We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice facilities, friendly staff”
Review of Loboc River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loboc River Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Loboc B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice facilities, friendly staff”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My kids (3, 5 and 7) and I spent one night here at the end of a dive trip to the Philippines and after a day seeing Tarsiers, etc. The garden villa room was nice in a rustic way, with plenty of room for the two twin beds and two additional mattresses on the floor. Bathroom was fine, and the reading area at the end of the dock was a nice place for a game of Uno. Restaurant was fine too, with some choices that the kids enjoyed, although the food was relatively run-of-the-mill and seemed a bit pricey. Wi-fi worked for me at the front desk and in the room.

Highlights were (1) feeding the chickens, and (2) the firefly tour on the river, which was short and straightforward, but fun to see a tree entirely lit up with fireflies. The pool was also a hit, and was nice, if a bit lacking in landscaping.

The staff was very friendly. Making (and even changing) reservations by email was easy and every request was accommodated. The front desk staff was a bit unorganized, but transfers still appeared reliably.

We likely won't return, only because there are so many places in the region we want to see. But if we needed to be back in this area again, we would consider this a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    93
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
84
165
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
169 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Loboc River Resort is a lovely place on the bank of the Loboc River and is about a 30 minute drive from the airport. Taxis are fixed cost of 800Php but if you book through the resort they offer a cheaper fare.

Definitely get a villa with a river view it's so peaceful to sit and look out on.
The rooms are simply furnished but I slept very well in a comfortable bed.
Breakfast is included and you need to select the night before from two options.
Lunch and dinner menu is extensive and all the food we had there was tasty and catered well for vegetarians. Veg curry, pizza, stir fry etc. and all food is reasonable.
I think they must use cheap alcohol because all cocktails we had were pretty disgusting!

There is free wi-fi in the resort but it hardly worked at all. Occasionally in the reading corner at the end of the walkway was better but rarely worked in the restaurant or reception area.

The pool is lovely though we found that sometimes there aren't enough sun loungers. In total, there are only 10 but the resort has over 40 guests.

You can hire kayaks or bicycles for a small charge. Take a kayak along the river - it's very gentle and easy.

Just beacuse you arrange something doesn't mean it will happen on time. We ordered massages for a certain time but they still hadn't arrived after 1/2 late. I phoned to cancel as we had other plans and there was very little apology and just kept saying they will arrive soon. Also, we ordered a taxi to take us from the resort to another place and they turned up over 1/2 hour late. Guess just need to relax a little...!

The hotel can arrange tours as well.

Room Tip: Get a riverside villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The team working at Loboc River Resort was the best we encountered in our entire stay in the Philippines. Always greeting you with a real smile, and they engage in friendly banter and joking.

The resort was full when we stayed there (two nights in river villa, moved the last night to river suite since everything else was taken). We feel lucky we were able to book this place two days before we arrived, I don't think that will be possible in the future.

Starting with the cabins, beds are GREAT, bathrooms are above average, and the overall feel (wooden/bamboo construction, wooden furniture, etc...) is high-quality rustic. The pool is really a quality construction and a fantastic surprise. And, the fresh fruit, juice, cookies, and meals (we recommend the Hinalong soup) are also GREAT.

The best part of the whole time was having the Loboc children's choir perform on Valentine's Day. This group has been around the world nearly every year for past 5 years, and several times before that. They have a great instructor, but really, this group of kids are amazing. I recommend to extend your stay here a day or two in either direction if it means getting to hear these guys/girls sing.

As for booking, I did exclusively through e-mail, and then called to arrange my transfer (pay by yourself, not the resort).

Overall, compare against most hostels/back-packer places, all the increased costs are worth it. Compare against higher priced "fancy" resorts, you can get the same thing here (maybe more) for a lot less. I highly recommend snapping up this place for 3 nights and seeing the chocolate hills one day and Alona beach the other. Just get back by 7:30pm on days they have bands (or the choir) to enjoy a nice relaxing atmosphere and a great affordable meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rybickij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent 3 nights and 4 days here. Very peaceful and our view from our private balcony was serene overlooking the river. It's like camping with all the modernize amenities.

Booking & reservations- completely done over email and finally phone when securing the room with our deposit. Bombarded them with so many questions, but they always answered with such courteous.

Room- modern feel. queen bed with clean bed sheets, with private balcony, washroom was clean, with fresh towels (daily), but the shower curtains could have been cleaner. **water heater has an automatic shut off, call room service and a staff will show you how to reset the breaker. so you can have your partner flip the switch for you while you shower!

***Note*** Don't bring any food or sweet things inside your room, unless you don't mind sharing them with ants!

Staff- Amazing staff. Courteous and friendly. The front were very accommodating with the arrangement of our tours. We went on the Country Side tour (with no hassle), which included the Chocolate Hills, Tarsier conservation, and Floating Restaurant. Our tour guide was awesome, altho we forgot his name. (Front desk told us that he's always in-demand) Funny guy! Our other tour was more non-commercialized, we took a tricycle to see the Mag-Aso Falls and Kawasan Falls.

Restaurant- Doesn't open 'til 7am. We are big coffee drinkers, when we needed coffee every morning way before the resto opened, the staff did not hesitate to bring us some. (the coffee will be charged on your bill at check out). Food was pretty good. The free breakfast was decent, they offer an array of choices. One morning tho, it was a breakfast buffet. The native chicken that they raved about wasn't all that great, but if you like tough meat and over-powering chickeny flavour, then go for it! Our favorite dish there was the fried kangkong, sort of like kale if you want comparison.

Bonus- they offer a pretty decent size pool to cool off and relax :))

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyandMaria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
155 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a cosy little place which is great for a short little break. When we had booked the place, we were slightly apprehensive, as it was a rather small resort that looked like it was in a rather remote location. We were not sure what to expect. However, as our purpose for this trip was to relax and take a good break from work, we decided to take the plunge, as we just needed to get out of cities, towns and other busy places.

The place did feel pretty remote during the drive there from the airport. We were relieved that we decided at the last minute not to do a self-drive, but to arrange for an airport pick up instead. We might not have been able to find our way on our own.

The resort is situated in the village area, so there are opportunities to hang around with the locals if you are willing to step out of the resort’s compounds and be friendly with the “neighbours”. It is in a very peaceful area, right on the bank of a serene stretch of the Loboc River. However, due to its location, some of the everyday conveniences we have gotten used to will have to be foregone. There is just a quiet little village and the river, nothing else. Transport will have to be arranged for anything else that you need or want to see. However, most interesting spots on the island were within half-hour’s drive away, and the resort could easily assist with transport arrangements as long as you allow them sufficient notice.

Because of its location, some allowance will have to be made for the functionality of resort facilities. Things do not function like clockwork in the countryside. We experienced little inconveniences like the water in the shower being disrupted for a few minutes on a couple of occasions, and wi-fi that works intermittently. These are to be expected in the countryside I suppose, and we easily took these in our stride.

Beyond these, the resort is more comfortable than we had expected. While it is definitely not 5-star standard, but the suite that we chose to stay in had surpassed our expectations. It is not luxurious, but most things that we needed to be comfortable were present in the room, or somewhere else in the resort. In fact, after taking a walk in the adjacent village, we did feel rather guilty on our return to the resort. It felt too opulent contrasted with what the families who were residing just about 100 metres away had.

Facilities in the resort also turned out better than we had expected. It had a reasonably-sized pool considering the fact that the resort probably was only able to accommodate 60 guests at most. It was a nice spot to catch the sunset from. It also had a restaurant with a good view of the river, and the folks in the restaurant do whip up rather good meals. Also, considering that guests were very much “captive”, as there are no other F&B outlets nearby, prices in the restaurant was acceptable. Some simple water activities like kayaking can also be arranged with the resort staff, although we did not try that.

I have chosen to save the best for last. In our opinion, the best part about this resort is the service staff. Everyone in the resort was very friendly, and always willing to help out with requests. They really tried very hard to ensure that the guests’ stay with the resort was comfortable. On one of the evenings, a member of the staff very obligingly took us along on a walk to look at fireflies for about half an hour at no charge at all. It is no exaggeration to say that the service we had experienced in the Loboc River Resort might have surpassed what we have seen in some 5-star establishments we had visited before.

All in all, if anybody wants a quiet little place for a short break on Bohol Island, this place is worth a serious consideration. It is like a little oasis on an island the rest of which we did not really enjoy.

Room Tip: The suites are pricier but well-worth considering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelvinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent Christmas and New Year in Bohol at three different places. We spent five nights in Loboc River resort, which was the best stay of the whole trip. The staff is really friendly and helps you in any way they can. The resort is lovely situated next to the river. You can rent kayaks to explore the river by your self or hire a boatman to take you to for instant a nearby spring.

The restaurants serves good, affordable food and on the resorts they have their own fish, crab and shrimp farm.

They can help you arrange tours, hire a tricycle or fix transfer.

Many evenings they had performance at the restaurant. We were fortunate to hear Loboc children choir sing for us two nights. It is the local elementary school's choir, which, lead by their music teacher, has won several international competitions.

/Ingeborg & Ulf Andreasson

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreassonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altlinster, Grevenmacher, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A very good location to explore the countryside like the chocolate hills or danao adventure park. They offer wireless internet, but it's not working well. Very good and fresh food!
A tour with a motorcyle is a great experience, because there are not many tourists in that area, the people are still very friendly and children wave at u when u pass them! But be aware of the bad roads and there are many dogs, chicken, cows and children on the streets. So drive slowely!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are nice, great to stand up in the morning and seeing that beautiful rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loboc
9.6 mi away
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Bohol
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Boho...
#1 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
35.3 mi away
Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa
37.6 mi away
J&R Residence
J&R Residence
#2 of 6 in Anda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.7 mi away
Anda White Beach Resort
19.9 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
17.4 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loboc River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loboc River Resort

Property: Loboc River Resort
Address: Camayaan, Loboc 6316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island > Loboc
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Loboc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loboc River Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the “fabulous” Loboc River visited by thousands each year for its placid blue green water and endearing Floating Restaurants - but secluded enough to allow you to savor the magic and tranquility of a tropical hideaway.At Loboc River Resort we cap the excitement of your Bohol sojourn with an unforgettable resort experience and at the same time an opportunity to observe our truly Boholano Culture. Music-minded and Peace-loving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Loboc River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loboc River Resort Bohol Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing