We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Jacobean Night Inn”

The Plough Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Jacobean Night Inn”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you thought of all the elements that could make up the perfect English rural inn then you would end up with a pub like this one. A large wooden door opens on to a bar on your right (and beyond a restaurant area) on the left a inglenook fireplace, with a Jacobean-style backplate, and log fuelled roaring open fire. Low oak beams and a beaming host. And a pub cat, seated majestically on a bar stool. An extensive blackboard menu arrests the palate and the results do not disappoint. The portions are enormous, freshly prepared and very tasty. Top grade pub fayre indeed. There's a honesty bookshop, traditional boardgames and a low-lighted friendly atmosphere. On departure, I peered through the window at the ink-black, rain-pummeled night, and darkly muttered to myself that I'd forgotton an umbrella. I needn't have worried. We were offered one to return to our accomodation. Now that's what I call service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce8691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravol, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
What a beautiful description of our lovely little pub! Thank you very much, I really hope you'll be able to visit us again. Oh, and thanks for the return of the umbrella!
Thanks again
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    24
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge Town
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful oldie worldie pub.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in the Cotswold Nr. Broadway for the weekend so booked a table for saturday night as been here before. I had oven cooked cod wrapping in bacon with leek and cream sauce which was absolutely lovely, my husband had pork with mustard sauce which was equally as good. A great pub with a really friendly atmosphere and wonderful food, can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dogshow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravol, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello,
Thanks very much for your lovely comments, I am extremely happy you enjoyed your meal and hope you will return
Thanks again
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely village inn”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good food, good beer and good service. Everything you'd want in a local village pub. Shame I live 150 miles away, or I'd be a regular.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macsporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravol, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hello. Thanks very much for your lovely review. Maybe you could move to Stretton?!!!
Hope you'll visit us again when you're in the area
Thanks again
Sara n JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Sunday lunch I've had away from home”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Sunday before last four of us went for a drive in the Cotswolds and arrived in Stretton by chance. How lucky were we, Sunday roast was pork and it is quite possibly the best Sunday lunch I've ever had away from home - the crackling was superb and the pork very tender and tasty. Good roast potatoes and smashing veg cooked just enough. At £12:50 a head it was good value. The pub itself is comfortable and has a lot of old style charm. Hope we get the chance to eat here again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PdhGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravol, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are really chuffed that you enjoyed it so much.
Thanks again and hope You visit us again
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub with great food.”
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Came here tonight, following a recommendation from a friend who lives in Stretton (and looking at reviews on here).

To sum it up - yep, the food's a tad on the pricey side (but worth every penny), good choice of real ales and the service was great.

It's a small, traditional English pub, and if you're a tourist in the area well worth a visit - it has a lovely atmosphere.

I live a few miles away but for some reason hadn't been before. I'll be coming again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WarksFoxile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saravol, Owner at The Plough Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Hello, thank you very much for your lovely review, very glad to hear you will be coming back, thanks again
Sara n jp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn Restaurant also viewed

Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh
Paxford, Gloucestershire
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
 

Been to The Plough Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing