as the prawns are fried at 200 degrees I fail to see how they were undercooked. The 2 gentlemen on the table next to you had pork belly and raved about it. I guess you just can't please everyone all the time but I am genuinely sorry we didn't live up to your expectations.
Yours sadly but sincerely sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food but now missing that extra bit of something.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Last time I was here I was over joyed at how the village had pulled together and how the staff at the Plough managed a very busy and worrying night. THE BIG FLOOD. Can I just say thank you again for that night. I came in over the bank holiday witsun weekend (Saturday) we had a lovely meal that was cooked to perfection, not a fault. But where was the young man from behind the bar? Al thought the food was excellent the welcoming from behind the bar was not what I remember the plough to be, the person behind the bar had no eye contact with me and never even said hello. I remember the plough to be very friendly more like going to see friends than going to a pub. I was a little disappointed.

But praise where praise is due the food is the best pub food by miles and I will be returning. Perhaps the person behind the bar was having an off day, we all have those from time to time. Thank you again for coming to my rescue that terrible night.

Many Thanks
Mark Thomas
Coventry

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirlie1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravol, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello there,
Thanks very much for your review, I appreciate the feedback. I'm very happy you enjoyed the food but can only genuinely apologise if you felt the welcome wasn't up to normal expectations. This is no excuse but we were all a bit shell shocked at the weekend as I had cancer diagnosed on Friday and the normally extremely friendly lady on the bar sat night had also spent fri night at hospital as her daughter had a car crash. Black Friday sadly spilled into Saturday and I am so sorry if it affected your night. Your previous experience and our other reviews bear out that we are normally very welcoming. Massive apologies again and I do hope you'll return
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent beer, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

4 of us dined here on the 22nd March. The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. The food was good quality and portions and reasonably priced (our main courses were £12 - £13). The beer was very good with a good selection. Would recommend it as a good old fashioned local serving unpretentious food and drink at reasonable prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravol, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello, just to say thank you for your lovely review, it really is a morale boost for all who work here. I do hope you will join us again, thanks
Sara and jp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn Restaurant also viewed

Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh
Paxford, Gloucestershire
 
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
 

Been to The Plough Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing